We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Australianjen
Port Stephens

great value with theme park entry

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 June 2012
My husband and I stayed in a refurbished delux king view room for $ 179.oo a night for 2 nights. Compared to some other places we have stayed for a similar price we thought the room rate was very reasonable and add to that the free entry to the theme park ( would normally have cost us $160.oo ) I think it was great value.
A previous reviewer complained about the lack of breakfast options.......yes the breakfast buffet is expensive at $29.90 a person but there are other options. We had our breakfast delivered to our room at the time of our choice. There was a good selection ( we shared the bakery basket $9.50 on one morning ) and had a hot breakfast the next. The prices were what you would expect from a 4 star resort and we ate on our balcony overlooking the broadwater, beautiful.
The other option if you really wanted to save money is to buy individual cereal packets ($1.75 ea ) and milk from the resort shop.
We ate one night at the lounge bar/ restaurant and the meal was tasty and reasonably priced....I also had a mocktail which was very yummy.
Our room was bright and fresh....it overlooked the Broadwater and also the pool area. I was a bit worried at first that the noise from the pool would be a problem but it wasn't.....we even watched part of the 8pm light and sound show, that they put on each night for the kids, from our balcony.
I initially spoke to Liz in reservations who was very friendly and helpful, then spoke to Jackson at the tour desk who booked our Outback spectacular trip for us, again very friendly and helpful and went out of his way to organise things for us. Also Jon, the waiter where we had dinner on our first night was was a very happy chappy and made us feel very welcome. The check in/out staff were all friendly and efficient.
The resort has been around for a long time but the gardens are kept lovely and the foyer area looks modern and welcoming. We were lucky with our room as it had been recently redone........I don't know what the other rooms are like.
Overall I think if you mainly just wanted to see Seaworld and do some tours of the Broadwater etc as apposed to " Hitting the Town " then Seaworld Resort is a great place for couples as well as families.
Date of stay: June 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review
Responded 26 June 2012
Thank you Australianjen for your thorough and informative review of Sea World Resort and Water Park.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us. I would like to say an extra special thank you for mentioning our staff by name. This enables me to speak to them and their teams directly about the positive impact they had on your stay. I am also pleased that you were able to experience one of our newly refurbished guestrooms, we think they look great and its good to hear that you thought so too!
We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit the Gold Coast.
Bikash. General Manager at Sea World Resort and Water Park.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Palazzo Versace Drone v
AU$308
  • Official Hotel
    AU$360
  • Agoda.com
    AU$271
  • Expedia.com
    AU$299
1.6 km from Sea World Resort
Free parking
Pool
AU$594
Fully refundable
  • Algotels
  • Trip.com
  • StayForLong
2.8 km from Sea World Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$680
  • Hotels.com
    AU$680
  • Vio.com
    AU$596
  • Expedia.com
    AU$612
3.2 km from Sea World Resort
Free parking
Pool
AU$495
Easy and fast booking
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Sea World Resort
Free parking
Pool
Exterior - Aerial View
AU$339
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    AU$339
  • Expedia.com
    AU$339
  • Trip.com
    AU$339
4.2 km from Sea World Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$399
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    AU$399
  • Algotels
    AU$362
  • Expedia.com
    AU$399
4.2 km from Sea World Resort
Pool
Beachfront
AU$613
Easy and fast booking
  • Vio.com
    AU$572
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
4.3 km from Sea World Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
استأجرنا شقه استوديو من غرفه نوم مع دورة مياه وصاله بها طولة طعام وكنبه تتحول الى سرير ومطبخ صغير بأدوات حديثه لكن المكواة عطلانه ولايوجد استشوار شعر فيها وبها شرفة بإطلالتين يسرى على البحر ويمنى على البحيرة المنظر خلاب ورائع يوصى بالسكن بها والسعر مناسب الى حدا ما والمنطقه حيويه وجميلة ويعيبه ازدحام المصاعد في ساعات النهار
AU$298
  • Agoda.com
    AU$298
4.3 km from Sea World Resort
The Pool at the Australis Sovereign Hotel
AU$160
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$151
  • Agoda.com
    AU$134
  • Hotels.com
    AU$171
4.3 km from Sea World Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
5.9 km from Sea World Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Main Beach
Reviews (6,091)
Filter reviews
6,091 results
Traveller rating
2,553
1,999
868
358
313
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,553
1,999
868
358
313
Show reviews that mention
All reviews theme park water park sea world kids club shoreline restaurant light show japanese restaurant dolphin show garden wing sponge bob easy access to seaworld family holiday movie world great family lobby lounge pool area young kids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5,819 - 5,824 of 6,091 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Room service not so great timing wise. The hotel is a long way away from the airport and doesn't offer a courtesy coach. There are no bars, shops etc within close walking distance. Facilities for a conference were sub standard. i.e. No wireless internet in rooms & office printing facilities need updating. Very family focused, which is great, however if you are sold it as a conference venue, management need to take care of these customers as well. All in all my experience there was only good because of the other conference attendees and not the hotel.

The rooms themselves were OK.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzSmithz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Dear nzSmithz,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. It’s great to get a conference guest perspective on our facilities. I would like to try and answer some of the issues you have mentioned.
There is no excuse in a long wait for room service and I must first apologise for that.
As you know we are located on the Spit next to Sea World but have Marina Mirage a short 15 minute walk away which has shops and a variety of bars and restaurants. We do have a resort shop located in the lobby which stocks a good selection of snacks and everyday essential items.
We have internet in our bedrooms but currently only wireless in the public areas. We are in the process of installing wireless internet through the hotel over the coming months as we understand how important that is to our conference guests.
Once again, thank you for providing fellow travellers with your experiences.
Bikash Randhawa, GM of Sea World Resort and Water Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Stayed at Sea World Resort for 2 nights on a $99 a night deal. Rooms could do with a freshen up as they loos a little dated. The shower in 3104 also needs some attention so water doesn't go everywhere (I made that note in the guest comments). Enjoyed the early access to Sea World for the special dolphin presentation. But we were then forced to leave the theme park and then re-enter. That arrangement could be changed to allow guests to stay in the park, given people were starting to enter as we were leaving. Smart idea to put on a Sponge Bob water show at night in the resort at it was popular with children. So be prepared for lots of kids and people with prams at Sea World Resort. If you don't like either, this isn't the place to stay. There's also no free internet. Wired internet in rooms and WiFi in foyer were pay-walled. Why are Australian hotels lagging behind overseas hotels on offering free WiFi?

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waldowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband & I stayed here as part of a one night Red Hot deal advertised on their website. We paid only $159 for the room which included entry to Seaworld, Wet 'n' Wild and Movie World over the 2 days.

We found this to be excellent value for money which we would recommend to others looking for a good place to stay. It is ideal for visiting Surfers Paradise and the Gold Coast as well as all the nearby theme parks. Our room had two Queen sized beds and was very clean and modern in design. It has clearly been recently refurbished as the interior of the room looked much newer than the general state of the whole resort which is beginning to look slightly dated in design.

It had a great swimming pool which was open until late, a decent sized gym and was in a great location for visiting the nearby area. For the price we paid we couldn't really fault it except that we found the prices of the buffet restaurant quite expensive for the resort which is why we dined out for dinner and breakfast.

Overall, we had a great stay and would recommend to others at the great value price we paid.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sazkebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2012 via mobile

Believe me... this is the first time ever that I've seen a lizard in my hotel room. very very unacceptable. There's also a stale smell in the room and it was very pronounce once u eater the room. While I find bath tub as shower area is acceptable but definitely not without shower curtain. we had to request for it. very isolated area except to Seaworld. food are expansive at restaurant and it does not taste good. Front desk staff are quite curt. but conceige and housekeeping were very good. only value I find is the theme park entrance fee included in room. otherwise not a good place to stay.

Date of stay: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GratinSteak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Got a good rate during a Wotif sale, that included entry to Seaworld, Movieworld and another place that we didn't go to.

My biggest complaint is that you cannot get anything to eat for breakfast other than the buffet which is $29.50. What if you aren't very hungry and only want something small like a muffin? At 10am the Lounge bar opens which has offers smaller meal options but we didn't want to hang around that long. Also the transfer to Movieworld comes well before 10am so bad planning by management. I guess they want to milk as much money from guests as possible. We avoided dinner in the main restaurant as well but thoroughly enjoyed the Japanese restaurant on-site. Very tiny portions though (tiny bowl of rice, miniature miso soup, etc), but the food quality above average but quite pricey.

The resort is big and left s good first impresssion. But our room was very small and very dated. Like something from the 1970's. The young girl bringing our bags to our room noticed we didn't have a luggage rack but didn't rectify the situation. Bathroom was old and badly needs refurbishment. Jug to boil water was equally old and dated. Luckily we didn't spend much time in our room.

Seaworld itself was a good experience, my little girl enjoyed seeing Dora. Movieworld was not that great. The characters (Looney Tunes, Batman etc) are not modern, it's very old school, like being stuck in a time warp. We visited Dreamworld (owned by a different company) few days later which is MUCH better featuring fresh modern movie characters like Shrek, Madagascar, Puss in Boots etc. Will not return to Movieworld, not worth it. Also the food is ridiculously overpriced like $7.95 AUS for a basic pre-made egg & cucumber sandwich. Ice cream 1 scoop $6, etc.

I agree with a previous reviewer saying everything you have to pay for. Management just want as much money as possible from you. The Kids club, if child is under 4.5 a parent must stay but still costs $10 per hour.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AklTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews