We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very peaceful.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Surguru

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pondicherry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Surguru
Ranked #26 of 72 Hotels in Pondicherry
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very peaceful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

There was no noise pollution in this hotel, although it is situated on the main road. The room was good & comfortable with spilt AC. The service was a little slow but good. The location was good with the sea & old city nearby.
We enjoyed the sight seeing of the old French colony with marked French influence on the roads & their names etc.
We had breakfast only at the hotel restaurent which was average..The staff were polite.

Room Tip: All rooms are reasonably good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    119
    42
    6
    19
See reviews for
121
33
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Situated in a good junction close to market, Sunday market is a biggest attraction,
from the edge of MG Road to the other corner walk through the sunday market you will goingall sorts of cheap things you require for your routine.
Good Vegetarian restaurant. Clean Rooms, good service

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krangakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

i was there for 2 nights last year with my wife. This hotel room is very good and very neat and clean. I prefer to others also. I WILL VISIT AGAIN WITH MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS.


BHARAT SINGH
DELHI.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bharat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights with my parents. We actually wanted to visit Kanyakumari but didn't get hotels there, so instead settled on Pondicherry as we needed a break out of Bangalore. I was tired after calling so many hotels in Kanyakumari and rejected, that I didn't bother to shop around for Pondicherry. Hotel Surguru was the first hotel in Pondicherry that I called, it had vacancy, tripadvisor reviews were good, price seemed about ok at INR 2000 + 300/extra person for double room with A/C, so I booked it right away. Booking process was standard with 1 night charge required to be transferred into their bank a/c.
The hotel called me in morning to reconfirm my reservation. We reached there around 1pm. Room was ready. Check-in was smooth. Staff was courteous. 2 bottles mineral water were complimentary. Room and bathroom were clean. Centralised a/c was good. But I was disappointed with the TV. It was a very old small CRT TV. The bad part was that it was not in good condition. The colors were leaking and picture was not watchable on it.
They had a veg restaurant in the basement. Location was decent. Since parking was limited in their main hotel compound (possibly due to non-guests coming to dine in the restaurant), many a times, we were required to park in the adjacent parking lots used by the hotel. But these parking lots had garbage and lot of uneven terrain, with rocks lying around. Saving grace was that hotel security guided you to park.
Hotel was about 1.5 km from the beach, and ashram as well as from the area with multiple choices of restaurants. It was right off ECR.

Overall, hotel is decent, but they should clean up the parking lots and should ensure that the TVs in the rooms are working properly. Traveler like me requires TV to wind down at the end of a traveling day.

Room Tip: I saw LCD TV in the room in one of the traveler photos. But our room had an old CRT TV towards the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ftp1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We went to Pondicherry during the Christmas weekend 2011. Though, I was a disappointed with the city and the terrible condition of the State Highways, I very much enjoyed my stay in Surguru. As this was a busy weekend, we had to make advance payment which was hassle free, we just sent a mail and they send in the account details for online transfer.

We had asked to be upgraded to the Deluxe room and it was done by the time we reached. The room was pleasantly fragranced, the beds were neat and comfortable, the bathroom was clean. It even had a thermostat to help us control the temperature in the room. I haven't seen that in any other hotel.
One thing about the bathroom: usually hotels fit the bathrooms to suit foreign sensibilities and come with a bath tub and tissue papers. Surguru, on the other hand, has Indian sensibilities in mind. The bathroom was spacious with a shower head and clean bucket and mugs. There was a hygiene faucet with the commode.

The room service was efficient and the food was superb, though the breakfast wasn't exceptional. They serve 3 types of chutneys with the dosas and they are very delicious.

Check-out was also hassle free. There is parking space but not much so it is better to check at the reception beforehand.

The location is a plus point considering that it is near the Heritage Town, market, and the main beach. These are all within walkable distance.

All in all, I loved the place and for the price they charge in a tourist place, it was truly value for money.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are very good for a couple and 1-2 kids. Try to choose one that does not face the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silverblaze80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
4.1 km away
Hotel Tamizh Park
Hotel Tamizh Park
#7 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.1 km away
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
0.6 km away
Pondicherry Executive Inn Pvt Ltd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Jayaram
Hotel Jayaram
#36 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.5 km away
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
#31 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Bon Sejour
Hotel Bon Sejour
#28 of 72 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surguru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surguru

Property: Hotel Surguru
Address: 104 S V Patel Salai, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 72 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price range (per night): $43 - $2,963
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Surguru 2*
Number of rooms: 57

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing