We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kafouros Nightmare!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kafouros Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kafouros Hotel
Ranked #40 of 77 Hotels in Kamari
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kafouros Nightmare!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

The only positive I have to say about this hotel is that the exterior looks pretty. That's it! We were a group a friends for a Bachelorette weekend (3 nights) and the first night in Kafouros Hotel we ended up all sleeping in the same room (4 people) because the one room had cockroaches. We tried to inform the reception (it was 11:00pm) of the problem, but the reception was closed and there was no emergency contact number. This hotel is a family run business but that's no excuse to not have a contact number available 24/7. Also, the towels were old and worn out, the sheets were stained and the fridge would freeze everything (there was no temperature control). The only thing new and clean in the rooms were 21in. tv 's. To add to all this we were told that the rooms have air condition - they did BUT they charged extra 5 euros per day for the remote control! Finally, the last thing that this hotel said they provided was free WiFi access - NO, there was no internet anywhere. After all these issues we had, we thought if we just talk to the owner she would understand and help us out- she didn't - she was rude and unprofessional. Santorini is such an amazing island that it would be a shame if anyone went to this hotel - it will ruin your time there!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stelphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    34
    23
    7
    22
See reviews for
30
102
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

If youre looking for modern luxury this is not the hotel for you. It is a traditional, old building which is nice to look at but run down and tatty in places.
It felt like we were too early in the season and the hotel was not ready. The hotel was mostly empty which was nice, but also lacked atmosphere.

We had a small child and requested a cot. When we arrived, they had no knowledge of our child or the cot. We had to change rooms to accomodate the cot which did arrive (broken). The room was nice with a comfy bed and plenty of room. The fridge and the hotplate worked well for simple meals.

We then found out the bathroom had no light and another light was not working. This took 4 days to correct. The bathroom had a leak and the floor was always wet. The shower was old with no holder for the head, but there was lots of hot water.

Another point was that the lights in the stairwells and landings outside the room did not work or were not switched on which made it difficult returning in the dark with a pushchair.

The swimming pool was nice and was clean, but the drains around the edge stuck up in places cutting my boys toe.

The sunbeds were old and many had been repaired, but were OK.

The breakfast was included and was very basic, with coffee and toast with jam, but was welcome anyway.

The family were nice and friendly with the daughter speaking good english.

The location was OK for us, its on the outskirts of town but still close enough to go out and was quiet at night.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperSpooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall U.K
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

My daughter 19 years old and I had a nice stay here from April 26th - 3rd May 2011.
We were the only people here and Adonnis, Georgia and their daughter were very friendly.
One evening Adonnis came and gave us a couple of glasses of wine, home made I think because it was a bit sharp, not to my daughters taste but I drank both glasses. On another evening when I came back alone he offered me a glass of Ouzo and gave me some help and advice(concerning my daughter working there) while I drank the Ouzo.
We were on the first floor and it was clean and simple, room cleaned every two days, continental breakfast was coffee, orange juice, bread, butter & jam, enough to start the day. As I said friendly family run hotel.
If by any chance you should go to Thira, the capital, be careful not to get ripped off like we did, Two beers, one cactus juice and one bakalarva cost 37 euros, BIG TIP ALWAYS SEE THE PRICE LIST BEFORE YOU ORDER, if you can't see the prices shown outside DON'T go into the bar/restaurant. Apart from that nice weather and enjoyed the stay.
One other tip cheap transfer to airport with Ancient Thira tours situated at the other end of the village by Navydivers cost only 10 euros for 2 people from hotel, best book a couple of days in advance.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sqaw2sqaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ploiesti, Romania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

Stayed 7 nights in a room at the groundfloor. It was ok, but when you opened the door, you colud hear and see the people from the pull. The breakfast was not ok (margarine in stead of butter, a little bit of jam and some cheap juice)-we decided to pass eventhough we already paid. Also, it was hard to find someone from the staff (there was nobody in the reception of the hotel most of the time). The beach was close, but not the main area.
In spite of al those things, we had a lovely stay, we felt very relaxed and the hotel has a good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oanavoicu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Adonnis and his family made us all most welcome, including the young children. This is a genuine family owned and run hotel,the perfect location for my daughters wedding.
Well done staff and thank you for a wonderful week look forward to returning and staying with you again.

"YIAMAS"

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macca542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.2 km away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#41 of 77 in Kamari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.1 km away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.9 km away
Sideris Sunflower Villa
Sideris Sunflower Villa
#45 of 77 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Villa Anneta
Villa Anneta
#71 of 77 in Kamari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.6 km away
Santa Elena Hotel
Santa Elena Hotel
#27 of 77 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Rivari
Hotel Rivari
#38 of 77 in Kamari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kafouros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kafouros Hotel

Property: Kafouros Hotel
Address: Kamari 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 77 Hotels in Kamari
Price range (per night): $53 - $130
Hotel Class:3 star — Kafouros Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kafouros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kafouros Studios Santorini
Kafouros Studios Hotel Santorini
Kafouros Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing