We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My home-from-home of many years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Los Cristianos
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My home-from-home of many years”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The Arona Gran has firmly become a home-from-home for my entire family. My last visit counts as my seventh stay at the hotel and I have been pining to return there ever since.
Whether it's the childhood memories of Tenerife on the whole- I have been visiting annually since 1997- or the comfort of knowing that I will be staying somewhere that I know I can trust completely, I could not recommend this hotel enough.

Every-so-often, on a rainy day, my mother and I will turn to each-other and sigh, "I'd give anything to be at the Arona Gran now..."

Tip: Try at least one of the soup's at dinner every night. I usually end up having at least 2 bowlfuls.

Room Tip: It's well worth paying a bit extra to ensure you have a room with a 'pool-view', and to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,779
    995
    330
    104
    62
See reviews for
475
2,322
60
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, Somerset.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The room was very clean and the bedding seemed to have been changed every other day.
The food was very good; outstanding at Christmas and New Year's special Gala dinners with Champagne being served throughout these meals. The Hotel is part of the Spring Hotele Group and we have stayed at their Volcano Hotel in Las Americas about six times. The pool area in the Arona Gran is absolutely super and was the reason for the change from the Volcano to the Arona Gran. The gym was also an added bonus. The Volcano is in a more central area to many of the big shops etc. all around. Whereas the Arona Gran is at the extreme end of Los Christianas overlooking the sea. This suited us as the weather was very good for about ten days and we spent most of our time around the swimming pools. The management succeeded in every way to making the whole of this holiday a very special one.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandyJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We came back yesterday from a really great holiday spent at the Arona Gran in Los Christianos, Tenerife. The hotel really does have the WOW factor, from the moment that you step into the reception area, and follows through the whole hotel. We chose to upgrade to suite 657 before coming on holiday through the hotel (by Email) at an extra cost of 36 euros per night. Top floor overlooking the port and los christianos beach. For this we got a superior room and a standard room adjoining. This meant that we had an additional living room with settee and chair,coffee table, fridge . Wardrobe and storage draws & additonal TV & bathroom. Two sun loungers with pads on the first balcony in additon to the three chairs with pads and table. The retractable sun shades on both of the balconies did work but the low February sun made the ineffective - probably great in the summer though. We also asked for coffee/tea making facilies - plenty of both provided and a small bottle of water (Good supermarket opposite the hotel - mostly English Goods - not encouraged by hotel but no stopped us when we got some water and milk and returned to the hotel.

The area around the hotel is what you would expect - a bit run down in places, but made up for by being quiet and safe. If you want better beaches walk through the port to Playa Vista very good sand and imenities ie WCs of a good standard on the beach areas. If you want to enter the water by the hotel we would advise you to see it at low tide as the beach shelves steeply and is very rocky indeed!

The weather ranged from 18 oc to 33 oc so we did need a jacket or cardigan on some days - but when the clouds disappeared it was very hot indeed. We often walked to the port area after breakfast on return I joined the Aqua aeorbics session (very good instructors - observing for anyone with problems ,as well as being highly entertaining. The pools are all heated but felt slightly on the cool side - need to use the toweling robes when you come out. Only thing that it needs is a hoist so that disabled guests can enter and exit the water better.

We were on full board basis - our only critism is that after a big breakfast (with real bacon and HP Sauce!! we then for lunch went into the restaurant next to the sea and could have 3 courses - the size of portions that even stalled us - which takes some doing! Then at dinner time again extensive selection of excellent quality and quantity -English style meat and veg or continental food. so much choise we would go round first to see what was on offer at that meal time. On Wednesday night it is the Black and White Gala - most people made the effort and gives you a chance to dress up if you want. We tended to make the effort each night which added to the holiday experience. On Monday night is Canarian Night where the staff dress in traditional costume and you can have your picture taken professionally - we were very impressed one photo of you with staff in costume/pictures of Tenerife and another of just you and a good picture of the hotel pool - 10 euros for the two sets which is alot cheaper than we've been quoted in other hotels. -Very good shops in the hotel - especially the shoe shop - good value and very attentive staff - not pushy but very helpful indeed.

The accessability around the hotel was very good. Three lifts on each side of the hotel to each level. I found that the stairs coming down from the reception a little problematic for two reasons- I wear vari focal lens glasses and found the pattern of the alternative steps hard to deal with altering my perception of depth and it was very difficult not to admire the waterfall opposite..The flooring is marble which I did not find slippy - there is a caution sign next to the waterfall walkway - didnt find the floor wet there apart from a trail of drips from a guest thoughtlessly coming in from the pool area obviously wet!!

I could go on and on about this hotel - we were very pleased with our week there - last year we went to the Sensatori Resort in Tenerife - this hotel we feel equalled its standard . We were so pleased with all the staff, the high standard of the hotel -pity that it was spoiled at the last minute by the Thomson reps not understanding that not getting information about taxi transferes was a major issue for us the days before departure and a shambles on the day of departure with taxi transferes organised by Thomson (by minibus 25 minutes late) - we have reported the unnessessary problems to Thomson today - this in no way was the fault of the hotel itself, they could not have been bettered - Thank you all for making this much needed holiday such a sucess.

Room Tip: Do upgrade to a suite - room 657 although not yet upgraded gave us so much more room - not offered b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank colin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancs
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the Arona Gran and it still sets high standards. We were upgraded to a suite which got the sun all day. The food at breakfast and for evening meal was first class with plenty of variety.

The important factor that makes this hotel stand out is the management and staff. Everything runs smoothly because there are several managers for each part of the hotel who are always highly visible and deal with any issues as they crop up. The staff are all very pleasant and look as though they enjoy doing their jobs, unlike some hotels in the UK that make you feel that you should be grateful for allowing you to stay with them. Special thanks to Stephanie at reception, Morrell and Alonso in the dining room and our room maid who did a super job every day.

Also it is really sad that some posters need to make disrespectful comments about the number of elderly and disabled people who stay at this hotel. If that causes you a problem, I can recommend plenty of cheaper 2/3 star all inclusive establishments just down the road with kids running riot around the pool, lager swilling noisy Brits with burger and chips for your main meal.

Thank you for a wonderful stay at the Arona Gran.

Room Tip: High Level with a sunny perspective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stonesrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is an excellent hotel, we had a lovely room on the 5th floor overlooking the sea and pool which was clean and comfortable. The choice of food was very good and of a high standard at both breakfast and dinner. There was entertainment in the evening and various activities for those who wanted it during the day. We used the local bus service to get around about 10 minutes walk away uphill (get a "bono" card which is convenient and saves you money!). The pool area has plenty of sunbeds and again is spotlessly clean. We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were at the Los Cristianos end of the hotel where you get the sun most of the day, a high level i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Cristianos
0.4 km away
Hotel H10 Big Sur
Hotel H10 Big Sur
#1 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
0.5 km away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
0.9 km away
Labranda Reveron Plaza
Labranda Reveron Plaza
#2 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,832 reviews
21.3 km away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
5.9 km away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Arona Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Arona Gran Hotel

Property: Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Address: Avda Juan Carlos I, 38, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Los Cristianos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Cristianos
#3 Family Hotel in Los Cristianos
Price range (per night): $172 - $845
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Arona Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Arona Gran Hotel, it's located in a privileged position on the seaside promenade, facing the island of La Gomera, offers spectaculars views of the bay and the old fishing port of Los Cristianos and is only 3 km from the golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Spring Arona Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arona Gran
Arona Gran Los Cristianos
Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife
Arona Gran Tenerife
Spring Arona Gran Hotel Tenerife/Los Cristianos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing