We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Chris K

Keep Away

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 July 2023
Absolutely terrible experience. The lift door slammed onto my wrist while I was exiting the lift. It hit with such force as it smashed onto my watch face damaging the glass. Imagine if a toddler's head was hit with such force? Despite reporting the incident to the hotel manager and to the security team, no-one has made any contact with me to offer to repair my damaged watch.
The servicing of my room was also appalling. Housekeeping had not attended to my room at 4.30pm. They were advised of this fact and promised to attend within 30 minutes. Another call had to be made at 7.30pm as the room still had not been touched. They finally arrived after 8pm to service my room.
There has been no response to any emails I have sent this establishment since checking out. They don't want to know you after they've collected your money.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$235
  • Booking.com
0.2 km from The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
0.5 km from The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Two Bedroom Two Bathroom at the Ocean Pacific
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
0.5 km from The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
0.5 km from The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Free parking
Pool
Guest room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Sofitel
    AU$388
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Pool
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$205
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Pool at the Talisman Apartments
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$443
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$2,321
  • eDreams
0.1 km from The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Restaurant
Room service
The Pool at the Oceana on Broadbeach
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Broadbeach
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
175
119
49
32
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
175
119
49
32
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star club terrace suite breakfast included twin room executive lounge turn down service rooms are nice gold coast bed and pillows restaurants and bars late checkout pacific fair school holidays great place to stay fantastic stay casino concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2023

Great room with all modern facilities including electronic curtains, blinds etc as you would expect for the room fee. Great view, good coffee making facilities, very nice but small bathroom.

Close walking distance to beach.

The most annoying part of staying here is the car parking. Validate the ticket at reception each time you go out, going out after dark will likely cause you not not find a park, $20 per day etc. Seems a bit of a nuisance for guests paying a premium to stay at the hotel....

Room tip: Parking can be no fun
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Phobos1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2023

We were excited about our stay at The Grand Star. But that was short lived. This entire place is a sh^t show. When booking we enquired about parking as it had been mentioned to be difficult. Yes valet parking is always available was the response from the bookings lady.
It had been a big day, a five hour drive and we arrived to find valet parking was full. If you’ve rented out the rooms, surely you allocated the parking. The car park itself is a total nightmare. Whilst we were in the hotel car park we were in fact parked a good 500 metres or more from the reception desk which could only be reached through a rabbit warren of elevators and stairs. The reception staff were at least pleasant if not misguiding. Join our rewards program for free parking! Remember we’ve paid $374 for a basic motel room which apparently doesn’t come with parking! You’re shi^ting me right!
Our room was on the tenth floor. High up enough to be away from the casino noise one would think but not necessarily so. The crying baby at 11:00pm was also not appreciated and frighteningly loud considering we are staying in a five star establishment that hasn’t mastered sound proofing!
The rooms are nice, if not poorly planed. No mini bar, a malfunctioning coffee machine, a rain fall shower that seemed to get just as much water outside the shower as in it. Want to watch a movie, no problem, that’s another $19, your kidding me, right? Frankly by this point I’m ready to leave and demand a refund but our friends are here so I calm myself and go to dinner. We all joined the rewards program and yes there was some discounts off food but it was overpriced and underwhelming anyway.
The bed was at least comfortable and the fancy electric blind almost made me feel like we were getting value for money, sadly that feeling didn’t last.
Checking out we are charged the $20 parking fee even though we protest and waive our rewards program cards about.
Disappointed we leave and make the trek back to the car. Not once did we receive any help with our bags. And better yet as we make our way into the elevator we are met with 3 elderly ladies all in the 80’s struggling with a hotel luggage trolley alone. Apparently valet parking was still full.
It’s a sh^t show and a poorly organised one at that.
There is way better value for money to be had and I wish we’d chosen it. Never again Star not so Grand!

Room tip: Just don’t stay here. It’s basically an upmarket dive. Definitely not a five star experience.
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2023

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Star Grand Gold Coast. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. Nice big TV with Foxtel, free high speed internet. a table and chairs plus a desk. A beautiful big bathroom. The only negative I would give is the long queue to check in.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2023 via mobile

I have stayed here countless times being a gold member the service is hit and miss no one came to assist when dropping off bags plenty of staff but no one interested in coming to help with a wheelchair I had to take my bags up to valet. Check-in today was quick and was allocated a room on the 5th floor there lowest level rooms never stayed this low when you open the curtain view of the roof and air conditioner and the garden bed full of weeds. The rooms though are very nice and one of the most comfortable beds. We checked in ask for the bags to be brought up that was at 1pm got into the room after playing at the casino and dinner not there at 9pm. But brought them up after ringing. Food was good and great value at the food quarter. Check out was very quick

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Greig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2023

Stayed for a night on a discounted rates as a Star Club member. The deal made it worthwhile for a night out, with dinner, entertainment and a few drinks without the worry of travelling home or trying to catch an Uber or the like.
The room was a standard twin room that offered a great level of quality and opulence. The beds were really comfortable to go with the room that was spacious and gave a feeling of quality. Didn’t get the chance to use the gym or pool area, but these would be an added bonus to use during an overnight stay.
Become a star club member and you will be entitled to a discount, or the occasional special price, plus will include free parking.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GT1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews