We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regency On The Beach
Murray Bridge, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent value for right on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Through checkin.com we booked a room deal for four nights at $85.00 per night. I was a bit annoyed at my husband for booking this place because tripadvisor's reviews weren't that spectacular - but where else could you pay $85.00 per night and wake up to the sound and sight of the ocean?
I didn't expect a palace for the price, but was very pleasantly surprised at our room. It was a little tired, but comfortable, clean and attractive. The apartment was well stocked with kitchen utensils,microwave, washing machine, dryer, cable tv etc. And we could watch the sea from the loungeroom, the balcony or in our bedroom. It wasn't 'wow' and luxurious, but we were very happy with our apartment. We really enjoyed swimming and using the hot tub.
Coles and Woolworths are quite a walk away for groceries, so I'd suggest catching a bus. Once we discovered the fantastic prices next door at the Talle Surfing Club for meals and cappucinos, groceries weren't such a big deal.
The caretakers, Miriam and Tony, are lovely, obliging people. We liked them as soon as we met them. They added to the enjoyment and comfort of our stay.
I love the area that Regency on The Beach is situated in. We had previously done all the tourist things in Surfers and wanted (and got) a recreational, relaxing holiday. There's a beautiful beach right out the front, a rain forest walk to Tweed Heads just across the bridge, and a gorgeous river (or lake?) close by that's great for picnics and swimming. Beautiful.
Apartments are individually owned, so I guess we were very lucky in getting an apartment that was well maintained and owned with pride. We would definitely love to stay again and intend to ask for the same room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poem60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    57
    37
    9
    21
See reviews for
48
60
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We booked to stay in an Ocean view 1 bedroom apartment for 3 nights. Every element was terrible.

From the hotel website we expected this place to be a bit daggy and tired but we expected it would have great ocean views because it is right on the beach and the photos of the room on the website show impressive ocean views all the way around i.e. from the lounge and kitchen and bedroom etc. When we got to the room we were very disappointed to find that there was NO ocean view from within the apartment (see photo attached). Instead we got to look directly into another run down apartment block. You could only see the ocean if you stepped right out on to the balcony. Also, the room itself was quite different from the website photos. The room we were given had a much older kitchen (renovated in the picture), horrible dirty carpet (tiles in the picture) and was really dingy.The website also described our room as having wooden doors that open wide on to the patio whereas our room had terribly corroded 70's metal doors that were hard to open and lock. I figured there must have been a mistake so I went back down to reception and very politely enquired if there was a room available with an ocean view as that was what we had booked. The lady at reception very clearly stated that we had been given an ocean view room and there was absolutely nothing she could do as they were completely full. After my partner reviewed our booking and the description (in case we had made a mistake) he went down to reception to see what could be done. After explaining to the same lady at reception that the photos on the website were nothing like our room, another (more expensive of course) room miraculously became available. We had a look at this room to see whether it was worth the extra $55 p.n. they wanted to charge us but it was no better quality, just bigger which we didn't need for two people.

From this disappointing start it just kept going down hill.

All the dishes in the cupboards were filthy - and I am not just being picky, I could write may name in the grease on the wine glasses. I later discovered that they charge you a fee if you leave dirty dishes on the sink at check out. This obviously encourages guests to just put them in the cupboards dirty.

The bed was terrible and completely sank in the middle. The air-conditioner was broken so it only blew straight down the wall (we resorted to taping it up with band-aids when we were at our wits end at 1am). I was afraid I was going to catch something from the carpet. They left us with only half a roll of toilet paper for a three night stay. The in-room brochure stated there was a mini-gym which was non-existent. I could go on but you get the gist...

We ended up checking out a night early as we badly wanted to have the comforts of home and couldn't stand to stay in such a dump another night.

The only positive was that the hotel seemed quite empty (we only saw two other groups of people the entire time - no surprises why in hindsight).

There are 1000's of hotels at the Gold Coast. CHOOSE ANOTHER ONE!!

Room Tip: If you must stay here only the very front room on each level has a good ocean view. Do not be fooled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ntbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palm Beach hotels

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

My partner and I just spend a week on the Gold Coast, and stayed here. We were so happy with the room, very modern with amazing ocean views. Great value for money. Clean And comfortable. A bit of a drive from surfers but we used the shuttles and public busses and being that there are bus stops on either side of the rd right outside the apartments which run 24/7 makes everything very accessable if u don't have ur vehicle with u. The owners were lovely, we got there around 8am and they let us leave our luggage in storage so we could head to surfers without having to lug it around and we got a call about a hour after to say our room was ready and we could check in. The service was wonderful and this will be our landing spot every-time we visit the Gold Coast.
Thank you from chelse and Sean

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelseSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

The positives are that the apartment was clean and the furniture and carpet in really good condition. We stayed in a 1 bedroom ocean view apartment. The couple who manage the building were very helpful and friendly. The building is in a "v "shape so some apartments are closer to the beach than others. I think that the units in the point of the "V" may be the 2 bedroom apartments. We booked a few months in advance and requested an apartment close to the beach on a high floor as it was a special occasion for us. We received the high floor but unfortunately we were allocated a unit furtherest from the beach. Also I love fireworks (we stayed on New Years Eve) but couldn't see them from the balcony as our unit was south facing and the fireworks was on the north side. The apartment is right on the beach and close to Tallebudgera Creek so in this sense it's in a great position but the only restaurant within walking distance is the Surf Life Saving Club. You'd need to drive to Burleigh or Palm Beach for restaurants and shopping. Finally, the bed in our room was a double but a queen is advertised.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

This is a good, solid property that has an amazing location right on the beach. Don't be tricked by the four stars - it's not luxury and the latest and greatest. And if you look at the prices that should be a guide - you really can't expect all the glitz for $80 a night!

I travel fairly regularly to the Gold Coast for work and choose to stay away from the main 'strip'. This was my first time at the Regency and I would come back. My stay was in a 1 BR appt on the 4th floor facing the beach. It was okay. The rooms were a reasonable size, the kitchen was servicable and it has a laundry.The bed (despite first impressions) was surprisingly comfortable and having the balcony was great.

I arrived after 10pm but the process to get in was easy and undercover, secure car parking is free. There is a lift from the car park to the rooms.

Don't expect too much - that would be my main advice. You are buying a room, no service. And if you were staying for longer than a couple of nights you would definitely need to do a grocery run for basic things like tissues, toilet paper, salt and pepper, sugar, et cetera - there is one roll of toilet paper, 2 sachets of sugar and so on provided for free - after that you are on your own!

You defintely need a car although there is the Surf Club within 5 minutes walking distance which offers meals and has a little cafe. There are some shops that would sell milk, bread and so on about the same distance in the other direction. It is on the public bus route and there is quite a nice small shopping area about 5 minutes drive back toward Coolangatta with some good coffee shops and cafes.

The pool is small but well kept and there is also a 6(?) person spa, didn't try the sauna or the games room but both looked okay. There is quite a nice little BBQ area too. The best thing was the beach. Just down the lift and out past the pool and you are there. It's beautiful anytime of day and to be able to just walk out and enjoy it is fantastic. The early morning walks were a must - even saw Whales out to sea one morning!

This would be a good budget alternative for a family holiday - you pretty much need to self-cater for every emergency anyway with little kids and because it's not too big and not too overcrowded it felt a little more like a residence than a resort which isn't a bad thing. For slightly older kids, the games room would be attractive and of course you're right on a beach that is patrolled by the Tallebudgera Surf Club.

You're probably 45 minutes to an hour away from the 'Worlds' and half an hour from Surfers. About 20 minutes max from the airport. So the location is pretty convenient.

The room itself was just a bit tired - the carpet was clean but very stained. The tv is small but has cable and there was a DVD player. The bed was good, the pillows look thin but they were comfortable, there is only a blanket - no quilts. The air con is in the lounge area - it wasn't too hot when I stayed and I liked the sound of the waves anyway so slept with the window open - don't know how it would be in the depths of summer but at least it had cooling. The shower / bathroom was clean, had a hair dryer, but the water pressure is terrible!! Don't be in a hurry for a shower!

Definitely get beach front - the back rooms face the highway and I can't imagine they'd be as nice.

The lady at the desk seemed friendly although I only saw her on the last morning to drop back a key - it really is self-service, don't expect a hotel concierge type feel.

All in all, I'd stay again if only for the access to the beach - let's face it, if you come to the Gold Coast you aren't really there for the hotel room are you?

Room Tip: Make sure you get a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cooksjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
1.0 km away
19th Avenue on the Beach
19th Avenue on the Beach
#1 of 2 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
3.8 km away
Bay of Palms Resort
Bay of Palms Resort
#1 of 1 in Elanora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.0 km away
Beach Palms Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in Palm Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
3.0 km away
Princess Palm On The Beach Apartments Gold Coast
3.0 km away
Royal Palm Resort
Royal Palm Resort
#6 of 14 in Palm Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency On The Beach

Property: Regency On The Beach
Address: 1483-1489 Gold Coast Hwy, Palm Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4221, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Palm Beach
Price range (per night): $87 - $174
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regency On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regency On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency On The Beach Hotel Palm Beach
Regency On The Beach Palm Beach, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing