We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“rugrats and ankle biters” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Falco All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Cala'n Bosch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
cannock england
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“rugrats and ankle biters”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

As always I will be as objective as possible with my review.
Our first visit to Menorca, we were very impressed with how clean everywhere was kept by the municipal authorities. The resort, Cala en Bosch, was equally pristine and attractive.
The Sol Falco hotel is a collection of low-rise (2 and 3 storey) apartments set in well maintained, tidy, clean gardens of a stated 10 acres. The main pool complex of three large pools varies from a shallow pool suitable for children and games, to a deep pool for adults and diving.
There are several smaller, quieter pools amongst the gardens, serving the apartment blocks, with plenty of sunbeds available. (More about the sunbeds later)
The hotel itself is a little dated and fraying round the edges a bit, but nevertheless is a perfectly adequate three star. The service areas, reception and the rooms were all spotlessly clean.
The staff were all very appoachable, polite and friendly.
There was a very extensive range of foods available in the restaurant from 13.00 until 22.00 and generally was of good quality. The salad bar was especially good.
The entertainment team were very good as were the night time shows.

I have a few subjective criticisms.
The menu at times was a little top heavy on sea food for my liking, but if you are a seafood afficionado, you would be well served.
The sun beds are quite old, of the type which bounce up and give you a whack if you sit in the middle and a lot of them had broken head stays.
The air conditioning was virtually non existent, with the ceiling fan just moving the warm air around.
This is a criticism of Thomsons, the tour operator and not the hotel. In fairness, the brochure does imply being 'family friendly' with plenty of activities for children. It does not say that the hotel seems to be totally geared towards families with small children and that it is a very popular destination for Italian families.
So if you are of a certain age and are seeking a quiet, relaxing holiday with fine dining in an adult, sophisticated restaurant with linen tablecloths, then it is not for you.
If you have a young family who love noisy play around the pools, or if you just love rugrats and ankle biters anyway and want wall to wall noise when you are dining, then the Sol Falco is for you.
Would we go back? Yes to Cala en Bosch. Yes to Menorca. For us personally, not to the Falco.
But it is a very good 3 star hotel.
How to improve? Have a separate dining area/room for singles and childless couples with a more refined dining experience.
Get some new sunbeds.
Waiter service during the day to the satellite pools for drinks.
Fix the aircon system.
Cook the bacon a little more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room remote from the main pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank skytortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    766
    197
    49
    31
See reviews for
1,181
378
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I have to say that I was somewhat hesitant at staying in a 3 star hotel, especially All Inclusive. I'm well travelled and a bit of a fine wine and dining person and the food was excellent and so was the wine I was surprised to discover, as on All Inclusive it generally isn't. A tip though is the wine in the dining room is far nicer than behind the bar so smuggle a glass out if you can. The pasta chef was terrrific, all his dishes were very good.
The staff were great. Laura the Thompsons rep was excellent and would certainly go that extra mile for anyone. I enquired about local nature trips and she got a stack of information for me the next day. She was lovely. Best rep I've come across. Kids Club was good, I was a little surprised to find I had to pay for it in the afternoons but I still thought it good value and the staff very nice. On a Friday you can put them in for a whole day for 10 euros and they do lots of games and swimming pool stuff. Loved the aqua aerobics with Emilio, he really enjoys his job and was very good. Evening entertainment was good, especially the external ones. Kids mini disco was spot on and lasted for 30 to 40 mins per night which was greatly appreciated as some hotels it's about 20mins.
My only negative was the weather. We must have had about 12 days of rain out of the 14, a couple of them savage so wouldn't go in May/June again.
Yes I would most definitely recommend this hotel, excellent value for money, great food, great staff. No complaints. Oh and bring your own towels or it's a euro per towel per day.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank andreadavies36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

having stayed at the sol falco last year then again in june we are returning again in august, there is nothing we can fault about this hotel, food great plenty of choice resturant area very clean tidy and serviced well.
the hotel itself from the rooms to the gardens,pools,bar area,recpetion are all maintainted and kept very clean and tidy.
all the staff and entertainment team are very frendily helpfull and sociable.
we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a holiday to cala n bocsh menorca .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank col5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We were delighted with this hotel our room was clean and comfortable, it was a flintstone hotel but this year we travelled without children but there is plenty for them to do and the entertainment team seemed to keep them busy.
the sunbeds were plentyful and the walk to the beach was just 5 mins away down a predestrian only walk way, but the beds on the beach we thought were expensive at 17 euros a day. there was a large choice of food every day, regulars stated that the quality had dropped this year in favour of quanity, but we found it a normal for a all inclusive hotel.The bar staff were very friendly and service was quick.
Caln'Bosch was only a 20 minute walk , and the bus to the town only 25 mins and was regular every hour.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgt-sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

couldnt recommend this hotel and location more!! fantastic food, lovely rooms and friendly staff what more could you ask for!! the hotel is about a 30 second walk from the beach and a five minute walk from a variety of bars and places to eat!!! me and my partner went in June, the hotel has a perfect mix of familes and couples there is something for everyone!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessierose24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala'n Bosch
10.1 km away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
16.6 km away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.8 km away
Aparthotel Paradise Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
38.8 km away
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
#3 of 6 in Es Castell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
39.1 km away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Falco All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Falco All Inclusive

Property: Sol Falco All Inclusive
Address: Avda. Son Xoriguer s/n | Cala´n Bosch, 07769 Cala'n Bosch, Minorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Cala'n Bosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
#5 Family Hotel in Cala'n Bosch
Price range (per night): $180 - $483
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Falco All Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Melia Hotels APAC so you can book your Sol Falco All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Falco Hotel Cala`n Bosch
Sol Melia Ciudadela
Sol Falco Ciudadela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing