We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
lisa
Bucasia, Australia

Parking nightmare!

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Apr 2024via mobile
One of the reasons I booked here was for the in and out parking privileges. This doesn’t work on cars with rego plates other than QLD. I had to attend reception each time I wanted to leave to have the ticket validated. Book elsewhere if driving. Management aren’t interested in addressing the issue, however, they respond readily to review posts. Hence, this post. There are road closures and limited car parking due to construction on the site.
Rooms are nice but overall, it isn’t worth the hassle of staying here unless you’ll use the casino.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Avoid having a car.
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zac Graham, Guest Services / Front Office at Dorsett Gold Coast, responded to this review
Responded 27 Apr 2024
Good Afternoon Wanderer04936474854,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at the Dorsett Gold Coast - we appreciate any and all guest feedback, and treat all guest feedback seriously, however we also understand that some things are out of our control. One of those things is the carpark, which is operated by The Star Gold Coast. We must also stress that carparking is not complimentary here at the Dorsett Gold Coast, and this is not something that we advertise.

We appreciate that there are construction works currently happening on the island, as part of the exciting upgrades here, and do regret that the carparking and these works had such a negative impact on your overall stay.

We do feel that alternative accommodation would likely be the best option next time you are on the coast, as these works will be continuing for the foreseeable future.

Warmest Regards,
Zac and the Dorsett Gold Coast Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$314
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$314
  • Hotels.com
    AU$314
  • Priceline
    AU$314
0.2 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$190
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$190
  • Hotels.com
    AU$190
  • Priceline
    AU$190
0.2 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Pool
The Star Grand Hotel - Gold Coast
AU$278
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$278
  • Official Hotel
    AU$250
  • Hotels.com
    AU$278
0.1 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$337
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$376
  • Vio.com
    AU$301
  • ZenHotels.com
0.5 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free parking
Pool
Guest room
AU$435
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$435
  • Hotels.com
    AU$435
  • Priceline
    AU$435
0.3 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
AU$273
  • Booking.com
    AU$273
  • Algotels
    AU$252
  • Expedia.com
    AU$273
0.4 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Pool
Beachfront
AU$199
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$229
  • Priceline
    AU$206
  • Hotels.com
    AU$229
0.7 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$379
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$371
  • Hotels.com
    AU$379
  • Vio.com
    AU$379
0.4 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free parking
Pool
The Outdoor Pool and Spa at the Browns at Broadbeach
AU$174
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$180
  • Agoda.com
    AU$159
0.7 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$159
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$159
  • Vio.com
    AU$145
  • Expedia.com
    AU$155
0.2 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Broadbeach
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
72
23
36
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
72
23
36
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge standard king room star casino separate bookings hanging space direct lift access hotel experience gold coast great pillows balcony overlooking the pool an iron fabulous hotel hotel guests highly recommend staying here corner room easy walk business trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2024 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel packed with value. The executive lounge is so worth the extra upgrade offering lovely canapés and wine at sunset and mimosas with smoked salmon breakfast in the morning. Pool is stunning and cocktails also good value. Staff are lovely and gave us an early check in, with a bottle of wine and birthday card for my hubby’s 50th birthday delivered to our room! Will request a room with view over the pool next time to make the experience even better. Dorsett is our number one sneaky local getaway from now on, can’t wait to go back!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Paradise20819410393
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zac Graham, Guest Services / Front Office at Dorsett Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2024

Good Morning Paradise20819410393,

Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are so thrilled that you loved your recent stay with us, and that you found the Executive Lounge on Level #19 to be such a valuable addition to your stay; we are certainly proud of this space and the team that operate it.

We are so happy that we were able to play a small part in your husband's 50th birthday celebrations, and that by delivering our exceptional service and value, we have earned another loyal guest. Thank you, Paradise20819410393 - we can't wait to welcome you back!

Until then, stay vibrant.

Warmest Regards,
Zac and the Dorsett Gold Coast Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2024

Regular visitor to Broadbeach and decided to give the Dorsett a try because of the great location. The reception lady I encountered was friendly and polite but I got a shock when she said they wanted a $200 bond charge on my credit card. Other places I stay at take a $1 charge. The Hotel has a lot of positives, clean, fresh, great pool and bar, executive lounge and just a nice feel to the place. However, there are some negatives as well. The rooms are small and there is coffee making facilities but not much else. There is a frig the size of a postage stamp, no wardrobe or draws, no wine or beer glasses, no cutlery, no chairs. (a mini lounge only). The bathroom on the other hand is quite spacious and well equipped.
Parking is really good "if you know how ! ". Therefore, if you are arriving in your vehicle you need to go to the rear of The Star complex to the old original entrance and talk to one of the porters who will give you directions to park for Dorsett visitors. You go in the main Casino carpark (yellow section) and proceed to Tower 1 and up to level 3m (purple section). This gives you easy access to the Dorsett lifts.
Overall a nice place to stay if you are travelling light and your visit is a short one.

Room tip: For parking do your research before you arrive because parking is good "if you know how".
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 681mikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zac Graham, Guest Services / Front Office at Dorsett Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Good Afternoon 681mikeb,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Dorsett Gold Coast. We're delighted to hear that our convenient location and friendly Reception team made a positive impression on you.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the $200.00 pre-authorisation, and we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. This is a standard amount for all guests here at the Dorsett Gold Coast.

It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our clean facilities, refreshing Isoletto Pool Club on Level #6, and our Executive Lounge on Level #19. We take pride in providing a comfortable environment for our guests to relax and unwind, and it is fantastic to see this recognised.

Your comments about the room amenities are duly noted, and we will explore opportunities to enhance our offerings in this regard. We want to ensure that all aspects of your stay meet or exceed your expectations.

Thank you for sharing your insights on parking. We understand that navigating a new area can be challenging, and we will work to improve our communication to ensure a smoother experience for our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay. Please feel free to reach out if there's anything further we can assist you with.

Warmest Regards,
Zac and the Dorsett Gold Coast Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2024

SUCH a great hotel for the price. The pool is great. The executive lounge was awesome - free snacks and drinks. Great service. Very modern - can cast your device. Great location. Would recommend and definitely go again (although prices skyrocket on weekends, I noticed).

Room tip: $20 to park but can come and go out of car park. Try and get onto level 19 - where the executive lounge is.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank melb_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zac Graham, Guest Services / Front Office at Dorsett Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2024

Good Morning melb_28,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Dorsett Gold Coast, especially the beautiful Isoletto Pool Club on Level #6, and the Executive Lounge on Level #19.

We do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future for another fantastic stay. Until then, stay vibrant!

Warmest Regards,
Zac and the Dorsett Gold Coast Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2024 via mobile

Travelled for work and chose to stay here for the night with a family member after work. Last minute booking allowed us to upgrade to a corner suite with great views and access to the exec lounge. Pool looked great but we didn’t have time to enjoy. Would stay again with a good deal.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Travelapple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zac Graham, Guest Services / Front Office at Dorsett Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Good Morning Travelapple1,

Thank you so much for your fantastic 5/5 review of your recent stay with us here at the Dorsett Gold Coast! We are so glad that you enjoyed your last minute overnight stay with your family member, and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for a longer, leisurely stay with us.

Until then, please stay safe and take care!

Warmest Regards,
Zac and the Dorsett Gold Coast Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2024 via mobile

Would very highly recommend the Dorsett to anyone looking to go to the Gold Coast, couldn’t be happier with the stay. We had a balcony room which is definitely worth the upgrade as the rooms are bigger. Very friendly check in staff, we got to the hotel early room was not ready but staff very apologetic and gave us drink vouchers. This was a very nice touch considering we were the ones early and they were also accommodating us being in a higher room with a better view due to the length of our stay.

Could not fault the room, spacious and well equiped enough for a 8 night stay. Beautifully appointed, beachy Luxe I would describe them as and love the gold accents. Bathroom very nice and spacious too. The tea and milk always replenished every day which was fabulous as a lot of hotels don’t do this and milk is a proper carton not little mini pods which I loved. Amenities and toiletries nice but you need to ask for shaving and dental kits. Very fast service though in bringing them up, within minutes! Servicing was good too, however I would note I think they rotate when they do the rooms as every second day it would be done in the afternoon rather than the morning. The view was another huge plus looking all down Broadbeach and then up to Surfers skyline.

Can’t fault the location either, so close to walk to the beach and shops, next to Pacific Fair and obviously at the Casino which is nice. Broadbeach is a fabulous spot, we prefer it over Surfers as it feels less touristy, quieter and much cleaner. Better restaurants as well.

As it’s part of the Star you can also use their pool as well which is great as the pool in the Dorset tower can get busy plus doesn’t have a heated hot tub, we we utilised the Star’s ones. However in saying that the pool in the Dorsett tower is stunning and definitely a huge highlight especially to get drinks by in the afternoon.

Another plus was the Jin cafe and bar next to the lobby, went nearly every morning for coffee, they made excellent ones and that’s rare for me to find outside of Melbourne…!

Overall, a fabulous hotel which I couldn’t recommend more highly, I’ve already told all my friends and family this is the place to stay. Cannot wait to come back here, would give more than 5 stars if I could. Well done Dorsett 😊

Room tip: Utilise the Star pool if the one at the Dorsett gets too crowded. Broadbeach/Beach facing rooms have a better view so ask for one!
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zac Graham, Guest Services / Front Office at Dorsett Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2024

Good Afternoon Oliver,

Thank you very much for your amazing, detailed 5/5 review (6/5 if you could!) of your recent stay with us here at the Dorsett Gold Coast! Wow, we are so incredibly thankful for your sharing not only with us, but with other potential guests. Reading about so many positive aspects - accommodating and professional Reception staff, your beautifully appointed room, our amazing location, the convenience as part of The Star Gold Coast precinct, and the fabulous coffee in Jin Bar & Cafe - was absolutely the highlight of my day, and may others here at the hotel.

We hope to see you back in the near future, and can't wait to deliver on many more exceptional experiences in the future.

Until then, Oliver, stay vibrant!

Warmest Regards,
Zac and the Dorsett Gold Coast Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews