We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff, comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magpie Boutique Hotel
Ranked #58 of 115 Hotels in Gangtok
Mumbai
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, comfortable rooms”
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Stayed there for 5 days on a trip with wife and 1.5 yrs old kid. It's located near the private taxi strand not too far from the usually crowded MG road. We preferred to stay away from the busy MG road at a quieter place and at the same time not too far way from the food joints and facilities of the road, which made it an idea place. The manager Bhanu is professional to the core and all his staff leave no stone untunrned in pleasing their guests. They took good care of the food for our kid. also since it was off season we could literally get a breakfast of our choice in the complimentary breakfast. rooms are comfy, they provided room heaters to fight the cold in night. only grudge is that it doesn't offer a good view of Kangchenjunga as some other hotel do in gangtok.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galvanizers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    17
    14
    4
    8
See reviews for
39
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We arrived at the entrance which was tucked into some dark corner and were met with more darkness as the power had gone out. Went up the dark stairs and shown our rooms: there were 5 of us, so we had 3 rooms. The first and third rooms had cold concrete-like floor, no heat (and it was cold), dingy bathroom, thin mattress; the second had sagging mattress, peeling paint in the bathroom, stains on the 2 stiff towels, and "boasted" a balcony looking down into the valley of overcrowded backyards, trash piles. One puny soap piece was the only amenity in the BR. Our U.S. company had arranged for us to stay for 3 nights, but even though the accommodations had been pre-paid, we decided we couldn't stay in a literal dump like this. Our wonderful local tour guide spent the next hour looking up alternatives while we ate lunch in the dining room. It did have picture windows looking out on a terrace that had not been maintained. The food was plain but edible. Our guide came back and found us an alternate hotel, so we moved. The hotel charged us for one night and did refund the rest, which we appreciated. We didn't expect luxury accommodations, and had stayed in some basic but clean places in Bhutan prior to our arrival in Gantok, but Delamere was really sub-par.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank tripcr8zy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gangtok hotels

mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Hotel Delamere!!!! wow thats a wonderful Hotel in Gangtok to stay... Its was the month of December and chill winter. The hotel will provide you every comfort you want... Excellent hospitality.... Great people and a cozy environment..... Situated at the heart of the city but still have to do some initial search as the entrance of
the hotel is not as good as any other big hotels...

we booked the hotel only based on the reviews given on the internet... And am happy that it turned out to be as good as it can be..

The view of the kanchanjanga from the hotel room is breathtaking.. simply out of the world...Thats the biggest advantage the hotel has...

Best place to stay with family and friends...

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank priya82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2009

Hotel Delamere is one of many places i've stayed at on my travels, but its one place i've stayed at that I will never forget. The staff were amazingly friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable had everything we needed or wanted. the cozy bonfire on the balcony with the view of the mountains was probably my favourite part of the stay where we relaxed, soaked in the clean air and chatted with strangers who have now become good friends.

The entire hotel was cozy with wooden flooring and interesting artwork. Every room was unique, from the layout to the decor and my favourite room had to be the attic room with the loft - a very romantic setting with a breathtaking view of the mountains. It almost seemed surreal and it lets u forget about everything else.

The location was also great and just a walk away from the main shops, internet cafes, restaurants, tour agents etc. Although, the hotel could also arrange tours/ day trips or transportation to the surrounding areas (e.g., Darjeeling etc). Taxis were available everywhere as well. - very convenient.

Definitely would recommend it.

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dyaneee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2009

Located just behind the taxi stand, you go down a steep winding path (they are there everywhere).

The reception area is impressive.

Rooms do not have a good view, at least not all.

When we went, they just had hired a new cook, so the meals weren't too exciting, given that we were caught there on a holiday and all outside restaurants were shut except for some pizza joints.

The owner was a nice guy though, who would enquire about all the service and whether you liked it.

  • Disliked — View
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MT-KOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.3 km away
Bamboo Grove Retreat
Bamboo Grove Retreat
#9 of 115 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Sonam Palgye
Hotel Sonam Palgye
#32 of 115 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 km away
Saramsa Resort
Saramsa Resort
#22 of 115 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Sher-E-Punjab
Hotel Sher-E-Punjab
#6 of 115 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.5 km away
Central Hill Resort Gangtok
0.3 km away
Hotel Rendezvous
Hotel Rendezvous
#52 of 115 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magpie Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magpie Boutique Hotel

Property: Magpie Boutique Hotel
Address: Church Road | Arithang, Gangtok 737101, India (Formerly Hotel Delamere)
Region: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 115 Hotels in Gangtok
Price range (per night): $42 - $114
Hotel Class:2 star — Magpie Boutique Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Magpie Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magpie Boutique Hotel Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing