We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
313
130
14
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
130
14
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea explorershappy hourthe beanthresher sharksbeach frontbean bags on the beacha garden view roombeach barthe ground flooroverlooking the beachevery guestevery morninglaid backdiving centerdive resortrooms are spaciousother places
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

So many review sites will make you feel Tepanee is as good as Ocean Vida. They are different like chalk and cheese. My wife and I actually stayed at Tepanee for a night- our room was full of lizards, the air conditioner was broken and the customer service was appalling. We had arrived at Tepanee late at night and thus were forced to stay a night in that horrid place. We luckily got a free room at Ocean Vida the next day and happily got out of Tepanee. The quality of the Room and level of Service is where the stark difference lies. Clean bug/lizard free rooms -with smiling accommodating staff. This property is the only decent 3 star option to stay at Malapascua. The Manager is extremely accommodating and allowed us a late checkout. The beach in front of all the main resorts is extremely rocky, full of broken corals, dog poo & full of fisherman boats- not really swimmable. To enjoy the nice sandy beach you have to travel to the other side of the island. The food at Ocean Vida need improvement and not great. But there are many restaurants a short walk from the Hotel- so eat out.

Room Tip: the first floor ocean facing rooms
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HiteshwarSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

very nice hotel and warm and friendly staff. The food is great and the dive center is very professional and well organized. We would recommend to stay to Ocean Vida if going to malapascua. The beach is nice but it is really sad to see so many plastic floating in the water. The main beach is full of plastic in the water. Would be good to have locals/hotels removing the plastics regularly.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Explore570258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabienneandSven, Manager at Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you very much for your stay and leaving this nice comment and rate for our resort Ocean Vida. We are also very sad and worried about the plastic pollution in our seas around the world.
We are running a hard program in our resort wich is against plastic everywhere possible.
Hope to welcome you again! Greetings from Ocean Vida Family and Malapascua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Ocean Vida is truly a gem. From being met by the owners operators immediately upon arrival to the wonderful and kind staff, every aspect of my stay was amazing. We are not divers but we wanted a relaxing beach vacation away from hustle and bustle and that is exactly what we got on Malapascua. Tina and Fabienne whom I believe my own the property take pride in their hotel and treat guest like family. They recommended restaurants and shops around the island, not just concerned with getting all of our money to be spent at the hotel. We did have dinner at the hotel on more than one occasion and was immensely satisfied. The breakfast which was included in the stay was fresh and tasty and just the right thing to get the day started off right. Special mention to Josh, the bartender; he was a riot and made us some of the best drinks during our stay. I would go back to Ocean Vida in a heartbeat. Next time i'm taking my bf :)

Room Tip: only either garden view or ocean view. we had room 5 ocean view. was kind of perfect. smack dab in the middle with uninterrupted ocean views
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank blairetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabienneandSven, Manager at Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hello Blairetta! Warming and smiling people reading your feedback and comment to the moment. Thank you so much for taking your time leaving this for us and our staff at Ocean Vida. Thank you for being our guest - hope you come back and visit us again. All the best from our family and Malapascua island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights during which time my wife did her advanced open water with Sea Explorers (located in the hotel) and I did 5 dives also.

The accommodation is the best on the island. Nothing luxurious but very clean, tidy, nice balcony with sea view and super cool and relaxed vibe.

Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, especially Eileen at the front desk who was great.

The hotel has great beachfront views and a lots of comfy chairs and beanbags to have a drink on or eat lunch at. The food was very good when we ate here.

The dive trips were very well organised and very enjoyable. Dive masters and instructors all really good, especially Michaela who took my wife through her course.

Highlight of the diving was Gato Island where there is a fantastic cave swim through dive with reef sharks at the end of the cave. Monad Shoal was good but lots of people and the visibility isn’t great.

The hotel is linked with Burns Vista where we had massages in the spa. These were excellent and great value and my wife thoroughly enjoyed the yoga there also.

A really enjoyable 4 days, very chilled vibe (think Gili islands but more so and less loud and crazy).

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabienneandSven, Manager at Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hello Ben and Rubie!
Thank you very much for sending us a big SMILE with your supernice feedback and rate at Tripadvisor for our staff and facilities. We are happy that you spend a good time on the island with us and we hope to see you again. All the best from Ocean Vida Family and Malapascua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

We have now been to Malapascua twice (Nov 2017 and Jan 2018) and have stayed at both Ocean Vida and Tepanee Beach Resort. Ocean Vida wins by a mile. On our second trip we could only get 4 days at Ocean Vida as they were fully booked so book early.
So, here is why it's the best: The staff!!; Right on the beach and in the heart of things; The beach bar (Ivy) and happy hour; The restaurant (Tina) and bean bags on the beach in the evening (magical) and breakfast buffet in the morning (yum). Finally, the rooms!! The rooms are the best on the island. They are spacious, have comfortable beds and very nicely decorated. They also have free body lotion that your body will love at the end of a day in the sun!
We love Malapascua and Ocean Vida specifically and for us it’s just perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Berkeley2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabienneandSven, Manager at Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hello Berkeley! Thank you for this amazing detailed feedback and giving us a big SMILE back. We are happy to made the best out of your vacations. We hope to see you a third time in our facilities. All the best from Ocean Vida family and Malapascua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews