We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tracy Morgan Hall
Hope Island, Australia

Pleasant room but service very poor for a five start resort.

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Mar 2024via mobile
Food offerings limited for a so called five start hotel, with both the Pearl and Deck Bars being closed - no mention of this prior to arrival. We popped into the only available bar - cannot remember the name as it appeared to be a temporary set up tucked away in a corner - and we seemed to be an inconvenience for the bar staff who were chatting between themselves and didn’t seem interested in serving us. We then dined at the only available option - Terraces restaurant - and chose a la carte menu. Waited ages for our food and then the wait staff banged the plates down on the table. The whole experience was very underwhelming- definitely not five star standard. Then it got worse - as it was my birthday the staff arrived with a complimentary dessert plate - four little squares of cake from the dessert buffet - which was banged down on the table amongst our dirty dishes! The staff understand the process but not good service, demonstrating a significant lack of training.

The room itself was nice, although maybe a little tired. We booked an ocean view king, although the first one we were given was right next to the Oasis Pool Bar which was pumping out very loud music. Management did move us to the opposite side of the block but we unfortunately lost the ocean view we had paid extra for - there was a huge bushy tree right outside the window - but it was definitely quieter which we appreciated.

The Sheraton brand is not as reliable as it used to be, and the service certainly isn’t five star.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Check the location of your room - near the Oasis bar is very noisy.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, responded to this review
Responded 20 Mar 2024
Dear Tracymorganhall,

Thank you for staying with us at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast and for your candid feedback regarding your recent stay.

We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for your disappointing stay and would love the opportunity to speak with you in further detail.

If you are happy to, could you please kindly contact our Hotel Manager, Scott Breen, on 55770112 at you earliest convenience.

Warm regards,

Keith Massey
General Manager

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.2 km from Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort
Free parking
Pool
Balcony View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.6 km from Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort
Free parking
Pool
AU$365
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.4 km from Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$331
  • Booking.com
1.6 km from Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Palazzo Versace Drone v
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$319
  • Official Hotel
    AU$360
0.2 km from Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort
Free parking
Pool
Outdoor pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.6 km from Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort
Free parking
Pool
Main Bedroom
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$647
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Main Beach
Reviews (2,953)
Filter reviews
2,953 results
Traveller rating
1,666
822
273
101
91
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,666
822
273
101
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar oyster bar terrace restaurant the gold coast seafood buffet across the road spa room water features beautiful resort oysters pool area beach access surfers paradise shopping centre an upgrade long weekend tennis courts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 2,953 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2024

The pictures look better than it actually is. The Sheraton is in need of an update. While the Lobby is clean and fresh, it stops there. Valet & Front Desk were very friendly. The only time in 3 days we were acknowledged as a Bonvoy Platinum was at check in. Room was clean, but dated. Sharon in the restaurant was pleasant and went above and beyond to ensure a good breakfast experience. The outside grounds were dirty, broken pool tiles, peeling paint on buildings and staff that talked amongst themselves more than helping guests. The Resort is dated and in need of an update. While it might be better suited as just another Sheraton, it is definatley not Grand.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank ArizonaEJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Dear ArizonaEJS,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We truly appreciate your valuable insights as they help us to continually improve our services and facilities.

We're delighted to hear that you found our lobby clean and fresh, and that our valet and front desk teams provided friendly service throughout your stay. However, we sincerely apologise for any shortcomings you experienced during your visit.

Please know that we take your comments regarding the need for updates and improvements seriously. Your observations regarding the condition of our rooms, outside grounds, and amenities have been duly noted, and we will be addressing these areas promptly to ensure a more enjoyable experience for our guests in the future.

We are pleased to hear that Sharon in the restaurant provided exceptional service and contributed positively to your breakfast experience. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to her and the rest of our team.

Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, where we aim to provide you with an enhanced and rejuvenated experience that reflects the standards of a Grand property.

Warm regards,

Keith Massey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2024 via mobile

Review of Sheraton Mirage on the Gold Coast:

My recent stay at the Sheraton Mirage Hotel on the Gold Coast with my daughter and grandson from December 24th until today was a disappointment. Despite the friendly staff, the hotel's standard fell short, notably in terms of cleanliness and overall maintenance. The rooms were not up to par, indicating a need for a comprehensive overhaul. Furthermore, the pricing of accommodations was considerably higher compared to Marriott Bonvoy hotels in the USA.

Throughout our stay, my daughter and grandson faced multiple inconveniences, including room changes due to leaking ceilings, moldy odors, and even unexpected encounters with possums in the roof. When my daughter required an extension for urgent dental work, we were initially informed of no available rooms, only to be offered a suite at an exorbitant rate after questioning.

The management's response to these issues was unsatisfactory, especially given a past negative encounter with an assistant manager in 2020. Despite efforts to address the situation, it appears that management challenges persist, impacting the overall guest experience.

As a seasoned traveler with global hotel experiences, I must admit that this stay at the Sheraton Mirage has been my most disappointing encounter at a purported five-star hotel. The management shortcomings and the disconnect between the experience and the high prices charged make it difficult for me to recommend Sheraton Mirage. The hotel seems to offer a 2 1/2-star experience while charging rates more fitting for a six-star establishment.
.

Room tip: Rather reserve accomodation at Intercontinental at Sanctuary cove or Langham Hotel in Surfers paradise
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Savvy-Traveler-Titan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Dear Excursion46032820881,

Thank you for staying with us at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast and for your candid feedback regarding your recent stay.

We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for your disappointing stay and would love the opportunity to speak with you in further detail.

If you are happy to, could you please kindly contact our Hotel Manager, Scott Breen, on 55770112 at you earliest convenience.

Warm regards,

Keith Massey
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2024

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Sheraton Mirage on the Gold Coast from 20 December to 16 March. As a Titanium card Member,we encountered significant issues during our stay. I was away for long periods during which time my daughter was forced to move rooms three times due to rain leaking through the ceiling, unpleasant odors, and the presence of possums in the ceiling . Throughout my stay, my daughter primarily occupied the room. However, I was informed by the manager that my Titanium card privileges would not extend to her in future in my absence. Additionally, when faced with an urgent need for three extra nights due to my daughter requiring urgent dental work, the management refused to accommodate us, citing unavailability and eventually offering us a suite at
at an outrageous tariff .As a Titanium Member, I am extremely dissatisfied with the level of service and treatment received at the Sheraton Mirage. This is at best a 3 star hotel charging 5 star tariffs.This experience has left
me deeply disappointed, and I have decided that I will no longer choose Marriott Bonvoy for my future stays. I strongly urge fellow Marriott Bonvoy members to consider alternative hotel groups.

- Dr. Merwyn Miller

Room tip: I definitely do not recommend.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank merwynm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Dear merwynm2014,

Thank you for staying with us at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast and for your candid feedback regarding your recent stay.

We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for your disappointing stay and would love the opportunity to speak with you in further detail.

If you are happy to, could you please kindly contact our Hotel Manager, Scott Breen, on 55770112 at you earliest convenience.

Warm regards,

Keith Massey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2024

From check in to check out our stay at the Sheraton was wonderful. The rooms are well maintained and spacious, all the fantastic facilities were wonderful, the food was fabulous, cocktails at the pool bar were outstanding We loved every minute of our weekend staycation

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 989marisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2024 via mobile

We stayed at the Gold Coast Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort for 4 days prior to a cruise to the South Pacific Islands and 3 days after. Compared to a comparable hotel in Florida (think Swan Reserve at Disney World), we thought this was a more enjoyable vacation.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa that had all the amenities of a 5 star resort and we felt we were treated very well. Our room included a buffet breakfast because of my Marriott Ambassador Elite Status with no upcharge for hot meal. Children under 12 ate for free. How refreshing to not have to haggle with the hotel manager about ambassador elite benefits.

Our villa (2 bedrooms, kitchen, washing machine) was a 5 - 7 minute walk to the beach and hotel pool. The hotel is also a 5 minute drive to Sea World and 20 minute drive to Movie Land, Paradise Country and Wet n Wild. A 14 day pass, with unlimited entry was approximately $160 per person - not per day but for 2 full weeks. Surprisingly, we used Wet n Wild the most (3 days). At Paradise Country we held and fed a koala for a donation, about $250 USD. We took pictures of the kids petting and feeding kangaroos.

It was not as grand as Disney World, but the pace was much more relaxed. Theme parks opened at 10 am and closed at 5 pm. No need to get up at 6 am to pay more money for the chance to get in a priority line.

We want to come back. This our 4th visit to Australia and first to the Gold Coast. We had a great time.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank sstayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews