We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Welcoming”
Review of Canadian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canadian Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So Welcoming”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed at the Canadian in September 2011. It was the last few weeks of the season and so many places were shutting down. The room was comfy and cheap. The Bar was a good laugh and the staff were fantastic, Good nights had by all. Will be returning to Zante because I love the Island and the people, won't be returning to Laganas though, couldn't handle be hounded on the beach and then dragged into bars resturants and Clubs "too much" they really need to tone it down. But if your going to Laganas highly recommend the Canadian.....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    91
    42
    11
    32
See reviews for
20
84
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I travelled to this hotel with 2 of my friends on girls holiday.When we arrived to the hotel we were told that we had to pay for the air conditioning even though it was not stated in hotel information.After checking in the room we wanted to have a quick shower before heading out but noticed that some of our towels,bedsheets and pillows were very dirty.When we went to the reception and wanted to get them changed we were told we had to wait for pillows till the morning as they didn't have any clean ones left!Daily cleaning of the rooms wasn't any better as they moped the floor without sweeping so lots of dust and hair was left behind.Sink was never cleaned either!Hotel didn't have a proper restaurant,only an open pool bar with tables where they were serving meals with very lound music from breakfast until 3am!We wanted to stay in lively area but not having a loud music non stop where you can't even have a conversation during the dinner!Food was very limited,mainly serving fried breafast,spagetty bolognese or other cheap English food with chips.The only food i was eating was Greek salad as we had paid for a half board which was suppose to include according to hotel description local wine or beer but in the restaurant we were told we had to pay for all drinks separately!Nothing in the hotel description was correct as we had to pay extra for air con and drinks.It was the worst hotel i stayed in!Don't go there!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milka1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Just back fron canadian hotel today 26th sept 11. The location is magic and the restuarants and bars and tavernas clubs all within walking distance. The greek people so welcoming. the room was lovely with fab little kitchen and ye a real kettle. paid 40 euros to keep room on as late check out was a sunday room not cleaned that day? maybe must have been just the day they don,t work. ye rooms were cleaned a bit. plenty black hairs left around from dirty black mop mines is blonde my partner has none,??????? balcony never cleaned as dead beaties their from arrival till departure???????, toilet smelt of drains think they need cleaning badly but was big enough and ye shower was powerfull.The staff were lovely and very attentive and ye chris and bar staff were lovely.Never actually complained just went out and had a ball.
MAJOR PROBLEM WAS NO SLEEP!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS A KARIOKE BAR TILL THE SMALL HOURS THEN MUSIC and the sound travels !!!!!!!!!!!!!! when not singing, music was loud and repetitive all day and night by the pool no rest bite for a wee kip!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !Or nice blasting out football.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The pool area is really mingin filthy!!!!!!!!!! concrete tiles you need sandals or feet were discusting from filth think not been cleaned for the whole year or the little tables shame cause was nice little pool honestly could not go in the pool too afraid for diseases!!!!!!!!!We had a lovely holiday super food and beach and bars and entertainment. Did 2 lovely boat trips saw huge turtle, ship wreck and caves etc, walked the lovely beaches and sun bathed lots. would def go back but not to these apartments shame because little changes could keep people in the complex buying food drinking etc if pool area was cleaned up cleaning equipment renewed music toned down at night and off a little during daytime. hope this helps i am 50.00 my guy in his 40s. we are young at heart and nothing spoilt our holiday we just except these things and learn from them this really is a true reveiw.

Room Tip: asked for quiet room but they all noisey. choose hotel away from bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacm186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yately
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This was my third successive year at the hotel. 5th to 19th Sept this year. It has been great 3 times.
Firstly the bar and pool is run by the greatest guys you will ever meet Alex and Anthony and are helped by wonderful kitchen staff who produce great food and each year by an English PR/waiter this year it was the very helpful and polite Chris from Whitley Bay. These guys work tirelessly to keep everyone as happy as possible. Hey, when its busy they can only serve one person at a time. They are not miracle workers! so be patient after all YOU ARE ON HOLIDAY!. Have a laugh with them they are VERY genuine and caring people If you have a problem tell them and they will help if they can. I will be 56 this year and can honestly say there is not a better hotel that I have stayed at in Laganas and I have been there 14 times now.
Location:
Between the Main strip and Kalamaki.
A 5 minute walk to the beautiful sandy Laganas turtle beach with tons of good tavernas and bars such as Driftwood, Boats/Pedaloes hire. The beach goes for miles and you can reach the main strip of Laganas this way if you wish stopping at bars along the way when thirsty which show football/rugby etc,
The main clubbing area is i.e. "the strip" is 10-15 minutes walk by road or beach but there are plenty of bars and other restaurants around. So you will be the QUIETER end of Laganas. Not that any end is quiet.
Hotel Details:-
The hotel itself is split into 3 blocks. The new side (opened last year) is very plush. The area behind the hotel (which is where I have been staying) is older but more than adequate having a kitchenette area with a REAL kettle and usual 2 ring hob. (You can't expect to do much cooking BUT you don't need to your on HOLIDAY). The bathrooms have a toilet and shower with glass shutters to stop the water going everywhere AND have a shower holder which is very unusual for Greece). Use the towelling mat under the sink to prevent slipping in the shower.
The bedroom has 3 beds two of which are pushed together so you can have 3 singles or a double and single etc. There is a balcony on each room with table and chairs with a pleasant garden view. The rooms are kept immaculately clean, the toilet paper bins emptied daily. The sheets and towels changed every 3 days.
The third block which surrounds the fountain was given bad reviews in the past but has now been refurbished to a very good standard last year.
Do's
There is (or should be) a list in the folder in the rooms indicating an inventory of plates/knives forks etc and the price you will pay if you break anything. TAKE time to count them write down the missing items ( because there usually are some missing such as ash trays) on the sheet they give you ask you to sign for.
Don't
Just sign it and suffer later!

Yes this is a pain and not good PR!

Beware do not get the linen stained or it will cost you!

Security boxes are not cheap 25 euro per week 40 for 2 weeks
This though is the normal price you pay anywhere.

Air conditioning I think was 30 euro per week. I am not sure as I do not use it.

This hotel caters for all age groups from youngsters to lively old guys like me.
Don't expect it to be quiet.

People who will enjoy it range from youngsters for a good time around the pool and meeting new friends of all nationalities, to couples who still have some life in them. Not top mention older single people like me.

The hotel staff ARE friendly especially Zueber the night watchman and the afternoon/evening receptionist. Try meeting them half way and you will get back more than you put in!

Yammas from Dave.

Room Tip: See full review
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sensibleoldgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Hi a group of 5 girls stayed in two rooms here from1st to 8th September, when we checked in we were NOT told to check everything in our rooms and where NOT told if you got makeup on the towels you would have to pay an outrageous amount of 25 euros, however the hotel could not produce the towels but as they have the passports, you cant really do much about it and you have to pay, i would say every group during our stay got charged for something damaged or missing and the hotel couldnt produce the said broken or damaged items. The staff are not helpfull at all, the bar staff are so slow at serving, and the receptionist was damn right rude. However Zoubah the night receptionist was great. That said the rooms were quite tidy and clean, the linen wasnt changed as often as they said it would be. The tv had no english channels in our room but our friends next door had several. The rooms are in three blocks, some around the fountain are new and have a lovely outlook the ones behind the pool are older and the overflow as they call them dont even have shower curtains. The location is ok for one end of the beach, but the main strip is a good 15 minute walk away. Question would I stay here again NO WAY, would i advise my friends to NO WAY.

Room Tip: As for a fountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 706christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laganas hotels
0.6 km away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#24 of 74 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.8 km away
Savvas Hotel
Savvas Hotel
#59 of 74 in Laganas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.4 km away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 74 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.8 km away
Zante Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.4 km away
Poseidon Beach Hotel
Poseidon Beach Hotel
#13 of 74 in Laganas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadian Hotel

Property: Canadian Hotel
Address: Laganas beach, Laganas 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Laganas
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Laganas
Price range (per night): $35 - $122
Hotel Class:3 star — Canadian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Otel, Odigeo, Priceline, Wotif.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Canadian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadian Aparthotel Laganas
Canadian Aparthotel Hotel Laganas
Canadian Hotel Laganas, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing