We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Dauin
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The setting was great and the staff fantastic, however the food and drinks not so great. Very bland meals/drinks and clunky in the delivery with things coming out randomly. Has great potential, but would not rush back. Master the craft of what is known in local cuisine as opposed to trying to hit a western std.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2018

on valentines night they did a special meal on the beach which was wonderful there was a choice of starters main meal and dessert each one was lovely plated and served niceluy

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank mantabrother2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

We were staying nearby, with friends at the resort and also using the dive shop so we ate here a few times.

Lunch was generally OK when just having something simple like a sandwich.

In the evening, despite what looked like best efforts from the staff, it seemed pretty chaotic and service could veer to dire. We waited best part of an hour for a bottle of wine one night and then only got it by going back to the bar and not moving until it was brought to us. On more than one occasion we had the wrong food brought to our table.

I found the food petty uninspiring and not great quality. The buffets were not great value. Unless you got their very early food ran out quickly and again quality was not great.

We may have hit a purple patch, but the combination of chaotic service and uninspiring food let it down.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DickBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

Stayed at the Vida Condo Homes Resort for three nights and we would have eaten from this restaurant three times (once through room service). Ambience is fantastic (I'd bring the mozzie repellent though), staff are great and the cocktails etc were really good and reasonably priced. Disappointed by the food though. The Pad Thai and Tom Yum Goong we ordered was nothing like the original and everything else we ordered did not stand out, apart from perhaps the pizza, which was an ok. It was nice that they offered room service which for one of our nights, eating in our condo and watching the Australian Open tennis in air-conditioned comfort was great! Would have rated this an Excellent if not for the quality of the food which does not reflect the caliber of the rest of the joint!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank domsiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed here 5 nights in one of the bungalow. Very nice room with AC, private bathroom, patio and nice garden surroundings. There’s a descent sized pool and just next to it is the beach, which is one of the better stretches along this coast.

The staff is very nice, always a smile one there face and always ready to help. Especially impressed of how they handled a New Years buffet outside in tropical rain!

There is a spa, they have airport/jetty pickup, laundry etc. The restaurant is nice with a good variety of foods. I’d recommend to get out once or twice to mix it up. Descent menu for vegetarians. Breakfast is great!

It’s very handy that the dive centre is on sight.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank LiBjork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Dauin, Negros Oriental
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
 
Dauin, Negros Oriental
Dauin, Negros Oriental
 
Dauin, Negros Oriental
Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental
 

Been to Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing