We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovery Fishing Charters”

Discovery Fishing Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The best fishing charter on the gold coast, for full or half day fishing tours, calm water or offshore to catch the big ones, Discovery Fishing Charters provides you with all your fishing equipment the best rods and reels, with the most experienced crew that know every spot worth fishing in local waters around the Gold Coast.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 22 March 2015

I had the best day ever. Our skipper Phil and Deck Hand Andrew, were the best, the day was easy, comfortable and their knowledge of the water was phenomenal. Phil and Andrew were obliging and nothing was a bother( even the countless times out lines got tangled). For a quite time of the year, we caught heaps of fish. Thanks Phil and Andrew for a memorable day.

2  Thank Knightsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reeffisher56, Owner at Discovery Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Hi Knightsarah

We are glad you experienced the great outdoor adventure with us!

Phil & Andy are a hardworking crew who are both determined to satisfy ALL our customers - this was proved by your review!

Discovery Fishing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

19 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2015

Had such a great night out with the guys from discovery. Everyone caught fish and they were ready and eager to help throughout. Cleaned all the fish and gave us a real hands on, fun and informative trip. Would recommend to friends and go again!!

2  Thank Jess1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reeffisher56, Owner at Discovery Fishing Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Hi Jess1515

Thank you for writing a rave review!

It is good to hear the Night Fishing is just as popular as the Day Tours, Phil & Andy were stoked to hear of your experience and would be willing to charter your recommended friends in the future

Discovery Fishing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2014

Paid $120 to go "DEEP SEA FISHING" for "HALF DAY"... actually spent 20mins in 30meter deep water then came back in due to "ROUGH CONDITIONS / KIDS AND ADULTS FEELING SEA SICK" (Trip was 1130am 31st December 2014, conditions were not rough wind was variable 10knts) spent remainder of time dicking around the Broadwater catching nothing. To top it off the captain and deckhand had no interest in being there and they were afraid to tell the guests either. Over all an absolute/pathetic waste of money... DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND FIND A COMPANY THAT ACTUALLY WANTS TO FISH.

10  Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2014

Went out with the guys from Discovery Fishing today. Had a great experience. The layout of the boat allowed all on board plenty of space without being in each other's way. The crew were both informative and eager to help out with any problems. They were patient and tailored to the needs of the guests whether their abilities were at a beginner level or advanced. We were fortunate enough to have a lucky day out with a wide variety of species caught including enough for everyone's dinner. I cannot wait for another chance to head out again thanks for the quality day guys

1  Thank deej0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I booked a trip for my husband's birthday. The 1st date was cancelled because there were not enough people to run the boat... Unfortunately, they let us know only the day before at 5 pm, so it was impossible for us to organise something else. I understand they have to wait the last minute but it wasn't convenient for us. So we postponed for the next Sunday at 11:15 am. We called them several times to make sure the trip will run but we only get a reply the day before at 6 pm.
One good point : they send us a text message with good indications to find them.
It's a very small boat and we were 10 people plus 2 crew members. 8 would have been better: more space on the boat. The crew was unpleasant: no welcome, we didn't get any briefing about what was going to happen, no explanation on what we were doing or where we were going. The skipper just gave us a quick explanation on how to fish. The girl never smiled or talked to anybody. They were both smoking all the time which was very unpleasant. And what I hated the most was the disrespect of the fish: the skipper shooted the fish overboard with his foot. Not a way to treat animals, even if it is not a good fish to eat.
You will stay 5 hours on the water, which is good and we tried different spots (without success unfortunately). Drinks are also provided but you have to bring your own food.
It was our first fishing experience and we're a bit disappointed. If you don't like to take people fishing, just don't do it rather than acting like that. Maybe you should also change your name because it wasn't a good way to discover fishing!

9  Thank Isa1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Discovery Fishing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Discovery Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing