We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Alyce R

Dated but spacious

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Oct 2022
Rooms are spacious but very dated. Aircon only in living room, fan in bedrooms. Bathrooms are very old & not cleaned properly (lot of mould in shower & fixtures broken) key needed to go anywhere in hotel which is good for security. Alot of people permanently live In building. Parking is very tight, but undercover.
Date of stay: September 2022
Room Tip: Dated but spacious, some rooms have been renovated others badly need it but all seem to charge...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$680
  • Hotels.com
    AU$668
  • Agoda.com
    AU$531
  • Expedia.com
    AU$612
0.2 km from Contessa Holiday Apartments
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$221
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$316
  • Expedia.com
    AU$316
  • Vio.com
    AU$292
0.3 km from Contessa Holiday Apartments
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$655
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$655
  • Vio.com
    AU$588
  • Expedia.com
    AU$655
0.4 km from Contessa Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sheraton.com
AU$339
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    AU$339
  • Hotels.com
    AU$339
  • Expedia.com
    AU$339
1.7 km from Contessa Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Pool
Palazzo Versace Drone v
Official Hotel
AU$360
  • Booking.com
    AU$337
  • Expedia.com
    AU$314
  • Hotels.com
    AU$379
1.7 km from Contessa Holiday Apartments
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
AU$659
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$647
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$656
  • Agoda.com
    AU$645
0.3 km from Contessa Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$391
  • Expedia.com
    AU$414
  • Hotels.com
    AU$460
  • Priceline
    AU$391
0.4 km from Contessa Holiday Apartments
Free parking
Pool
Balcony View
StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Contessa Holiday Apartments
Free parking
Pool
Main Bedroom
StayForLong
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Contessa Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
3.2 km from Contessa Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Main Beach
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
81
55
14
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
81
55
14
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool great location dear friend minute walk great apartment living room cafes and restaurants floor theme parks units accommodation waterway ensuite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2022 via mobile

This is a dated but nice block of apartments. Short walk to Tedder Avenue with cafes and restaurants. Common facilities are well maintained. Lifts are old and a bit slow but fine - it is an old block.

DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 1901.

The apartments are privately owned but centrally leased. The owners of 1901 have not maintained the apartment like others (we had friends in others which were well maintained).

The beds were nice and comfortable but basic things didn’t work or didn’t work well. The oven was completely broken, the air conditioning was broken, the Austar (Foxtel) was broken, the curtains were broken, the shower door was broken, the ensuite door was broken. There were almost no drinking glasses (there were no wine glasses), no toilet paper was provided and more.

All the appliances are the cheapest of the cheap rubbish brands which function poorly (think Kogan).

This room has no place being charged out at the same rate as rooms our friends were in (all described as superior).

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2021 via mobile

Take a booking for december 2020, then they find out supercars are on and they cancel my booking, claiming unit not abailable. Guess what, it is available at 3 times the price. Thanks for screwing up the plans i had for my sons 18th birthday. Hope supercars cancel and you are left empty. Really crap move

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Thereisnouseridleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Cosford, General Manager at Contessa Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2021

Good afternoon, we are sorry that we are unable to accommodate you for your sons 18th birthday in December, however, if there is a Contessa apartment available to book online, it is not one that we manage. Contessa has other privately managed apartments that rent holiday units out of this building as well as the ones we manage. Unfortunately, we were recently forced to cancel a number of direct and agent bookings due to a loss of apartments that have either sold or have become lock-ups due to Covid. We act on behalf of the owners and it is out of our control if units are sold or locked up.
As soon as we found out the units were no longer available to holiday let we notified all our guests immediately so they would have the maximum amount of time to secure alternative accommodation, in your instance 11 months. Once again we are sorry for this unfortunate situation that has occurred due to circumstances beyond our control, and hope you are able to secure alternative accommodation for your sons celebration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2021 via mobile

Excellent family 2 night stay Dec 2020. Quick friendly check in. Stayed with our 2 teenage children in room 112. Our room was exceptionally clean. Appartment fitted with quality appliances. Comfortable beds. Beautiful quality linen. Great Wifi. Parking included. Would definitely stay again

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David Gardner, General Manager at Contessa Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2021

Hi Nicole p,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review.

We are so glad you had a wonderful relaxing time with your 2 teenagers and appreciate you noticing our high standard of cleaning.

We hope to see you stay with us again in the future.

Thank you,
Contessa Holiday Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2020

After booking a so called "Deluxe Apartment with air-conditioning" we had nothing but issues with these apartments. Firstly, we stayed in 3 different apartments in a 10 night stay as the air-conditioning wasn't working. Secondly, the standard of cleanliness is a real issue. Thirdly the 3rd apartment we stayed in was disgusting. The carpet was stained, there was broken furniture, paint peeling off the walls, air-conditioner was filthy, bolts and studs poking out of the balcony floor, screws poking out the shelves not to mention we were supplied with 3 drinking glasses for a 2 bedroom apartment. There is more and I have enclosed photos as evidence. Please do not book this apartment or allow management to put you in it (APT 183) - it is a hazard for children and adults alike.

Date of stay: December 2019
3  Thank AAWard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TRIPCOTESSA, Manager at Contessa Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Dear Mr & Mrs Ward

Thank you for your constructive review

I would personally like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by being allocated this substandard apartment, following your previous change due to air conditioning problems

We have taken decisive action as a result of your comments and I can assure you the situation will never reoccur

We hope you return to Contessa in the near future

Regards

Peter

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2020

Unfortunately our apartment was terrible! On arrival we were met with a smelly apartment that was in need of a major upgrade. It was depressing and the furnishings were old and very dated and the lighting was awful! The beds were terribly uncomfortable and the two in the second bedroom were too small for adults! The master bedroom was hideous, no other word describes it!
There was only air conditioning in the living area and not in the bedrooms. It was impossible to sleep in the one bedroom so we had to sleep in the lounge.
When paying top dollar for a high floor Superior apartment, it was unacceptable to have such a dated and tired room! A real disppointment for our whole family and it certainly affected our holiday.
I won't be returning and wish I had read other reviews before booking, especially about hit and miss apartments. For Main Beach, The Contessa falls along way short in comparison to other resorts in which we've stayed but still has similar prices.
The only saving grace was the pools which were lovely.

Date of stay: December 2019
4  Thank pungrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TRIPCOTESSA, Manager at Contessa Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Dear Pungrd

Your adverse comments are absolutely correct and we appreciate you taking the time to write the review

We have as a consequence reviewed and implemented a new standard for Superior apartments including air conditioning

Thankyou also for the positive comments regarding the pools

We hope you return in the near future

Regards

Peter

Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews