We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull Riad and excellent service”
Review of The Repose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Repose
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sale
Certificate of Excellence
Toulouse
1 review
“Beautifull Riad and excellent service”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We booked the Repose based on TripAdvisor recommendations and we were very happy with the welcome. Jan and Rachid are very nice and friendly. This Riad is a good place to visit Rabat.
If you have a car, it's easy to park it near the Riad for 20 di/day.
Going to Rabat from this place is very easy
- Tramway is not so far (6 di)
- Possibility to cross the river to go to Rabat Medina
- Taxi (40 di)
There is also some interesting places to visit in Sale (Medina, the Medersa, ...)
This riad is very quite and the breakfasts were really good !!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier-Jeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    65
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
72
188
35
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We booked the Repose for our daughter's wedding on a recommendation from a friend of our daughter and we weren't disappointed. The Riad is beautiful and the perfect wedding venue. Jan and Rachid, the owners pulled out all the stops to make the day special and couldn't have been more helpful. On arrival, our guests were served with traditional Moroccan cakes and tea on the beautiful roof top terrace followed by the wedding ceremony. The wedding meal was held on the ground floor where we had 5 round tables beautifully dressed for 43 people. A traditional Moroccan meal was served and was delicious and plentiful. At 9pm we went up to the terrace for coffee after the meal whilst the tables were cleared ready for the disco and dancing to start which went on until midnight. The atmosphere was fantastic and everyone had a great time.The Riad has a removable roof which was open all day which added to the fantastic ambiance. We stayed in the Riad on the wedding night and had a delicious breakfast on the rooftop terrace in the morning. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShackaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

After my reservations, I received an email from Repose providing details of how to get to the Repose and also volunteered to meet us at the train station to bring us to the Riad. It would have been difficult for us to find the place. Sale is an easy place to start visiting the Medinas and Repose is in the Sale Medina. The quarters were clean and comfortable and Jan (owner) spoke English which made it easy for us. Breakfast was great. The owners were helpful in guiding us and providing the directions.

Overall this Riad is a great way to start experiencing Morocco. I would highly recommend that visiters to Morocco start their experience at the Repose.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhiren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Repose was our first stop in our trip to Morocco, and while we did stay at more luxurious accommodations along our way none provided the level of service we received here. We arrived at the unfriendly hour of 3AM and were met with the welcoming smile of Rachid along with huge strawberries, fresh squeezed orange juice and homemade cookies. The Riad is lovely, small and intimate; our room was very comfortable and spotless, the sheets were ironed and soft and the breakfast was delicious. Jan even went out of her way to prepare some vegan goodies for me -- on the spot. Nothing was too much to ask -- and all of our needs were met immediately and with unconditional hospitality. We could not have asked for a more perfect and memorable beginning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24ontheroadagain24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I have absolutely nothing negative to say about The Repose. The owners and staff are absolutely wonderful and go above and beyond to help. The rooms are absolutely breathtaking, the rooftop is like a haven from the world, and the delicious vegetarian breakfasts literally kept me going my entire time there. The lunch and dinner food is also delicious, but a bit pricey.

The only negatives are that sometimes the water heater for the shower breaks at inopportune times and that it is a bit of a hike to Rabat and all the places you'll want to see. There is a brand new tram that literally saved me from the hassle of taking two taxis because the taxis can't cross the river, although it is about a 15 minute walk to the tram and I would definitely not take the tram and walk back to the riad after 9:30 at night or so, especially if you're a woman.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
therepose, Owner at The Repose, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Madam

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your comments, thank you. We are sorry your experience with our hot water was less than perfect. Since your stay with us, we have improved our hot water system. We now have 2 boilers and gas bottles for each hot water system and can make the necessary switch-over at any time, saving waiting or repairing time.

With regards our location, we are inside Sale's traditional, more authentic ancient medina. The people are friendly and it is hassle-free. We are a 10 minute walk to the very new tram wth connections to Rabat and Sale and, although petit taxis cannot cross the river, we have plenty of grand taxis on call to take clients privately wherever they would like to go to and from the riad door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
1.6 km away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#4 of 45 in Rabat
490 reviews
0.1 km away
Riad Marlinea
Riad Marlinea
#2 of 3 in Sale
60 reviews
1.7 km away
Riad Kalaa
Riad Kalaa
#5 of 45 in Rabat
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
2.4 km away
Le Diwan Rabat - MGallery Collection
8.6 km away
Villa Mandarine
Villa Mandarine
#2 of 45 in Rabat
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Repose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Repose

Property: The Repose
Address: 17 Zankat Talaa | Ras Chejra, Rabat-Salé, Sale 11000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Sale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sale
Price range (per night): $70 - $109
Hotel Class:3 star — The Repose 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Repose, is an oasis of calm in the heart of Sale's traditional medina, Rabat. Lovingly restored by the owners, Rachid and Jan, this luxury riad has been renovated and decorated using traditional materials and craftsmanship to give a haven of peace and tranquility. The whole riad oozes Moroccan charm and each of the 4 suites has its own unique identity. The salon is ideal for dining in the cooler months, reading a book or playing games. The courtyard is great for sipping tea, listening to the splashes of the fountain, while the terrace is fabulous for breakfast, sunbathing or siestas in the shade. With Rachid and Jan on-site, the hospitality and customer service are second-to-none and the combination of their local knowledge and awareness of international expectations ensures a warm and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Repose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Repose Hotel Sale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing