We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #1 of 4 Springbrook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights. The chalet we stayed in was spacious and luxurious. The bush turkeys would visit you during the day and possums would visit you during the night.

Kitchen was more than adequate for us to cook our own meals.

The retreat was close to most of the walking tracks, lookouts and waterfalls in the Springbrook area.

The internet was down for the first 2 nights due to an earlier storm. Thankfully Telstra fixed it eventually. The movie on demand collection was more than adequate for entertainment during our stay.

Wayne the innkeeper was an excellent host during our stay.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    40
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
57
325
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

The Mouse's House at Springbrook in the Queensland Gold Coast Hinterland truly is the perfect destination for anyone looking for picturesque rainforest walks filled with wildlife and an incredible history. Situated amongst the dense rainforest with the natural background sounds of fresh water streams local wildlife the chalet offers ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️accommodation that will delight the most discerning holidaymaker. Whether spending your day exploring the many walking trails or simply reclining with a good book The Mouse's House is most definitely the place to be. Relax after your rainforest trek in the sauna or spa then settle back in your private chalet and watch and listen to the changing sights and sounds of the rainforest. The Mouse's House... simply fabulous...

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2016

we (me, my husband and two daughters) spent a weekend in Sleepy, a cute and petite cottage surrounded by lush green rainforest. The indoor fireplace was beautiful and we made use of the pile of sticks and logs provided for a fire (even though it was summer and we ended up very hot and started sweating, we couldn't resist). Although the shack was nice, clean and comfortable, and the surroundings couldn't be more peaceful, the real highlight of our stay was the possums. Four little possums visited us when we were barbecuing, and were so quiet that we could even pat them. They were so cute.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary-kim1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Three of us were in 'Doc' for 4 nights and thorougly enjoyed our stay. Bring some warmer layers as the temperature drops surprising and we had rain and lit the fire a few times in late November early Dec.
Mum was in an electric wheelchair and managed the boardwalk ok although it is only a travel wheelchair and she did need my partner behind to assist for safety a few times. The bathroom is nice and roomy and she was fine. The coffee table may need moving prior to arrival if you are restricted to wheelchair use but mum was able to leave hers and be independent inside.
My partner and I recommend the electric bikes. What a blast! We haven't been on bicycles for years and thoroughly enjoyed the electric bikes. So much so that we now want to convert our old bikes. We also had a go on the tennis court and loved the sauna. We also had a dip in the spa. So there is much to offer couples here before even venturing out much. You can understand why honeymooners and romantics return here.
A unique stay and we loved the nightly visits by the possums who seemed to appreciate a little bit of carrot and banana. Not too much though.
Very well run and managed. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Oh one more thing--buy your groceries well before Springbrook as there is no supermarket. Mudgeeraba would be the last opportunity for a supermarket.

Room Tip: Doc is ideal for wheelchair visitors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burrum Heads, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

My wife and I disappeared up the mountain for a much needed night in the Bashful lodge.
Just perfect!! We aren't talking ultimate luxury at the mouses house but we are talking indulgence and absolute soulful therapy.
This place has been designed around your needs... if you have ever stayed somewhere where every tiny seemingly trivial thing is taken care of then you know exactly what I mean.
Anthony, apart from being a top bloke, is obviously a very talented manager who genuinely cares for his guests on the property.
Beds were brilliant, in room Spa was amazing, wildlife (baby possums) were very cool and the ambience of this place is extremely rare to find.
My favourite few things: having a shower where the steam brought out the natural timber scent of the roof... did not want to get out. Even if the shower was quite simple in design it was still wonderful.
Sleeping in until 07:30 and having no idea what time it was... the room can be made so dark that it could've been midnight for all I knew.
The noise of the creek running next to our chatel whilst we sipped red wine on the balcony and played with the possums was also very cool.
Come here to reconnect with yourself or your partner and you will not be disappointed. Mouses House has real soul and a peaceful ambience that will resonate with you and loved one immediately.
If you believe in grandeur and ultimate luxury then you need to come here to ground yourself and gain perspective. You will walk out feeling rejuvenated and at peace.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springbrook
32.7 km away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,945 reviews
30.1 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,686 reviews
27.0 km away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
9.3 km away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
6.6 km away
Springbrook Mountain Chalets
Springbrook Mountain Chalets
#2 of 3 in Springbrook
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat

Property: The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
Address: 2807 Springbrook Rd, Springbrook, Gold Coast, Queensland 4213, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Springbrook
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Springbrook
Price range (per night): $234 - $319
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat has 14 enchanted fully self-contained rainforest chalets with fireplace, private spa bath & streams located in the magical Springbrook National Park, a 30 min drive from the Gold Coast. Included in your rate is free wi-fi, free movies on demand, free use of a iPad, wonderful 38C hot tub, tennis and mountain bikes. Food baskets available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mouses House - Springbrook Mt Hotel Springbrook
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat Springbrook, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing