We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Costa Teguise
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel, Great Staff”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Arrived at 9pm at night so had missed dinner but they had left a plate of pasta and salad and some fruit in our room which was nice. Straight up to the bar to sample the wines and cocktails.
We were upgraded to a superior room on the ground floor with a pool view - 4104. The room was lovely and great having a balcony that we could walk straight off up to the pool.
There was no noise at night and air con in the room definietely helped when outside was 40 degrees in the day.
We were given bottles of water each day when the room was cleaned which was great take out on your walks. Even had a small freezer bit so could freeze the water if you were going out all day to keep it chilled.
The daily drinks made by the staff were a nice touch - those mojitos were strong!
The beach is only 50 meters away if you go out the back gate to the hotel located by block 3 I think. Is card entry only so no-one from outside the hotel can get in. All the bars are down there too but as mentiond before, there was no noise pollution. Round the back are more sun beds so if you want to be away from the pool in the quiet to relax, there are pleny of beds here.
The nightly entertainment - some were great, some weren't - but I suppose it depends what you are into. I thought the Magician was excellent - very funny.
The only downside was the the bars all closed at midnight which compared to all other all inclusive I have done is early, but there are plenty of bars outside the back - I would highly reccommend the Dophin pub just round the corner. The staff and owner are lovely and is a great place to watch your sports. Also - the gym only consists of about 4 pieces of equipment and the spa is not open yet.
We hired a car, which if there are more than 2 of you is well worth it rather than doing the organised trips. The south Island full day trip is €33 each. You can hire a car for €22 a day and with petrol at €1/litre makes it much cheaper and you can go at your own place. Don't hire the car from next to hotel - it is much more expensive. We used Cabrera Medina which is on the main road (turn left from the hotel) next to the Spar. They were so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bunny91chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,536
    1,329
    438
    91
    32
See reviews for
819
2,061
86
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed at the Luabay for one week all inclusive commencing the 13th of May.
We booked with First Choice and got the flight, hotel and transfer for £480 each.

We did read most of the recent reviews on Trip Advisor, so we knew what to expect from the hotel. I did email the hotel company in advance and ask for a pool view, which was suggested by other reviewers, but we got what we originally booked which was a family room. The room itself (2126) was massive for two people and had a great sea view. The decor looked in good condition and was very clean throughout the stay. There was a walk in shower and a large lounge/TV area. This was by far the best room I have stayed in while on a package deal.

Check in was swift when we arrived at about 8 pm on the Sunday night and the staff were very helpful. The reception area itself is large and pleasant, although a bit hot and stuffy as well. The pool area again seemed to be kept spotless and you were always seeing staff cleaning wherever you went.

We managed to go to the hotel restaurant on the first evening and as mentioned before it is down some metal stairs under the hotel. There is a lift somewhere in the hotel so people with walking difficulties can get to the restaurant. It can be busy at times peak times (hotel seemed full), but you can find a table with no problems as the staff are always cleaning tables and setting them back up again. As mentioned by others there is a slight drain smell at times, but to be honest you would have to be overly sensitive to have it put you off your dinner.

The food in general is very fresh and there is plenty of choice, normally at least six or seven meat/fish choices. There is also pasta, pizza, salad and dessert sections which again have six or seven choices on each. You have to remember this is a buffet restaurant trying to cater for a lot of people. You may struggle though if you are a veggie like I am, but it is no more than I expect when traveling abroad.

For the people who say the food standard is not good enough. If you want restaurant quality food and swan ice sculptures, then pay double the price and go on a cruise!

The greatest thing about this hotel is the staff who were everywhere, very friendly and worked very hard. When you add in great rooms, great location (beach one minute out the back door), good food, very nice resort and the chance of good weather most of the year, £480 is pretty much a bargain considering flights will cost you £200 on their own.

The resort itself is very nice and the beaches are impressive and very close. The resort is not for the party animals thankfully and is a good place for couples and families. If you like snorkeling then I suggest trying “Playa Jablillo” (ten minute walk), as it has a man made reef and there are thousands of fish to see.

Overall I highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Block 1 or 2 seem to be the best for getting some sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank blokefrombristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for your review. It’s our best reward to see that you had a good time during your holiday in Luabay Lanzarote. We will take your comments and suggestions about our entertainment and our seating area in the bar in consideration. There will be some renewals in terms of entertainment so you can be curious about what will await you on your next vistit. See you soon in Lanzarote!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of England
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Arrived at 9ish at night and checked in no problem, We had a cold plate and fruit left in the room which was a nice touch. Asked for pool view low floor. We got level two sea view. The one they show in the pictures showing the beach from the balcony Ha Ha, best room in the house. But, we needed a low floor, so in the morning we moved to 4106n which has a view over the boats and sea from the other side of the hotel. Just as nice.

I think this hotel is great. The staff are fabulous and you can have a really good laugh with them. Smiley award of the week went to Daniel and David, otherwise known as big smiley and small smiley.

Food was super and each station as well as the usual salad and sweet part, were the pasta chef, pizza chef, fish and meat chef, so no excuses there then as you should get it cooked as you like it. A few nights I asked for just plain cheese and tomato pizza. There is no problem you are just asked to come back in 5 mins, unless you want to wait. It is the small touches that make this hotel stand out from the rest. Like when you are sunbathing they bring round Bailey/Coffee with crushed ice, sangria. Mojoito etc. Very nice when you cannot be bothered to raise your bum off the sunbed and get your own.

Can't really comment on the weather as there was a Calima when we were there. It hit 40 degrees and was super hot. This has now passed and the temp is round about back to 27 degrees. We got a few days at this temperature and the breeze came back, boy was that welcome.

Entertainment ranged from excellent to really not so great, but you can make your own mind up so I won't spoil the fun.

Had a great laugh with the cocktails off the menu because everytime we ordered one we got something different and a different colour than the last time. Hic...Good night had by all. The only time you order a drink from the bar is after 7pm but before then it is help yourself.... Suprisingly this was not abused.

Please read my other reviews on this lovely island. We will be back as the place is spotless. The roads are the best I have seen. It is trouble free.

The beach is less than a min away. The square is three which is well worth a visit, we went after dinner just for little drink before the entertainment started in the hotel at 9.30pm. The bus stop is five.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a certain room because you get the opposite of what you have asked for. Rooms endi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hols4uslot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed in Luabay in the beginning of may. I need to say, very very nice hotel and I would definitely come back with other half for lazy holiday! Hotel was clean and staff happy to help (literally!). Entertainment was average (Polynesian night was the funniest and One Night Stand Man was most entertaining!). The only thing we didn't like was food! Plain, tasteless and everything you eat back home! We were expecting a bit more Spanish traditional menu rather than fish&chips or frankfurters! Although You're able to book in for a Spanish or Mexican night in pool bar which was lovely, real food after all alleluia;) Overall it's a hotel I would be happy to go back!! Enjoy x

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berry85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Berry, we thank you very much for your recommendation. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel. Regarding entertainment programme and food offer we would like to inform you that we are reorganizing the respective departments and that you will soon see the difference. We hope we can welcome you again in Luabay Lanzarote Beach Hotel, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My partner & I stayed here at the beginning of May for one week and we had the most chilled out, relaxing time. We were a bit unsure before we arrived because of the mixed reviews but when we got here we really couldn't complain. On arrival at check in, the receptionist informed us that we had been double upgraded to a sea view suite............ wow what an upgrade that was the suite was fantastic, we were also surprised to find a lovely bottle of champagne waiting for us when we arrived. The lounge area with kitchen was massive, lovely bathroom with huge walk in shower and the bedroom was great to, every morning we woke up to the most amazing view over the sea. The balcony ran the full length of the suite and the again the views were amazing and contrary to what others have said about block 3 there was no smell in our room or on the balcony and I do have a very sharp sense of smell.

Staff were very friendly, especially the maids, they couldn't do enough for you and every day we would return to our suite and she would have left a lovely decoration for us, with either the bedding or lovely swans with our towels and sweeties, she kept our rooms spotlessly clean.

The pool area was always very busy but we managed to get loungers when we needed them.

For as much as we were all inclusive, we didn’t tend to eat at the hotel as we found the food to be very basic and repetitive and there were so many lovely restaurants in the area that were very reasonably priced, that we preferred to eat out every day. This is not a complaint by any means it was just our preference.

All in all if you are looking for a lovely quiet, relaxed resort we would definitely recommend this, we had a great time.

D & G x

Room Tip: Sea view suite on the corner block 3, absolutely fantastic, bit breezy though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DeDe285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Administradors, Luabay Team at Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for your recommendation. We are very pleased that you liked your holidays in Luabay Lanzarote Beach Hotel. Regarding our food offer we would like to communicate you that we are working every day in the improvement of our food and beverage department and that you will soon be able to note the difference. We hope that we can welcome you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Teguise hotels
0.1 km away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
2.3 km away
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
Occidental Lanzarote Playa
#7 of 38 in Costa Teguise
1,716 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
Hotel Grand Teguise Playa
#11 of 38 in Costa Teguise
3,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
Occidental Lanzarote Mar
#15 of 38 in Costa Teguise
5,261 reviews
0.7 km away
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
H10 Suites Lanzarote Gardens
#2 of 38 in Costa Teguise
2,172 reviews
0.6 km away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach

Property: Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach
Address: Plaza Janubio 2, 35508 Costa Teguise, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Luabay Lanzarote Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Costa Teguise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Teguise
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Teguise
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Teguise
#5 Luxury Hotel in Costa Teguise
Price range (per night): $165 - $357
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach is a wonderful hotel that has a very modern design, cozy and ideal for singles, couples and families. In short, the perfect choice for those wishing to enjoy the sun and sand of Lanzarote's beaches combined with maximum comfort. This hotel has the ISO 14001 Certification, as a result of its effective environmental management system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Lanzarote Beach Hotel Costa Teguise
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach Costa Teguise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing