We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller747400
Fremantle, Australia

LACK LUSTER ON THE GOLD COAST

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Sept 2022
Stayed on the 18th floor in a "TERRACE SUITE" at around $900.00 per night on average and was disappointed to say the least. The standard of the room and the cleaning was very average, felt tired and dirty. Given the amount of money they charge per night one can rightly expect much better not just a nice view. On a positive point the location was good and whilst we had a vehicle we found walking to the beach and shops easy. Conclusion, i could not recommended this property based on value for money.
Date of stay: September 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$190
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$190
0.2 km from The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$273
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$273
0.2 km from The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$445
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Free parking
Pool
BA bedroom
AU$251
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.0 km from The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Free Wifi
AU$328
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Free parking
Pool
AU$229
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$140
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
0.2 km from The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$186
  • Priceline
    AU$202
0.1 km from The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Pool
Guest room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$333
  • Algotels
0.3 km from The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
  • Sofitel
    AU$273
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$257
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Broadbeach
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveller rating
176
119
50
32
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
176
119
50
32
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star club terrace suite breakfast included twin room executive lounge turn down service rooms are nice gold coast bed and pillows restaurants and bars late checkout pacific fair school holidays great place to stay fantastic stay casino concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 416 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2022

We have stayed here many times before. And the last couple of times has been the cheapest accommodation in the area.
Rooms are always lovely, service is good and food hot and prompt.

Highly recommend.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank melissamK7554LV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2022 via mobile

I’ve staid at Grand Hotel at Star for a couple of days for a conference. I was unimpressed that the room service is not provided unless you indicate so. I was out all day and came back to unclean room. The breakfast was very basic for $45 and they get you pay for coffee on top of it. Everywhere else coffee is included. There is a coffee machine but it’s hidden in the corner and no one tells you that. However, barista stand is right after you walk into the restaurant. So you pay $5.20 for a coffee.
There is no one to take your bags to the room when you arrive either. They just tell you to take your bags yourself. And this is for $500 per night? I would never stay in that hotel ever again. It’s worst than 3 stars and all about cutting the costs and charging you more.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank F6266ULnataliac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2022

was apprehensive after reading some bad reviews i needn't have worried arrived at midday was promptly and efficiently checked in by Tina and was in my room by 12.30pm the room was clean and tidy we requested a morning service which was carried out before lunch efficiently every day.

Room tip: high floor executive room away from lift and you can't go wrong
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 August 2022

Had a corner balcony room. It was "nice" and quiet and reasonably clean.....but felt very small....tiny bathroom and bedroom area....no tub, no slippers, no robe. Ceilings were very low. No clock in room. Color scheme was cream and drab imo, all a bit worn and dated. Only 1 chair at the table in the room. Probably would have given it a 3 or 4 star, but when I went to get into bed and was checking out the pillows, I saw there was blood smeared on one of the pillows, and from then on, I just felt yucky in the room. Wasn't cheap, and not worth the money, not even close imo. Will stay somewhere else next time.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank phoensam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2022

Thought we'd try a 5 star experience for the first time to see if they're worth it. The advertisement for the King Delux Suit looked inviting with a great view so I booked at The Star Grand for my partners 60th birthday. The view from our room 502 was disappointing. A low level room with no view and thin walls located next to the emergancy fire exit. We could hear people going up and down the stairs so this wasn't ideal and noisy. There were some nice touches to the room with an electric window shade that opened upon entry to the room and sensor lights in the bathroom and bedside tables that come on when you get up in the night. We found the bed not very comfortable - too firm - the sheets were plasticy feeling that crackled and made us hot. There was an issue in the bathroom where the plug in the bath was stuck. When I had a shower we couldn't pop the plug to drain the water so we had to leave the bath half full of water. We were disappointed with the mini-bar - there was none and no bottled water in the room. Our expectations of a 5 star hotel were NOT met with the room allocated.

The food at the Garden Kitchen & Bar we felt was overpriced.for what we got - crumbed pork cutlet on a wedge of cabbage for $40 was excessive, Drinks were expensive too. We did however enjoy the food at Food Quater which was tasty - calamari, chips and salad plus garlic bread were generous portions for a great price.

Wish I had read the reviews before booking at The Star Grand. It's not so much 'Grand' but mediocure and NOT worth the money. We'll stick to our 4 and 3 1/2 star hotels on the Gold Coast in future. We wouldn't stay here again nor recommend this venue to family and friends..

Room tip: Book an alternative hotel for a better room. Ours was disappointing.
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RochelleHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews