We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great family resort close to shopping!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BreakFree Diamond Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BreakFree Diamond Beach
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Broadbeach
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“great family resort close to shopping!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

great spacious rooms, very comfy beds. hotel staff pleasant. i advised after checking in that my kettle didnt work, safe was locked and the shower and bath were constantly dripping. arriving back in the afternoon i had a new kettle in my kitchen and the safe was unlocked. unfortunately the dripping taps were never fixed which is very disappointing considering the stickers in the bathroom asking you to save water. the pool area is wonderful and caters for every age group. loved the spa inside the cave. bbq area is a must use. had free undercover parking and great security. the resort is only a 10 minute walk to broadbeach mall and its a beautiful walk too. down the end of the street is pacific fair. so many shops and restaurants nearby. will definately be staying here again. highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Tanya703,

Thank you for your lovely and informative review on your stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach.

Thank you for your great comments regarding the layout and inclusions of the resort. With many guests now opting to drive to their holiday destination having free onsite parking is an added bonus to staying with us.

Although I am pleased to read that staff took swift corrective action to the maintenance issues you experienced it is still disappointing that these occurred during your stay and I do apologise for this.

I am so pleased that you will be coming back for another holiday and look forward to welcoming you back to the sunny Gold Coast.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    356
    148
    68
    60
See reviews for
736
44
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

I highly recommend this resort, it is beautiful and the customer service is great. This resort is family friendly and is located in a great and central part of Broadbeach. Cannot wait to go again which will be my 4th time there.

There is no restaurant or fitness centre onsite therefore I had to rate that as terrible.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Kristine T,

What a great review, thank you! I am so pleased to read of your 3rd stay with us and that it was a great holiday. We certainly strive for all of our guests to leave not only having had a truly wonderful stay but looking forward to their next holiday.

Thank you for the lovely comments regarding the great service you received, I will be sure to share this with my team.

I am so thrilled that you ‘can’t wait’ to return and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager

P.S I love your picture taken with the resort pools in the background!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Worst stay ever! Friends we were up there with had major renos in the room above them. Without batting an eyelid they were upgraded to a room with doors that actually work. I get hit in the face by a palm frond by the pool (2yo son right next to me) and get nothing but arrogance lies and deceit! None of our doors worked either, kids jammed open. Mouldy food on cutlery, thick layer of crud on ceiling fans and manky shelves storing the bedding. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juzzo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Juzzo75,

It was unfortunate that a palm frond had fallen down onto you whilst poolside. With the expansive tropical layout of our gardens we do have a number of palm trees throughout the resort. To ensure that the area is well presented we have a full time Gardener who tends to these areas. Part of his role is to remove dying palm fronds to alleviate this issue. However as with any tree, leaves and fronds will come down at unwilling times and we once again apologise the unfortunate incident of one of these fronds falling onto you.

I am disappointed to read of your concerns with the support you were provided with after the incident. I can confirm that medical care was offered immediately after the incident and subsequently in the days following which was not taken up on. I also ensured that I and my team were made available for you at all times during your stay and met with you on a number of times after the incident to provide support.

I once again apologise for the disappointment in your stay and the unfortunate incident that occurred.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Having read some terrible reviews prior to arriving at the Resort, I will admit to being extremely nervous when opening the front door to our unit. Much to our relief and surprise, Unit 51 (two bedroom, first floor, pool-side) was spacious, spotless, tastefully furnished, and very well equipped. We have just returned home from an 11 night stay, and I miss the leather lounge-suite and the second bathroom already! The grounds are beautifully maintained, the pools idyllic.

The only reason I'm not giving a 5-rating is due to the beds. I know everyone has different preferences, but I did end up with sore hips from the mattress, and had to go out and buy a suitable pillow. But like I said, it gets down to personal preference, and you can't please everyone with bedding/pillows. All in all, we had a very enjoyable stay at the resort, and I would definitely go back again and would not hesitate to recommend to friends and family.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Diane C,

Thank you for taking the time out to tell us about your holiday experience at BreakFree Diamond Beach.

I am so pleased to read your review and hear that any concerns you had before coming to the resort were quickly squandered when entering your apartment. It is unfortunate that some reviews do not reflect accurately on the great resort we have here at Diamond Beach. We so appreciate when guests such as yourself can share your holiday experience with fellow travellers. I do think that the best reflection of a good holiday is when we hear that guests would recommend to their family and friends, which is wonderful to hear.

Unit 51 is a lovely poolside apartment with great views overlooking our stunning landscaped pools. This unit is beautifully furnished with a lovely holiday vibe throughout.

I apologise if the beds in the unit wasn’t suitable for you but do appreciate your understanding of this.

I am thrilled to read that you will come back and return for what I am sure will be another great holiday with us.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We requested air-conditioning, but was given a room with no air-con, until jumped up & down. The new air/con room still had the fridge full of food from previous people. Everything is dirty. Asked for fold up bed prior to arrival, took 3 goes on 1st night to get it. Have a list of what things r in each aprtmt, but only half things on there. Not enough glasses to drink out of for whole family. Not enough chairs to sit on outside. Bathrooms are dirty. Artificial plant has been dead for quite some time. Not enough air ventilation in bathrooms. Wish I had read reviews before coming here. Never again. People dnt seem to really care either.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chiza12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Chiza12,

Your candid feedback is valuable to emphasise where we can do better and I thank you for your honest review.

At Diamond Beach we strive to constantly improve and provide wonderful holiday experiences. I am very disappointed that we seemed to have dropped the ball regarding your stay with us and for this I offer my formal apologies.

There is no excuse for poor cleaning and service and I can provide full assurance that you’re valuable feedback will be shared with my team to ensure that instances such as these are kept to an absolute minimum.

I once again apologise for your disappointing stay and do invite you to contact me directly to Rebecca.noyes@breakfree.com.au so that I can further look into your booking concerns.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadbeach
0.6 km away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.7 km away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,394 reviews
0.5 km away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#13 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
0.4 km away
Mantra Sierra Grand
Mantra Sierra Grand
#7 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
2.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Diamond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Diamond Beach

Property: BreakFree Diamond Beach
Address: 10-16 Alexandra Avenue, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Diamond Beach Resort )
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Broadbeach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
Price range (per night): $127 - $488
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Diamond Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated less than 100 metres from the lifesaver patrolled beach and the chic Broadbeach cafe precinct, BreakFree Diamond Beach is family friendly and ideally located. You will be within walking distance of the stunning beach, and the popular restaurants, bars and shopping at central Broadbeach, Pacific Fair and Jupiters Casino. This popular low-rise resort offers one, two and three bedroom apartments nestled amongst tropical landscaped gardens and waterfalls. All apartments are self contained and include fully-equipped kitchens, laundry facilities, ceiling fans, Austar and large balconies, some with direct pool access. Recreation facilities include two swimming pools landscaped with waterfalls, bridges and rock-cave spas. For the kids, there is a heated novelty fun pool, playground and games room. The resort also has BBQ cooking facilities and a kiosk selling all the beachside holiday necessities. Explore the greater Gold Coast during your stay. Tours to famous Gold Coast theme parks and national parks can be booked through the Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your BreakFree Diamond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Diamond Beach Hotel Broadbeach
Diamond Beach Hotel
Diamond Beach Broadbeach
BreakFree Diamond Beach Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing