We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hawkdun Lodge(Ranfurly)
USD 99
USD 97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ranfurly Motels(Ranfurly)
USD 79
Booking.com
View Deal
Ranfurly Hotel(Ranfurly)
USD 66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ranfurly Holiday Park & Motels(Ranfurly)(Great Value!)
USD 85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Naseby Lodge(Naseby)
USD 113
USD 110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mill House(Oamaru)(Great Value!)
USD 89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Almond Court Motel(Alexandra)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexandra Motor Lodge(Alexandra)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
37
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopen firebeautiful home cookeddinner providedotago central rail trailbbq dinnerlovely roommade us feel at homeguest loungeliving roomnew zealandafter a long daycomfortable bedscarolynhostlodgeaccommodationsleep
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Carolyn and the Maniototo Lodge deserve all the excellent reviews. The Lodge may not look so luxurious from the outside but it is beautiful inside. Very upmarket feel. Comfortable and clean seperate modern bathroom facilities. The whole experience was amazing. Pre dinner nibbles/ platter. Fantastic evening meal. I would highly recommend the evening meal option. Carolyn is obviously very clever in the kitchen. The breakfast far exceeded expectations. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

Our family had the pleasure of spending a lovely night recently at Maniototo Lodge while riding the Otago Rail Trail.
We stayed in two of the three beautifully decorated bedrooms that were clean, spacious and quiet. Big comfortable beds ensured we were in for a good night’s sleep. The two bathrooms are down the hallway, this did not bother us as each bathroom is private and allocated to your room for sole use.
The lodge was built in 1904 and has been extensively refurbished while keeping its original character.
Carolyn is a marvellous caring host who looked after us very well. She prepared a lovely cheese board for us to enjoy in the lounge and then a beautiful home cooked dinner in the dining room followed by dessert. Our prior requests of a few bottles of local wine and cold beer had been taken care of before our arrival.
A divine breakfast the following morning set us up for the next part of the trail.
We would definitely stay at Maniototo Lodge again.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FourTravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maniototolodge, Owner at Maniototo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. I really enjoyed having you and your family to stay and hope to see you again sometime. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

There aren't words to describe how much we enjoyed our night here. Carolyn, the owner, couldn't do enough for us and the evening was wonderful. From the lovely room we had to nibbles and wine before dinner, to a beautiful home cooked meal. We were the only guests so had the lounge and open fire to ourselves which was a great way to spend an evening after a day on the rail trail. Cannot recommend a night (or more!) here if you are in the area. Thank you Carolyn.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AlexKinsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this beautiful place because we were going to the Real Dog Adventures the following day and wanted to be close due to the icy roads....Carolyn made our stay so special and it was so lovely and homey...nothing was too much trouble, fireplaces warmed the bedroom and the living room, a Devine dinner and dessert, and substantial breakfast the next day....you are away from absolutely everything here and the backdrop is out of this world....I imagine in Summer it would be just as lovely, but in Mid Winter it was just magical...thankyou again Carolyn for taking care of myself and my daughter it was absolutely awesome and so lovely to meet you....

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We stayed at Maniototo Lodge while doing the Otago Central Rail Trail. From the moment we rode into the beautiful grounds, Carolyn made us feel at home. The interior is just beautiful, with stylish touches throughout. We loved the guest lounge with its open fire - yes - a real open fire, and the bedrooms were great. We sat out in the garden for a lovely afternoon tea in the fading light, then enjoyed some spectacular New Zealand wines before a divine dinner cooked to perfection by Carolyn. The breakfast was also incredible and certainly gave us plenty of energy for the next leg of the ride. Nex time we do it, we will stay a couple of nights here so we can look around Ranfurly, with its Art Deco buildings quite attractive. I highly recommend Maniototo Lodge if you are doing the trail or if you just want a night out in the country outside Queenstown (two hours away) or Dunedin (90 minutes).

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hayestack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews