We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
Nearby Hotels
USD 144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah(Murwillumbah)(Great Value!)
USD 93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Gold Coast Resort(Carrara)(Great Value!)
USD 131
USD 95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bay of Palms Resort(Elanora)(Great Value!)
USD 131
USD 123
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Burleigh Break(Burleigh Heads)(Great Value!)
USD 93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Outrigger Gold Coast(Burleigh Heads)
USD 90
USD 87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 330
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 71
USD 63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 81
USD 69
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
414
47
8
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
47
8
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssleeping beautymouses househot tubbush turkeysour honeymoonbreakfast basketnatural bridgespringbrook national parkfairy talespa bathperson spawicked witchcheese platterwebber bbqthought of everythingpicnic hamperlocal wildlife
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

The Mouse's House at Springbrook in the Queensland Gold Coast Hinterland truly is the perfect destination for anyone looking for picturesque rainforest walks filled with wildlife and an incredible history. Situated amongst the dense rainforest with the natural background sounds of fresh water streams local wildlife the chalet offers ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️accommodation that will delight the most discerning holidaymaker. Whether spending your day exploring the many walking trails or simply reclining with a good book The Mouse's House is most definitely the place to be. Relax after your rainforest trek in the sauna or spa then settle back in your private chalet and watch and listen to the changing sights and sounds of the rainforest. The Mouse's House... simply fabulous...

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

we (me, my husband and two daughters) spent a weekend in Sleepy, a cute and petite cottage surrounded by lush green rainforest. The indoor fireplace was beautiful and we made use of the pile of sticks and logs provided for a fire (even though it was summer and we ended up very hot and started sweating, we couldn't resist). Although the shack was nice, clean and comfortable, and the surroundings couldn't be more peaceful, the real highlight of our stay was the possums. Four little possums visited us when we were barbecuing, and were so quiet that we could even pat them. They were so cute.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mary-kim1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Three of us were in 'Doc' for 4 nights and thorougly enjoyed our stay. Bring some warmer layers as the temperature drops surprising and we had rain and lit the fire a few times in late November early Dec.
Mum was in an electric wheelchair and managed the boardwalk ok although it is only a travel wheelchair and she did need my partner behind to assist for safety a few times. The bathroom is nice and roomy and she was fine. The coffee table may need moving prior to arrival if you are restricted to wheelchair use but mum was able to leave hers and be independent inside.
My partner and I recommend the electric bikes. What a blast! We haven't been on bicycles for years and thoroughly enjoyed the electric bikes. So much so that we now want to convert our old bikes. We also had a go on the tennis court and loved the sauna. We also had a dip in the spa. So there is much to offer couples here before even venturing out much. You can understand why honeymooners and romantics return here.
A unique stay and we loved the nightly visits by the possums who seemed to appreciate a little bit of carrot and banana. Not too much though.
Very well run and managed. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Oh one more thing--buy your groceries well before Springbrook as there is no supermarket. Mudgeeraba would be the last opportunity for a supermarket.

Room Tip: Doc is ideal for wheelchair visitors
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

My wife and I disappeared up the mountain for a much needed night in the Bashful lodge.
Just perfect!! We aren't talking ultimate luxury at the mouses house but we are talking indulgence and absolute soulful therapy.
This place has been designed around your needs... if you have ever stayed somewhere where every tiny seemingly trivial thing is taken care of then you know exactly what I mean.
Anthony, apart from being a top bloke, is obviously a very talented manager who genuinely cares for his guests on the property.
Beds were brilliant, in room Spa was amazing, wildlife (baby possums) were very cool and the ambience of this place is extremely rare to find.
My favourite few things: having a shower where the steam brought out the natural timber scent of the roof... did not want to get out. Even if the shower was quite simple in design it was still wonderful.
Sleeping in until 07:30 and having no idea what time it was... the room can be made so dark that it could've been midnight for all I knew.
The noise of the creek running next to our chatel whilst we sipped red wine on the balcony and played with the possums was also very cool.
Come here to reconnect with yourself or your partner and you will not be disappointed. Mouses House has real soul and a peaceful ambience that will resonate with you and loved one immediately.
If you believe in grandeur and ultimate luxury then you need to come here to ground yourself and gain perspective. You will walk out feeling rejuvenated and at peace.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

This place is amazing!
We stayed for 2 nights in 'the wiked witch' chalet and loved it!
The chalets are generously spaced apart, so we couldn't see or hear others.
My only complaint would be the slow wifi and also we brought our own cheese and couldn't find a cheese knife, other than that everything you could need was in that chalet. I highly recommend the breakfast and dinner packs, they were such a wonderful treat & very generous although I would've liked more generosity with the sliced bread. 4 slices instead of 2 would've been sufficient.
We will definitely be back.
It was wonderful getting away from the kids to such a peaceful place surrounded by lush rainforest.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Christine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews