We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Peter G
Lane Cove, Australia

Wasn’t a 5 star experience

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Sept 2023via mobile
Quite surprised so see a Sofitel become so outdated. Everything works but the bathrooms need renovating and the beds and TVs desperately need replacing.

This is listed as 5 star but the breakfast was crowded and pretty chaotic and the rooms are not serviced till around 2-3 pm which is ridiculous. Even after servicing there were bits of paper left on the floor. Definitely needs an overhaul
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$160
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$445
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$345
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Star Grand Hotel - Gold Coast
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$286
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Free Wifi
Free parking
BA bedroom
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$284
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Free Wifi
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$2,331
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Restaurant
Room service
AU$179
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$149
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Broadbeach
Reviews (3,356)
Filter reviews
3,356 results
Traveller rating
1,655
1,089
382
134
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,655
1,089
382
134
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet breakfast mini bar an ocean view room gold coast an upgrade shopping centre surfers paradise car parking across the road pacific fair accor bonjour casino views concierge conference luxury
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 3,356 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2023 via mobile

This is more like a 4 star hotel. The rooms are very tired and bathrooms quite old. The noise at night is very loud with boy racers prevalent in the area. The best part of our stay was the breakfast buffet each morning. It also is in good location being close to beach and nice restaurants and trams.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bradie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2023 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip to attend a conference at the Gold Coast Convention Centre. The location was excellent. The hotel is just across the road from the convention centre, making a very easy walk in the morning. Lots of bars and restaurants surrounding the hotel, and also a Woolworths supermarket just around the corner. Just one block from the beach.
Rooms were very large and well appointed, and everything in the room worked as it was supposed to. I had the room service which arrived, hot, tasty and very quick by normal hotel standards. I also had the breakfast buffet on the day I checked out which although little on the pricey side was very good with lots of options.

Bed was super comfortable.
Check in and check out was efficient and straight forward

Service in the hotel was also very good.

Cons.
the hotel is starting to look just slightly dated but is still well appointed, clean and well-maintained.

Weirdly you had to pay for Wi-Fi. Which makes this hotel along with long haul international flights about the only places on the planet where you still have to pay for Wi-Fi. However, if you are a member of their rewards program you get Wi-Fi and some drink vouchers for free. You can sign up for the program free of charge on checkin so it’s not really an issue.

Great hotel, fantastic location would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank IanM2643
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2023

The hotel is fantastic and in a great position. The staff are very nice. It has 2 great pools, 1 heated and hot spa. It has a great eating place. The bar is beautiful and modern. The rooms are very nice and spacious.

Date of stay: September 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank CathyCat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2023

This hotel puts you in the middle of the Broadbeach food and bar scene, so the location was perfect for us. Just a short pleasant walk to the beach; grab a coffee on the way as you go for your morning beach walk. The rooms were a good size with super comfy beds, a large bathroom and a small furnished balcony looking to the ocean.

My only negative was the room service club sandwich was disappointing. The Club is my go-to on a hotel room service menu, but this was unlike what I thought is usually pretty consistently a good choice, with a strange untoasted seeded bun.

While this hotel suggests it is 5-star, I think the age and blandness of the lobby/shared areas hold it back from being considered a special hotel. However, we had a lovely weekend here due to the location, lovely room and comfy beds.

Room tip: Parking is an additional $25 per day which I hadn't expected.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2023

Bonjour Kerry,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach.

It is always a pleasure to receive constructive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us , however it's disappointing to read about your experience at our Room service. At Sofitel Hotels & Resorts, we strive and set out to provide a superior service experience for every guest but we have indeed fallen short of our usual high standards in this area this instance. Please rest assured that your feedback has been passed on to our Management team.

We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to the Gold Coast and would love to showcase our hospitality once again.

Merci,
Joel Tambis
Front Office Manager
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2023

Second, to compound that disastrous first night the air-conditioning in the room [which we were told was among the best in the hotel by the reception!] was blowing COLD AIR the whole night! This was in the middle of winter. I was really surprised that neither of us did not end up frozen solid from this ABSOLUTE FAILURE to ensure that the room is habitable! We could only get the engineer in the NEXT DAY again to rectify the problem, one which should NOT have surfaced in the first case if management had maintained REGULAR CHECKS on the habitability of each room! Hey, we are talking about a 5 star hotel here!
You can bet your bottom dollar that after this review someone in management will reply with mollifying comments that they will do better the next time you turn up!

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wujizhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2023

Bonjour Wujizhan,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Joel Tambis
Front Office Manager
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews