We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
495
122
21
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
495
122
21
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apo island tree house soup kitchen kids club the penthouse infinity pool yoga classes the resident marine biologist whale sharks healthy menu daily specials non divers dive centre muck diving beautiful resort hot towels management team
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 648 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

My wife and I spent 8 days at atmospheres and really loved it. We are avid divers and she especially likes the macro photography which this is a very good place for. We also did Apo Island where we say some of the healthiest and abundant coral formations we have seen anywhere. The dive masters were the best. We especially liked Rich whom went above and beyond to make our dives good by pointing out all the small stuff which is hard to find for new comers. We did an separate excursion to Cebu Island and did the whale shark dive. It was the best we've ever done primarily because they feed them which could be considered by some to be a negative.
Our room was a huge separate bungalow with an outdoor bathroom and shower. Really cool!
The food was also very good. Ed, the manager was especially helpful. He did a wine tasting one night and also made special local dishes for us to try. One night he even put us in the treetop yoga platform for a very romantic dinner. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed this resort. We plan to go back.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 427SteveV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Hi Steve

We’re so pleased you chose to come stay with us here at Atmosphere and that you enjoyed all the diving, experiences and the food. We have passed on your compliments to Ed and Rich, it’s always nice to hear their efforts to go the extra mile. We are very proud to have such abundant macro life here in Dauin – but the corals in Apo island are also truly spectacular. We’re looking forward to your return and hope you might like to join us on some of our land trips to the waterfalls or the twin lakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Perfect resort if you dive or want to relax
But be aware that there is no real beach and there is quite some current in the sea in front of the hotel
Except this it is quite perfect. Very good food, nice staff, amazing diving center, good spa (but you need to book ahead)
Enjoy

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank PJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Hi PJ
Thanks for visiting us here in our little spot of paradise. We’re pleased that you found it quite perfect but we’re sorry there was some underwater current during your stay. Dauin is usually protected by the contour of the bay but sometimes this can change. We hope this doesn’t put you off to come diving with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Excellent resort with a superbly efficient dive operation and simply the best pre & post dive briefing/lounge/relaxation area I've come across in many years of diving. It also doubles up as a screening area for the resident marine biologist, Daniel Geary, to expound on the wonders of frogfish and to show and educate you with some of his amazing macro photography. Dive with him - you'll never look at frogfish the same again... The other dive guides are friendly, knowledgeable, well trained and helpful.

The accommodation, in rooms, suites or villas can't be faulted and being set in the resort's well tended gardens is a bonus for the quiet and relaxing ambience. Speaking of which, the spa is also an engaging and relaxing environment - with great treatments and for the yoga practitioners, Rae will guide you through your poses with gentle knowledge and patience in a "tree house" overlooking the beach and ocean adding to the quiet ambience and zen of your session. The tree house also doubles up as a romantic "away from the crowd" location for pre-booked dinners...

On the subject of dinners - post dive munchies were dealt with by a good menu in the restaurant. Having travelled and dived all over the Philippines, most hotels and resorts, good, bad or mediocre, all generally fall down on the catering. It was a pleasant and welcome surprise that the chef ran an excellent kitchen with a well thought out and varied menu. As a wine lover, the owner Gaby, has also endeavoured to build a really decent wine list and if you're into pastries then the on site bakery and cake shop will pile on the calories for you in a real hurry...

The poolside bar is a great hang out during the day, or in the evening, and the music and playlist either brought back lots of memories or had me reaching for my iPhone to "Shazam" something I'd forgotten or didn't recognise.

Admittedly Atmosphere may be more expensive than other resorts in the area but it's well worth it... I stayed for a month in the spring of 2017.

Dive well, eat well, sleep well - repeat. Happy days...

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ogiman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thanks Ogiman, first of all for choosing to spend so much of your time with us and secondly for sharing your thoughts with us here. You definitely made the most of your stay and learnt your way around the resort and it’s lovely to hear your narrative of all the small pockets of opportunity we have to offer. We very much hope you’re able to come back and visit us sometime but in the meantime we hope you continue to dive well, eat well, sleep well – repeat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days/3 nights with my family. The resort was well maintained and the room we booked was more than big enough for us. The service were excellent and the staff were friendly and accommodating. We even got some complimentary water jugs and a beach bag to use during our stay ( you can also bring them home). Fruits can be replenished everyday upon request and turn down snacks are always delivered before bedtime. We only wish there were more kids menu to choose from since my 2 boys only ate battered chicken and bacon and eggs during our whole stay( not that they are complaining..that much). Another good point about this resort is that it is still near the city if you want to explore local cuisine. Our trip was definitely worth it... I am already having some separation anxiety just writing about it.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 564sarenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Hi Saren
We’re sorry to hear you’re experiencing separation anxiety and we hope you can come back very soon to rectify that! Thank you so much to the whole family for choosing Atmosphere. We’re so pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and that the small details help to make your stay pleasant. We take your comments on board about the kid’s menu and hope to have more options upon your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

This is the second time I've been to Atmosphere, and it was even more wonderful than before.

Apo Island is still beautiful, the food is still excellent, the bar is still a friendly and endless fount of delicious cocktails (try the Mangarita and Mr&Mrs Smith), the rooms are incredibly comfy, and the resort itself is serenely beautiful.

On top of all that, the new guided bike rides up the mountain are spectacular, personal training in the outdoor gym felt great, and you can't beat the view of the ocean from the restaurant while eating breakfast smugly afterwards!

There is nowhere else in the world I would rather go to relax.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtmosphereManager, Manager at Atmosphere Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Hi Greg
We feel lucky that you chose to come back and see us and that we were able to make your stay even more wonderful than before! This now gives us the challenge to up our game once again for your next trip! It’s truly an honour to hear that our place is your pick of the world to come to relax. Thanks for visiting us and see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews