We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveller rating
355
210
57
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
210
57
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white town french quarter inner courtyard boutique hotel junior suite prawns indian food shower area old world walking distance lunch dinner the ground floor first floor french colony special thanks visiting pondicherry front office
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 634 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

This is not in the top flight of tourist hotels in this interesting town, but well worth a stay in the cooler seasons. You are near the centre of the unfortunately named White Town, just a few streets from the esplanade. There is a cool courtyard which houses the bar and restaurant. We had a large airy room on the first floor. The management was young and friendly. The food was seriously good, making it worth a visit even if you're not staying. The bar and waiting staff could do with a bit more training, but overall we enjoyed an excellent few days.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomJohnston52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The only restaurant in my 'to visit places' in Pondicherry even before arrival. Disappointed though. Slow service despite the number of staff seen around. Limited food options. With the large number of people waiting at the door to get a table, you expect quick service. However every item takes time to come, even the bill.
Full marks to the food taste though. Price also reasonable for the service.

Date of stay: March 2018
1  Thank Dr_Madhur_Chauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We keep going to Villa Shanti when we have an occasion to celebrate: the food is always excellent. The location is beautiful in the courtyard of a old building, but it can get crowded sometime, so come early.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JeanFrancoisPinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We had dinner at this hotel. Ambience was excellent. Most of the seats occupied by foreigners. The price charged was well worth. However, service was bit slow. The seekh kabab we ordered Alongwith fish snacks were really good.

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank Vinodpuri58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

One of the great examples of good property but extremly hostile policies. There is NO focus on customer satisfaction and Management is adament on enforcing policies like a baording school. Quite expensive as compared to what u get.

Very inflexible for making changes to booking or even room configuration.

No buffet breakfast - BEWARE : If you want to have a toast and ask for an option for Idli and Dosa. Then Be extremly careful - You CANNOT have more than 1. You have to be great in Maths after a hangover night to select and debate the restaurant guys. Give me a break!! I just want 1 toast and want to taste Idli and little bit of Paratha. But they said NO!! Wow great customer service...Just say No to customer.....whatever he asks!!!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Rohit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews