We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Going for a group outing to Gangtok...need a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Maya Baas

Guest Click !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Guest Click !
Pool & Deck Front Yard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Guest Click !
Pool & Deck
Front Yard
Deck Seating
Snow Capped Mountains Views
Living Space
Lounge
Lounge
Dining
Dining for Family / Friends
View Room
Double Balcony
View Room
Balcony above Pool
View Room over Pool
Floor to Ceiling Sliders
View Room with Extended Balcony
Spacious ;)
Poolside
Monastery View
Panaromic View of Gangtok Town and Snow Capped Hills
Panorama
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Gangtok, East Sikkim, Sikkim

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sugandhja...
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Going for a group outing to Gangtok...need a place that is value for money? Look no far from Maya Baas!”
Reviewed 23 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
3
people found this review helpful

*Little long but relevant*
We were 3 families with kids (all around 5 years of age) and booked the entire place for us for our vacation in May 2018. Let me breakdown my experience in order to provide a better perspective:

1) Booking and Pre-Arrival (5 on 5)
The flexibility the team demonstrated in terms of answering all our questions, be it food, cab arrangements, arranging permit for Nathula Pass, or helping us plan our itinerary, was wonderful. We reached at 10 in the night and the caretaker (Sanjay) was courteous enough to take our dinner order and prepare fresh and tasty food. Absolutely spot on!

2) During the Stay (3 on 5)
The place is even more beautiful than the pictures suggest. The biggest disappointment was the housekeeping, which left a lot to be desired. The rooms and bathrooms could have been a lot better in terms of cleaning and daily upkeep. The linen (though clean) needs change (were past their shelf-life) and they should use fragrance diffuser to accentuate the ambience of the property. The view from the property is fantastic! The pool is cleaned daily by the caretaker and is good for use.

3) Food and Beverage (4 on 5)
Sanjay takes care of the kitchen and the food that he prepares is delicious! Its home cooked and fresh. However the kitchen is fairly unorganized and greasy which raises a lot of questions in the traveler's mind (especially since its an open kitchen and accessible to guests)

4) Basic amenities (2 on 5)
Since this place is a little far away from the main city and the property does not have a vehicle of its own, there were a lot of instances when Sanjay ran out of supplies and as a guest we had to make compromises. Its advisable that they anticipate the requirements and keep sufficient stock of supplies.

Overall, despite these issues and hinderances, we all had a great experience because we were in a group and enjoyed a lot amongst ourselves. The experience however could have been exceptional if there was a better management of operations

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reenakum2...
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
“Excellent property and extremely good service”
Reviewed 2 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We were a group of 11 people. Very nice place, well maintained. Fast Response. Service was very good. Thanks to Sanjay who really took good care of us.
Special mention to Sanjay who was always ready to help with anything with a smile.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patheeka
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure - Best Family-Villa one could get in Gangtok!”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

I had my entire family - a group of 10 adults and 2 kids - stay in this property for 4 days and 3 nights.

Rooms: It has 5 fully-furnished carpeted rooms with attached bathrooms on the top floor and a kitchen & massive french-windowed hardwood-floored living room on the ground. The property literally hinges off a cliff so you have no obstructions in your view of the mountains & town of Sikkim from either the living or bed rooms. 3 of the 5 bed rooms have large french-windows with full view of the mountains and the wilderness there. My personal favorite was a sunrise right behind the mountains, with the first rays falling straight on your bed. Also mesmerizing is the night view when you have the city lights look like twinkling stars far on the mountains - you get a neat view of this from all the 3 bedrooms with balcony.

Amenities: Outdoor swimming pool (not temp. controlled) with a large pool deck,
plenty of indoor and outdoor sitting place to enjoy the view - sofa, cushions and divans fit to look very homely, Fully functional kitchen with 2 very courteous helps (we mostly ordered Indian dishes and they did a neat job), fairly-priced travel services for local sight-seeing.

Service: Prompt house-keeping by the 2 gentleman(replacement of towels, bed-making, toiletries, room-cleaning), hot lunch & dinner cooked home-style based on your preferences, complimentary breakfast (poha, aloo paratha, poori-sabzi, omelet, bread & stuffs. Chic fittings in all the bathrooms with hot water - very neat.

Location: Is a gamble. 20-25 mins of drive from the town-center of Gangtok. But is far less crowded & touristy and far more scenic. Personally, with my family, that was exactly what I wanted. Connectivity is seamless though, with tourist vehicles picking you right off your door. You may also take a morning stroll to see the many streams and falls on the winding roads nearby.

I would strongly recommend this property to bigger parties - bunch of friends or an entire family. You literally get a house, a personal pool and 2 great helps to stay with. Give it a try!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gorgeousd...
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A memorable experience”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were 5 families booked at Maya Baas. It was an amazing experience!!! The host Mr. Chettri is a very polite person. The chef Sanjay and helper Rupesh were very helpful and humble. The pool has cold water even in the afternoon but the kids had a blast!! The rooms r spacious and so is the living room with various sittings. So all age-groups had their own space. It was just like a second home ☺️ The villa is decorated with a good taste. The villa looks just like the pictures posted by the owner.
The location is in Rumtek so drivers fret for extra charges, but if ur looking for peaceful stay away from the hustle bustle- this is the place to be We faced a few minor hiccups like low voltage problem n insects but very quickly taken care of. Another thing was the wooden floor was sticky if u wanted to walk barefoot. Also cobwebs need to be cleaned especially at the railings.
Overall a wonderful experience and a very memorable one!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hetal P
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gives you the feeling of home”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

It is much more beautiful than it looks like in pictures. It is away from Gangtok but doesn't feel deserted. The staff, Rupesh and Sanjay are amazing people and the look gives you the feeling of home.

It was an amazing experience in the Maya Baas hotel

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing