We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Richard Magalad
Melbourne, Australia

Alternate Choice to Star Casino Hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
PROS
- This hotel share the same complex as the casino
- Very modern and everything new
- Check-in and check-out is quick
- much better price compared to the casino hotel

CON
- My room was not a square shape, so it felt small.
- no desk to work on a laptop
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zac Graham, Guest Services / Front Office at Dorsett Gold Coast, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good Morning 951ricm,

Thank you so much for your 5/5 review! We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and that the pros certainly seemed to have outweighed the cons; we absolutely love being both part of The Star Gold Coast entertainment precinct, whilst also still maintaining our separation as a more modern, contemporary accommodation offering!

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future, next time you are looking for a stay in the area. Until then, 951ricm, please stay vibrant!

Warmest Regards,
Zac and the Dorsett Gold Coast Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$273
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$190
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Pool
The Star Grand Hotel - Gold Coast
AU$286
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$443
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free parking
Pool
Guest room
AU$355
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
AU$273
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$260
  • Sofitel
0.4 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Pool
Beachfront
BA bedroom
AU$251
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$259
0.0 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
AU$229
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$229
0.7 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$141
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$309
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Broadbeach
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
72
23
36
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
72
23
36
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge standard king room star casino separate bookings hanging space direct lift access hotel experience gold coast great pillows balcony overlooking the pool an iron fabulous hotel hotel guests highly recommend staying here corner room easy walk business trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2024 via mobile

Attached to the Star Casino, this hotel is located in an area not quite finished yet. Check in was a shambles with signs up asking for patience as systems were not working. After a long wait, service was lacking (seemed staff were as frustrated as we were rather than showing empathy!) . However room was very well appointed with views over pool and Broadbeach skyline. Pool area a highlight

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank goodfoodau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zac Graham, Guest Services / Front Office at Dorsett Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2024

Good Afternoon goodfoodau,

Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with us here at the Dorsett Gold Coast! We do sincerely apologise for the frustration caused by technical issues upon your arrival, and that we did not handle this as empathetically as we could have. Notwithstanding, it was lovely to see that overall this did not detract too negatively from your stay, and that you were still able to enjoy your beautiful hotel room, and the amazing Isoletto Pool Club on Level #6 - an absolute must for anybody staying with us!

We do hope to see you back again in the near future, goodfoodau, for a seamless stay from start to finish. Until that time, please stay vibrant!

Warmest Regards,
Zac and the Dorsett Gold Coast Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2024

Stayed at Dorsett Gold Coast for an AFL footy game and it was great! Shuttle bus was right across the road which made it easy to get to People First Stadium. Walked across the road and was easy public transport. Great room and easy parking. Good

Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bianca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zac Graham, Guest Services / Front Office at Dorsett Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2024

Good Afternoon biancae766,

Thank you very much for your amazing review! We are so thrilled that you had such a lovely stay with us, and that you found the Dorsett Gold Coast to be such a convenient spot for an overnight stay, when attending an event at People First Stadium; our close proximity to the Broadbeach transit station is certainly a highlight!

We hope to see you back again soon, next time your team are playing on the Gold Coast!

Until then, please stay safe and take care.

Warmest Regards,
Zac and the Dorsett Gold Coast Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2024 via mobile

It’s a fantastic hotel. Closer to public transport. Internal access to Casino, Gold Coast Star Theatre. Very clean rooms. Beautiful hotel. Nice views. Nice, huge pool. Comfy beds & pillows. Great coffee in the coffee shop. Reasonable rates. Value for money. Really friendly, helpful staff.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank NorthStar07718343350
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zac Graham, Guest Services / Front Office at Dorsett Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2024

Good Afternoon NorthStar07718343350,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We are so thrilled that you enjoyed so many aspects of your recent stay, particularly our amazing location as part of The Star Gold Coast entertainment precinct, our fantastic quality coffee in the Jin Bar & Cafe, and our really friendly, helpful staff.

We hope to see you back again soon, NorthStar07718343350, but until then, please stay vibrant!

Warmest Regards,
Zac and the Dorsett Gold Coast Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2024 via mobile

Loved this hotel and vibe. The little extras like water on arrival and beautiful scent misting out from the aircon added to the experience. Rooms are great and pool lovely and relaxing. The more mature and experienced lady on reception that checked us in was amazing. Only negative was the multiple chasers to exit our room and zero tolerance for going over which seemed unnecessary especially given the long wait at check out. An extra 15 minutes when our room key stopped working and we had to head to reception in our wet pool clothes and wait for assistance shouldn’t be too much to ask in my opinion. Everything else was wonderful and I’d recommend!

Room tip: Reception wait times can be long but location and accessibility is good
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hannah Kennish, Other at Dorsett Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Dear Jodie H,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're thrilled to hear that you loved your stay at our hotel and enjoyed the overall vibe. We're delighted that you appreciated the little extras like water on arrival and the beautiful scent misting from the air conditioning.

It's fantastic to know that you found the rooms great and the pool relaxing. We're especially pleased to hear about the positive interaction with our reception team member.

However, we apologize for any inconvenience caused by the multiple card access issues and the strict check-out policy. Your feedback regarding these matters is important to us, and we will review our procedures to ensure a smoother experience for our guests.

Thank you for recommending us, and we hope to welcome you back for another wonderful stay in the future.

Warm regards,

Hannah Kennish
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2024

After a flight from Sydney and arriving around 3pm Sunday, we joined a queue for check-in, one that took 45min... after finally getting to the desk, the staff member who was there wandered off never to be seen again, no other staff called us over and continued to serve people in the queue behind us while we waited for someone, anyone, to help check us in.

After some time we finally got some help, was some excuses that made very little sense to anyone after this much time. Apparently their system was down and were processing manually, but why someone could not have communicated this to us and the many others waiting is a mystery, would have perhaps eased some tension, better still, offer those waiting a voucher for something in exchange for coming back in later.

Room was nice enough, but the mirror in the bathroom was pretty filthy and makes you nervous other, less obvious things are perhaps not clean either. We were offered a VIP clean or something the following day, only to find the mirror clean, but bin not emptied (was very full).

The only saving grace was the service in the club lounge, particularly the English lady who was there most days we were there who was extremely attentive. Food for breakfast and happy hour was also quite good.

Check out also left alot to be desired but I have already spent too much time writing this review and my thumb is tired.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hannah Kennish, Other at Dorsett Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Dear 534saulp,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're deeply sorry for the challenges you faced during check-in. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the long wait and lack of communication regarding the system issue.

We're glad to hear that you found some aspects of your stay enjoyable, particularly the service in the club lounge and the quality of the breakfast and happy hour offerings. However, we apologize for the inconsistencies in the room cleanliness and the check-out experience.

Rest assured, we will address the issues you've raised with our team to ensure that necessary improvements are made. Your satisfaction is our top priority, and we appreciate your patience and understanding.

If there's anything further we can assist you with during your stay, please don't hesitate to reach out to us.

Warm regards,

Hannah Kennish
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews