We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel on Mavrovouni beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castello Antico Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mavrovouni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2017

We spent lovely days at Castello Antico. Everything was excellent!
Beautiful hotel, tastefully decorated, excellent location. Good size rooms (30 m 2), very clean, comfortable and quiet. Our room was with balcony overlooking the sea. Delicious home made greek breakfast, especially pies, yoghurts and jams. We were made to feel so welcome and the staff are very friendly and helpful. They do their best to enjoy your stay and make you feel like at home.
The restaurant food is also excellent and good value.
Castello Antico is located on a long sandy Mavrovouni beach with crystal clear water (great for long walks and swimming). It takes only few minutes to the sunbeds provided by Castello Antico. Hotel has a lovely pool also.
The location of the hotel is very convenient for exploring Mani, Mystras, Monemvasia, Geraki, etc.
We liked everything. Best wishes to all the staff of Castello Antico. Looking forward to see you again next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and quiet. We stayed in the room with balcony overlooking the sea. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vaitiekiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2017

We are a family of three, stayed at Castillo Antico in June 2017.  We usually tend to stay at quality 4* hotels, but based on excellent reviews decided to try 3* Castillo.
Well, it was a perfect stay. Everything starting from a smooth and welcome check-in by Nicoletta was perfect.
Rooms have a good space, around 30m2, the sleeping facilities are impeccable, the cleaning service is excellent.

The hotel is located in a countryside, so having a car is a must. It is around 2,5 hrs of driving from the Athens airport and 1,5 hrs from Kalamata.

The hotel has rooms on the 1st and the 2nd floors in small connected houses. Our room 107 was in the middle, on the 1st floor.   A comfortable balcony, with nice garden views. Far away from the road, very quiet. The area of the hotel and garden is well taken care of.

The hotel is located literally on the beach - it is a 2 min walk to the sunbeds. The beach is wide and sandy, with a little of pebbles. Almost empty!

A small hotel restaurant offers good quality food and nice service. We had meals several times there, and enjoyed everything.  Breakfast is also nice, and plentiful.

We are thinking to come back to Castillo Antico!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nika_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in 2014 and were excited to return this year. As we hoped, the hotel is still well run, immaculately clean and the staff (though all changed we think) are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very nice and the pool bar and food service is relaxing. We truly relax here!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anogia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

A beautiful hotel by the sea with friendly staff, always eager to help you. The food is exceptional with local ingredients. Worth enjoying some nights over if you are visiting Gytheio or Mani area. The sandy beach is excellent for you to relax and enjoy swimming.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Petros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

This is a very special place.
Castello Antico is an architectural joy. It respects the style of the traditional architecture of the Mani region and then re-invents it for modern use. Rather than being a single building facing the beach, the hotel is one sequence of individual units at right-angles to the beach which are beautifully aligned to provide beach and sea views. At the same time this layout provides the spacious and comfortable rooms with protection from the heat of the afternoon sun. Between the hotel and the beach are an open terrace in front of the restaurant, a swimming pool with pool bar, and a large open area for relaxation. The whole complex is immaculately maintained.

But special hotels like this are more than just buildings and gardens. What makes Castello Antico so special are all the people who work there. They are charming,helpful and friendly and it was with some sadness that we had to leave after a very enjoyable stay. Thanks again to all of them.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are light and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank peterkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mavrovouni
6.7 km away
Mareggio Exclusive Residences & Suites
26.6 km away
Citta dei Nicliani
Citta dei Nicliani
#1 of 1 in Koita
241 reviews
22.9 km away
Alas Resort & Spa
Alas Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Elea
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Alistos Hotel
Alistos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Gytheio
23 reviews
4.3 km away
Aktaion Hotel
Aktaion Hotel
#8 of 11 in Gytheio
59 reviews
16.1 km away
Limeni Village Hotel
Limeni Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Areopoli
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Antico Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Antico Beach Hotel

Address: | Gytheio, Mavrovouni, Gytheio 232 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Gytheio > Mavrovouni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mavrovouni
Price Range: $116 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello Antico Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
''Castello'' The mni style towerCastello Antico Hotel is built in the traditional architectural style of Mani, in 2010. It is situated on the 5 Km long sandy beach of Mavrovouni, just few Km away from the beautiful sea side town of Gythion, in Peloponnese. Exposed stone walls internally, beautiful beamed ceilings, traditional wooden windows and shutters, balconies with wooden rails as well as a stone exterior, a beautiful garden of roses and bugambilia flowers are some of the features of this hotel. The location of Castello Antico is a crossroads for tours and excursions to Areopolis, Diros caves, the picturesque Vathia, other beaches and villages of Mani area as well as to Mystras and Monemvasia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Castello Antico Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing