We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel, a little skint now though!!!”
Review of Ionion Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Kalamaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Wow!! beautiful & peaceful location, we had a amazing time. Myself, husband & son stayed here recently. We stayed on the top floor in room 405 for 2 weeks. The room was spacious, 2 bedrooms, bathroom and a balcony over looking the pool. We stayed as room only and had to hire a fridge which cost 42 euro's for 2 weeks. We also hired the air con which was 120 euros and safe 37 euro, all these extras had to be paid up front in cash only, which is the only negative we can find regarding the hotel feeling this is a little pricey and unfair being cash only. The rooms and hotel was clean and tidy, and nicely decorated. The staff are always smiling, helpful and available to help if needed. The location is brilliant you are a few minutes walk from the main strip and the beach. The pool was great size and perfect for families, there are plenty of sun beds, you always get the people who are up first thing to put the towels out and disappear for the next 4 hours though!! The hotel has is own pool bar and restaurant, we used the bar mainly for drinks, a pint is 3 euros large bottle of water 1 euro, cans of fizzy pop 2 euros each, ice creams ranging from 2 - 3.50 euros the slushes are 3 euros. There is a game room next to the bar with pool table, table football and air hockey which the kids enjoyed the games range from 50 cent to 2 euros. There are loads of lovely restaurants we loved Escape, Iguana, Olive Tree, D&B restaurant & crazy golf. But we really enjoyed the Two brothers restaurant, the staff are lovely and really helpful, the food is reasonable priced and lovely. There gave us lots of advice regarding the local area, definitely worth a visit. We found generally food and drink everywhere really expensive, most drinks are 2 - 4 euros, and a meal range 7 to 12 euros all depending what you had. There are many cash machines around, I found I got better rate to the pound if I declined the cash machines rate and had a unguaranteed rate.
The beach is beautiful and peaceful and it's lovely to see all the turtle nests, we went on 2 trips during our stay, we visited the Water park and Turtle island & Keri cave trip. We actually got to see turtles which I was really surprised! We booked via the tour operators on the main strip as they are more reasonable priced than Thompsons.
Overall we loved our holiday, the hotel is fab, the location is beautiful, the staff are wonderful :)

Room Tip: take plenty of money with you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lucywardenwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ionion b, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Ionion Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hello lucywardenwatson ..

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your reveiw on Ionion Blue Hotel and sharing your holiday experience with the rest of us ....

First of all , on behalf of all the staff and the family I would like to say a big thank you for your comments on our lovely staff on the way they took care of you.That means a lot to us .......

We all due respect please allow me to make some comments on your writtings so as to have a clear picture for our potential guest .
With regards to your comments about the extra charges in the hotel please allow me to say that booking a superior room which is list in thompson brochure as a room only ...upon your arrival we mention all the extra facilitys such as AIR-CONDING wich is not limited .....SAFE which is on your decision and last the FRIDGE which also is upon your decision .....

We are wishing you a warm rest of the summer back home .Regards from all the staff and family at Ionion Blue Hotel xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Well we have room 405, top floor, bit noisy when next door start banging at 7:45am, nice room, the hotel is great, location spot on. Close enough to walk for meals out but far enough to be quiet. Get your towels out by 7:45 or you won't get a sun bed. My fiancée slipped on water on the marble stairs on the first day here and hurt her back (needs looking at back in the UK). Kids coming in from the pool area were responsible for the water. Receptionist was great as were all the staff. It's clean and a really nice place to stay. Highly recommended, only reason it didn't get a 4.5 is that it won't let me put 4.5.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank welland1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ionion b, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Ionion Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hello welland1969

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Ionion Blue Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience with us. It makes us feel very happy to know that your return trip was pleasant and that once again you left beautiful Zante with lovely memories. On behalf of all the staff and family at Ionion Blue we would like to thank you for your kind comments on the hotel and our lovely staff. This is very much appreciated from all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

V nice hotel, clean and just what the doctor ordered.. Pool fine and grounds well kept.. Rock Salt restaurant a hidden gem. Great staff (hard working & friendly) plus very good food at mad cheap prices..

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dzjs60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ionion b, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Ionion Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Hello dzjs60

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Ionion Blue Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience with us. It makes us feel very happy to know that your return trip was pleasant and that once again you left beautiful Zante with lovely memories. On behalf of all the staff and family at Ionion Blue we would like to thank you for your kind comments on the hotel and our lovely staff. This is very much appreciated from all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here from the 9th-23rd July, what can i say? Hotel and grounds are spotless, rooms cleaned every day and bedding changed 3 times a week, Helen behind the bar was a darling, always cleaning down tables, sweeping the floor, we loved our rolls we had made up to take to the beach for our lunch! We had breakfast a number of times and a few dinners in the Rock Salt restuarant, delicious and not expensive, Johnny the barman was a star, we felt like we made a friend for life and Emma the waitress always had time for a chat, its only 5 min walk to the beautiful beach, sunloungers are €8 for 2 beds, a chair and parasol, 5 min walk to the strip, our favourite places to eat were Four Seasons, Olive Tree and the Italian, Yamas was good too. Jordan the Thonson rep was lovely, we saw him every day and a couple of times he sat and chatted with us whilst we had lunch, we went on 3 trips, Turtle Island cruuse, Olympia and BBQ cruise all were amazing, we will be coming to this wonderful hotel with family sometime, the staff cannot do enough for you including cleaners and the receptionist, Thank you for makibg our holuday so wonderful Samantha and Lee

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ionion b, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Ionion Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Hello Samantha B

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Ionion Blue Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience with us. It makes us feel very happy to know that your return trip was pleasant and that once again you left beautiful Zante with lovely memories. On behalf of all the staff and family at Ionion Blue we would like to thank you for your kind comments on the hotel and our lovely staff. This is very much appreciated from all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We stayed here for 2 weeks in July 2017. We have visited the pool over several years but this was our first stay in the hotel. Great value compared to some others in the resort. No complaints at all. The staff were great; friendly and helpful. We got a room on the top floor. If you can try and avoid the ground floor rooms, they are partly underground. I read another review that described them as “football dug-outs” which isn't too far from the truth although this is only based on our impression, others who actually stayed in one may feel differently. Our room was clean and tidy with a fridge. The air-con as 120 Euro for 14 nights. Sheets and towels were changed on a regular basis and the shower was nice and powerful. Being a top floor room we had an electric roller shutter over the patio doors but I think the lower floors had folding shutters.

The new bar/restaurant area is excellent as are the revised seating arrangements which were particularly pleasant for a night-time drink.

The grounds around the pool are spacious and well planted with a number of nice large palm trees. We never had a problem getting a bed despite the hotel being busy.

Location-wise I would say it’s the perfect balance of being near enough to the main road and beach yet far enough away to be quiet. You do get a good view of the planes when they land or take off from the South end of the runway but there are not too many flights each day and any hotel in Kalamaki gets a similar level of impact. We like to see the planes so it’s never been an issue for us in 10 years.

The only area where I would like to see some refurbishment is the underground pool-side lavs which are feeling a bit run down & dated although they were still clean enough.

All in all were were very happy here and plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mkh1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ionion b, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Ionion Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Hello Mkh1966

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Ionion Blue and for choosing to share your thoughts with the rest of us.
On behalf of all the staff and the family I would like to say a big thank you for your kind comments on our people on the way they took care of you.

Your credit to them means a lot to us and we are happy to know that each one of them delivered what this place stands for and this is caring for our guests and personal attention. We would like you to know that your comments will be very seriously taken into consideration and we will do our very best to improve ourselves through your advice so we can meet your expectations.

We do hope that we will have the chance to see you back again in our home for another pleasant holiday away from all worries. Until we hopefully meet again, have a lovely time back home. Kind regards from all the staff and family at Ionion Blue Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalamaki hotels
0.2 km away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,277 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Vanessa
Hotel Vanessa
#17 of 30 in Kalamaki
199 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Macedonia
Hotel Macedonia
#23 of 30 in Kalamaki
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kalamaki
166 reviews
0.6 km away
Klelia Beach Hotel
Klelia Beach Hotel
#5 of 30 in Kalamaki
744 reviews
0.6 km away
Meandros Boutique Hotel
Meandros Boutique Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kalamaki
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionion Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionion Blue Hotel

Address: Kalamaki Zante, Kalamaki 290 92, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kalamaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kalamaki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kalamaki
Price Range: $44 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ionion Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ionion Blue Hotel Kalamaki, Zakynthos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing