We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
OmarO

Disappointed

Review of The Wave Resort
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 June 2022
We stayed 5 nights in a 1 bedroom lower level room.

Having stayed here several times before, we had no hesitation in staying again.

The staff were lovely, friendly and welcoming...as it always has been. Parking garage was easy to access, so that was great.

Getting up to 6th floor, our room was close to the lifts, great stuff!!! Opening up the door the first thing that hit us were the walls! Rather than paint and upkeep, they had been wiped and you could see ALL wipe marks. Yuck!!! The couch was so old, it felt so icky...quite old and had seen much better days.

There was no decor, no lamp in the lounge. No clock.
Side lamps in the bedroom were missing proper knobs to turn on/off.

The shower head leaked from the top, the half flush cistern hardly worked, meaning full flush required each time.

There were no curtains/drapes or any form of appropriate privacy. A large holland blind in the bedroom that, from outside had some black matter on it. The ones in the lounge transparent.

The fridge, while nice, had tape on the front door.

Lastly, with the cooler weather, it was cold in the evening.
The blanket was paper thin and there were no spares in any of the wardrobes so I slept most nights with my robe on.

I know that covid most probably has messed up so many things, this room one of those things. But if you have apartments on offer for rent, maintenance is required. This was so run down I had trouble using anything.

Seriously! The owner of this apartment really needs to pull his finger out. Paint the place inside! Fix the plumbing add some paintings.

The wave is a beautiful building with much on offer! This has let it down so much.
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$323
  • Expedia.com
    AU$301
  • Agoda.com
    AU$297
  • Vio.com
    AU$312
0.1 km from The Wave Resort
Free parking
Pool
AU$170
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$170
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$168
  • Hotels.com
    AU$170
0.3 km from The Wave Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Guest room
AU$309
  • Booking.com
    AU$309
  • Algotels
    AU$223
  • Expedia.com
    AU$309
0.2 km from The Wave Resort
Pool
Beachfront
AU$283
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$283
  • Hotels.com
    AU$283
  • travelup.com
    AU$283
0.4 km from The Wave Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
The Star Grand Hotel - Gold Coast
AU$286
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$286
  • Priceline
    AU$260
  • Hotels.com
    AU$286
0.4 km from The Wave Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
AU$335
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$335
  • Vio.com
    AU$312
  • Hotels.com
    AU$335
0.3 km from The Wave Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$179
  • Expedia.com
    AU$179
  • Agoda.com
    AU$135
  • Trip.com
    AU$179
0.5 km from The Wave Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
BA bedroom
AU$251
  • Booking.com
    AU$264
  • Agoda.com
    AU$197
  • Priceline
    AU$240
0.4 km from The Wave Resort
Free Wifi
The Outdoor Pool and Spa at the Browns at Broadbeach
AU$130
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$130
  • Agoda.com
    AU$130
1.0 km from The Wave Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$149
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$133
  • Agoda.com
    AU$127
  • Priceline
    AU$149
0.4 km from The Wave Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Broadbeach
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveller rating
330
144
37
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
330
144
37
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom apartment great location great kitchen gold coast surfers paradise high floor min walk family holiday pacific fair self contained ocean view level supermarket pools noise spa shops
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 544 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2022 via mobile

Great location and central to everything in Broadbeach. Reception staff are less than user friendly and didn’t seem that interested in guests. Went to get some towels for the pool (as advertised) and was told they didn’t supply and we should just go
And buy some. Accommodation was fine and apartments have most mod cons.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynton67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dreamtime Resorts, Marketing at The Wave Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2022

Hi Lynton,

Thank you for your feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed the central location and will be following up on your comments as we strive to provide the best holiday experience. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
The Wave Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2022 via mobile

Family holiday for our little family of 3. — 27th Floor, full ocean view, beautiful 2 bedroom apartment Config: 1 King bed & 2 Single beds - best location right in the busy hub of Broadbeach Queensland - easy walk to all amenities - lots of Restaurants & Cafes, Shops & Supermarket - very comfortable, self contained, great kitchen &.laundry, full sized fridge & 2 bathrooms - 2 showers & 1 bath - security lifts & parking enabling guests to visit their floor and Level 4 & 34 which both had a pool and also Sauna, spa & Gym. Couldn’t fault it - amazing place - clean modern and had 3 sliding doors leading out to an amazing balcony - we will be back - short 2 min walk to Kurrawa Beach

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MegnJase
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2022

This is our second time here and we requested
and got the same apartment with a terrific
view to the north overseeing Surfers Paradise.
The apartment is spacious and kids had their
own rooms and bathroom.
Downstairs in right in the heart of Broadbeach.

Room tip: Try and get an apartment at the northern or southern side of the resort as the views are far better and more panoramic.
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Upperhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2022 via mobile

Massive cockroach problem, we’re given a can of spray by the staff.. we had small children so was a horrible experience. Multiple alive cockroaches found in the apartment each day.
We booked a room with an ocean view, given I would be stuck in the apartment while the children napped I wanted to be able to read on the balcony and take in the ocean views.. instead we were assigned to the lowest level tooling straight at the back of a building (not shown in advertising) for our two week stay.
We stay at the GC every year, we will not be coming back to stay here.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank bexyg2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2022

We were after an apartment style for the space with little kids. Great size. Great location close to restaurants and the beach. Has a pool. Can get a bit noisy outside but that’s the nature of GC. Not too bad. Would just suggest to the hotel to put a few more kitchen items in eg sandwhich press.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mons11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dreamtime Resorts, Marketing at The Wave Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2022

Hi Mons11,

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation, we're glad to hear you enjoyed the location and rooms. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
The Wave Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews