We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
311
40
6
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
40
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar beautiful hotel the owner star hotel mani region fresh fish stone and wood comfortable rooms great for long walks restaurant food is hotel room crystal clear water excellent breakfast balcony door nice stay third visit olive orchard
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 361 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2017

We are a family of three, stayed at Castillo Antico in June 2017.  We usually tend to stay at quality 4* hotels, but based on excellent reviews decided to try 3* Castillo.
Well, it was a perfect stay. Everything starting from a smooth and welcome check-in by Nicoletta was perfect.
Rooms have a good space, around 30m2, the sleeping facilities are impeccable, the cleaning service is excellent.

The hotel is located in a countryside, so having a car is a must. It is around 2,5 hrs of driving from the Athens airport and 1,5 hrs from Kalamata.

The hotel has rooms on the 1st and the 2nd floors in small connected houses. Our room 107 was in the middle, on the 1st floor.   A comfortable balcony, with nice garden views. Far away from the road, very quiet. The area of the hotel and garden is well taken care of.

The hotel is located literally on the beach - it is a 2 min walk to the sunbeds. The beach is wide and sandy, with a little of pebbles. Almost empty!

A small hotel restaurant offers good quality food and nice service. We had meals several times there, and enjoyed everything.  Breakfast is also nice, and plentiful.

We are thinking to come back to Castillo Antico!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Nika_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in 2014 and were excited to return this year. As we hoped, the hotel is still well run, immaculately clean and the staff (though all changed we think) are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very nice and the pool bar and food service is relaxing. We truly relax here!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anogia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

A beautiful hotel by the sea with friendly staff, always eager to help you. The food is exceptional with local ingredients. Worth enjoying some nights over if you are visiting Gytheio or Mani area. The sandy beach is excellent for you to relax and enjoy swimming.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Petros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

This is a very special place.
Castello Antico is an architectural joy. It respects the style of the traditional architecture of the Mani region and then re-invents it for modern use. Rather than being a single building facing the beach, the hotel is one sequence of individual units at right-angles to the beach which are beautifully aligned to provide beach and sea views. At the same time this layout provides the spacious and comfortable rooms with protection from the heat of the afternoon sun. Between the hotel and the beach are an open terrace in front of the restaurant, a swimming pool with pool bar, and a large open area for relaxation. The whole complex is immaculately maintained.

But special hotels like this are more than just buildings and gardens. What makes Castello Antico so special are all the people who work there. They are charming,helpful and friendly and it was with some sadness that we had to leave after a very enjoyable stay. Thanks again to all of them.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are light and roomy
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank peterkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Great rooms, lovely pool bar, clean pool, right on the beach. loungers and sunshades available on the beach, as well as a friendly waiter who brings you your drinks. Friendly personnel. In one word perfect. Just be careful for the sandflies in the evening. They sting like hell, so do not go out without having doused yourself in bug repelling spray. There was wifi but only in the bar/restaurant and communal parts.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and have a partial sea view
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nickybeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews