We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel...loved every moment of my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Acqua Vatos Santorini Hotel
Ranked #27 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

I love this hotel. The location is perfect as it's extremely close by to everything, including the beach, restaurants, cocktail bars, shops and the bus stop to Fira and Oia.

The rooms are very stylish and clean with a large comfortable bed, balcony, fridge,tv and a fantastic modern power shower. There was plenty of storage for clothes.

Lovely large pool in a pretty garden which is great for swimming and has plenty of comfortable sun loungers and chairs.

There are also different size rooms that you can choose from to suit your budget, all very good value for Kamari and Santorini.

Drinks are served all day at the pool bar by the very friendly barman Costas.

Breakfast is great with a large selection including freshly baked Greek pastries.

Rania and Miltos on reception are so friendly and helpful.In fact everyone working here are all lovely and so kind and they all helped me with some new Greek words I was trying to learn.

I was so happy here, I didn't want to leave.












Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank CMB_0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We booked a week with Thomson in Acqua Vatos and were monumentally disappointed. The "boutique" hotel is basically a B&B, and a very basic one at that.

Location was fine (though Kamari beach is very ordinary, and Oia is a much nicer place). Staff friendly but minimal contact.

Our room was sold as having a garden view, in truth it was tiny and looked out at a bit of scrubland and backed on to a busy car park. The bed was very uncomfortable and was fixed to one side of the wall. Not great for 2 people at all. Furnishings were basic and not at all as the pictures indicated.

A hanging rail and one chest, no table inside and a tiny TV. Bathroom was minuscule and the shower had no door and so sprayed water all over the floor each time it was used. The bathroom was never cleaned and thick long hairs from a previous guest remained for a whole week. I think we must have had the worst room in the hotel. Tatty wash towels and beach towels not once replaced.

Every noise could be heard all night. Shouting, talking, sneezing and singing- we heard all of them, every day... absolutely awful. There was underwear outside a room one night from the room next door- charming!

Breakfast was the cheapest imaginable. Orange squash not juice, tinned fruit, some variable homemade items and a few bits of processed cheese and ham. There were a few nice items one some days, but not much. Cutlery and glasses often dirty and a very basic offering in all. Fine for a free breakfast which is what they advertise. Not fine for what Thomson stated was boutique hotel breakfast.

The pool area, so beautiful in the brochure was by a main road, unkempt and tired looking. A few battered sun beds and some scrubby bushes. The advertised vineyard was basically a bit of waste land with some vines. Fine- but don't advertise it as a feature!

No atmosphere, no bar snacks or food. And a very basic bar by the pool, rarely manned and poorly stocked. Not at all in any way, whichever country you are in was it "boutique".

I think apart from the cleaning issues, the fault lays with Thomson. They are mis-selling this property as a quirky boutique hotel and in fact it is a B&B.

Heartbreakingly, we went to Oia one day, and saw beautiful properties at a fraction of the cost. Stay there not here.

Thomson were very unhelpful when contacted, said we may as well stay as it was only a 7 day holiday, as we'd have to pay to change hotels and it would take a "while". The guy on the phone actually laughed and said it was a beautiful island and not to worry. Unbelievable.

In this day and age, travel agents should work harder. We never book with them normally, preferring to find our own way. I wish we had this time, as the hotel was completely mis-sold.

Santorini is a place to discover yourself not to book with Thomson. At least the hotel as close to the black pebble beach and restaurants. Though note, far better eating as drinking is to be had elsewhere on the island and at far less cost.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

My partner and I have conflicting thoughts on our stay. I found the staff pleasant and helpful enough; she though thought them distant and stand-offish.

They offer services on the website and Thomson site but they don’t know what the services are in reality for example it says they offer prams/strollers for children but when we asked for this they didn’t offer it or even know what it is.

The rooms are tiny and caused us trouble to no end. There was seemingly one iron between the whole hotel and no ironing boards.

Compared to some hotels on the island it was good and modern but lacked the space.

There was no atmosphere at the hotel and we found ourselves spending time at other hotels where family was staying

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a great week. As stated by some previous reviews our room was fairly small but had everything we needed, and we were only in to shower and sleep so the size wasn't a problem. The breakfast was good, home cooked local dishes as well as bacon and eggs plus the usual cereals and cheese and meats. Close to the beach and restaurants and opposite the bus stop to Fira. Miltos on reception was always very friendly and we had a few laughs with him during the week.
The towels were changed everyday but I was very surprised that a couple of times frayed and ripped ones although clean were left, also as stated by a previous reviewer the outdoor seating needs a clean, it's nearing the end of the season so guess these will be attended to before the start of next season.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DawnLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

we've just spent a wonderful week at the Acqua Vatos hotel. The rooms were lovely though the bed was a little hard. The staff were so friendly and very helpful offering advice on everything we asked. The reception, terrace and pool areas were all lovely. The breakfasts were excellent- very varied and you could eat as much as you wanted.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sco001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamari hotels
0.7 km away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#6 of 75 in Kamari
361 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#18 of 75 in Kamari
433 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel 28
Hotel 28
#4 of 75 in Kamari
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Hippocampus
Hotel Hippocampus
#12 of 75 in Kamari
269 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Maria Preka
Hotel Maria Preka
#40 of 75 in Kamari
156 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Zephyros
Hotel Zephyros
#30 of 75 in Kamari
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acqua Vatos Santorini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqua Vatos Santorini Hotel

Address: Kamari 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range: $82 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acqua Vatos Santorini Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of Kamari in Santorini and just a few passes away of the famous black sand beach, the Acqua Vatos has been fully refurbished and transformed into a hip boutique hotel in the spring of 2011. It is trendy, elegant and from time to time eccentric, with minimalistic design and exhibitionist bathrooms. Acqua Vatos is ideal for families with kids, since there are rooms designed and equipped especially for them. The XXL pool is a star attraction for adults and children of any age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Acqua Vatos Santorini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acqua Vatos
Acqua Vatos Kamari
Acqua Vatos Santorini Hotel Kamari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing