We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & service but apartments Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BreakFree Diamond Beach
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Broadbeach
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location & service but apartments Average”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights (28/01-04/02/2012) in a 2bdrm apartment with 2 young kids (ages 4 & 5). After a very early flight, we arrived exhausted at reception around 10am. Reception staff were very friendly & helpful at check in (esp Teigan), however, we had to roam around the mall till 2pm before the room was ready (What a nightmare with 2 tired kids & heavy rain!).

Was so looking forward to bed! Unfortunately, upon entering our apartment, we were very disappointed at the state of the apartment. After reading some reviews, we had emailed requesting for a refurbished apartment, however, the apartment (#83) allocated to us was definitely not. Carpets were stained, worn out and sticky. Bathrooms/showers old, and the beds badly stained. We thought we'll cope, until at night, when we closed the blinds & curtains. These were broken in the bedrooms and badly coated with dust & mold. The whole apartment became pretty dusty and the musky smell was awful. After speaking to Matthew at reception, he was very helpful and offered us another apartment, however, our kids had knocked out and we were all really tired after a 5am flight, so we chose to move the next morning. After a night of sneezing (both myself & the kids),we moved to apartment (102). This apartment was just slightly better, as had same worn out bathrooms, curtains & carpets. We had to vacuum the place twice ourselves to get rid of some dust. The kids & I get hay fever, so the dust just aggravates it more. Not sure if it was dust mites or fleas, but kids kept getting bitten in the apartment, and new bites appear every morning even thought we count the bites & check for mosquitoes every night.

On a positive note, the location is great, so handy to malls and beach. The staff (esp. Teigan, Matthew & Barry) were awesome and very friendly & helpful. Housekeeping could be better, but if the apartments are individually owned, then not much they can do about it if the furnishings & carpets are not updated. The gardens, BBQ & pool areas are beautifully maintained and immaculate! Well done to Barry and the other maintenance gentleman (didn't get to speak to him, but always gave a smile & wave). The kids pool/playground is beautiful and the kids loved it!

Overall, would love to come back next year and give this place another go. Have read other responses from management that the apartments are being refurbished, so hopefully fingers crossed we get what we want then ;-)

Room Tip: We had requested for a refurbished apartment with air con prior and upon arrival. Got air con but d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family04_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakFreeSavannah_07, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Family04_2012,

Thank you for posting your review on your stay at BreakFree Diamond Beach Resort.

We do really appreciate your postive comments regarding the quality of customer service you have received and the team members that provided this.

We sincerely apologise that you were disappointed with the standard of your apartments here at Diamond Beach. We are working in partnership with our Owners to currently refurbish the units to both modernise and freshen our apartments. We have a good number of these units recently completed and the outcomes are truly stunning. In saying this, there is no excuse for poor cleaning. We have worked very hard with our cleaning department appointing an Executive Housekeeping Manager to improve the standards of our cleaning and ensure that although some of our apartments maybe a little dated that our units are exceptionally clean. Your valuable feedback has been passed onto this department to ensure our high standards are maintained at all times

I am heartened to read that in light of your concerns with the apartment you would still return back to the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back and restoring your faith in our beautiful resort here at BreakFree Diamond Beach.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    437
    167
    77
    64
See reviews for
893
57
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed here in January 2012 and paid $800 for a 2 bed apartment for 7 nights with a free family pass into 'Dream World'. We got the rate directly on their site so it's worth subscribing if you want to stay here.
This is an idea for families. Fantastic pool and BBQ area however the apartment we had was very tired and smelt damp. It was spacious with everything you need, washing machine dish washer but the carpet was grubby and it needed a paint. Location is a short walk to Pacific Fair and Oasis shopping centre.

Room Tip: ask if the room has been refurbished recently
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakFreeSavannah_07, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Iryland,

I do appreciate you taking the time to post your review on your recent stay at BreakFree Diamond Beach Resort.

I am happy to hear you were able to take advantage of a fantastic special we had available where not only did you receive a great deal on your accommodation but were also able to receive a family pass to DreamWorld as well. I hope that you and your family enjoyed this great family day out at one of Australia’s favourite theme parks.

I appreciate your feedback regarding your room and I am disappointed that you found the carpet not to standard. I can confirm that we have the carpets cleaned in our rooms four times a year to ensure they are always clean and well presented. I do apologise for your disappointment and will pass this valuable feedback onto our Housekeeping department.

Once again I thank you for posting your review and do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next holiday to the Gold Coast.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

This was our 4th family holiday to the Gold Coast and each time we've stayed somewhere different trying to find the "right" place. I think we've found it in B/Free Diamond Beach.

The rooms are a little on the tired side but nothing excessive. I've stayed in worse and paid more. There were a couple of little maintenance issues with our unit but the Reception Staff were very friendly and had them fixed in no time at all with no inconvenience to ourselves.

The pool area is amazing and love the fact that it is locked off at night so there isn't excessive noise in the complex. We were there over New Year's Eve and there was a lot more noise from the surrounding properties than from within.

As a family property you really can't beat this, but if you are looking for all the mod cons then this isn't the place for you. As long as you are aware that it isn't 5 star then you won't be disappointed. As a Travel Agent I've happily recommend this to my clients and now having stayed there can give them a first hand opinion of the property and will keep pushing it as one of the best Moderate Priced Family properties on the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizcnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakFreeSavannah_07, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Lizcnz,

I am so thrilled that you feel you have found your ideal accommodation when visiting the Gold Coast at Break Free Diamond Beach Resort. We do value and appreciate such great feedback from an industry professional.

I am happy to read that you found the staff here at Diamond Beach most friendly and accommodating. We appreciate your comments regarding some minor maintenance that was attended to and that you found Diamond Beach Resort value for money.

We thank you again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your fifth visit to the Gold Coast.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melton west
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2012

very nice place l will have more holdays here again
and the best place l have had a holiday and very good for the kids

from the kilner & steane family

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakFreeSavannah_07, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear David K,

It sounds like you have had a truly great stay with us. We are thrilled to read that this has been the best place you have stayed in, what a fantastic compliment this is to receive.

We are so happy you and your family had both an enjoyable and memorable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming back the Kilner & Steane family on your next holiday to the Gold Coast.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new south wales, australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

just spent a week at Breakfree Diamond Beach on the Gold Coast. I selected it for its location and pool and bbq facilities. It didn't disappoint. We had a 3rd floor 3 bedroom apartment, privately owned and well furbished. We had an air conditioner but caught the sea breezes from the 3rd floor and excellent ceiling fans meant we didn't need to use it. We were 5 blocks from the shops, eateries and monorail station at the Oasis centre, and 2 blocks from Pacific Fair. We only drove to the shops to do a big supermarket shop on day 1 and walked at other times. Did I mention we were a block and a half from the patrolled beach?
The kids (teenage boys) loved the pools and spa and would go down and make friends every night. Bbq facilities were clean and plentiful. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bulldog45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakFreeSavannah_07, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Bulldog45,

I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your recent holiday with us and that you found your room to be well furbished and catered perfectly for your family. Being so close to the ocean the units get a great sea breeze that not only refreshes the resort but certainly assists in making the area a little cooler in the warmer months.

We are certainly fortunate to be located ideally central and within walking distance to all that Broadbeach has on offer.

Great to hear that your teenage boys were able to make good use of the facilities of the resort and also able to make some new friends while staying here. The open and spacious layout of the pool area is perfect for all guests whether it be somebody wanting a quiet swim or wanting to meet and join in with other guests in the resort.

Once again we do thank you for taking the time to post your review and we are so happy to read that your stay with us was well enjoyed. We hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadbeach
0.7 km away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,395 reviews
0.7 km away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,740 reviews
0.8 km away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#13 of 21 in Broadbeach
205 reviews
4.7 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,633 reviews
0.4 km away
Mantra Sierra Grand
Mantra Sierra Grand
#7 of 21 in Broadbeach
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree Diamond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Diamond Beach

Property: BreakFree Diamond Beach
Address: 10-16 Alexandra Avenue, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Diamond Beach Resort )
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Broadbeach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
Price range (per night): $128 - $484
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Diamond Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated less than 100 metres from the lifesaver patrolled beach and the chic Broadbeach cafe precinct, BreakFree Diamond Beach is family friendly and ideally located. You will be within walking distance of the stunning beach, and the popular restaurants, bars and shopping at central Broadbeach, Pacific Fair and Jupiters Casino. This popular low-rise resort offers one, two and three bedroom apartments nestled amongst tropical landscaped gardens and waterfalls. All apartments are self contained and include fully-equipped kitchens, laundry facilities, ceiling fans, Austar and large balconies, some with direct pool access. Recreation facilities include two swimming pools landscaped with waterfalls, bridges and rock-cave spas. For the kids, there is a heated novelty fun pool, playground and games room. The resort also has BBQ cooking facilities and a kiosk selling all the beachside holiday necessities. Explore the greater Gold Coast during your stay. Tours to famous Gold Coast theme parks and national parks can be booked through the Tour Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree Diamond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Diamond Beach Hotel Broadbeach
Diamond Beach Hotel
Diamond Beach Broadbeach
BreakFree Diamond Beach Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing