We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Pank
Sydney, Australia

The Dorsett at Star Casino Gold Coast - excellent.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Feb 2024via mobile
We took the opportunity to have night on the Gold Coast to meet up with some friends who were holidaying on the coast. We stayed in a room the gave us access to the club lounge in the evening and also for breakfast. The room was excellent, great view and comfy bed.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zac Graham, Guest Services / Front Office at Dorsett Gold Coast, responded to this review
Responded 3 Feb 2024
Good Afternoon Pank7100,

Thank you so much for your perfect 5/5 review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you had an amazing catch up with your friends. Thank you for highlighting how special our Executive Lounge on Level #19 is, this is greatly appreciated - this is a space that we are really proud of, and it is always amazing to see it being recognised by our valued guests.

We hope to see you back again really soon, Pank7100.

Until then, stay vibrant!

Warmest Regards,
Zac and the Dorsett Gold Coast Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$160
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$160
  • Expedia.com
    AU$160
  • Hotels.com
    AU$160
0.2 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Pool
The Star Grand Hotel - Gold Coast
AU$286
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$260
  • Expedia.com
    AU$286
  • Hotels.com
    AU$286
0.1 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$315
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$315
  • Hotels.com
    AU$315
  • travelup.com
    AU$313
0.2 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$384
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$335
  • Agoda.com
    AU$313
  • Vio.com
    AU$340
0.5 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free parking
Pool
BA bedroom
AU$259
  • Booking.com
    AU$279
  • Agoda.com
    AU$213
  • Expedia.com
    AU$283
0.0 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Guest room
AU$309
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$309
  • Algotels
    AU$224
  • Sofitel
    AU$309
0.4 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Pool
Beachfront
Exterior
AU$355
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$355
  • Vio.com
    AU$331
  • Priceline
    AU$355
0.3 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Pool at the Talisman Apartments
AU$442
  • Priceline
    AU$504
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$409
  • Expedia.com
    AU$484
0.8 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Outdoor Pool and Spa at the Browns at Broadbeach
AU$140
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$140
  • Agoda.com
    AU$140
0.7 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$149
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$149
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$133
  • Expedia.com
    AU$149
0.2 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Broadbeach
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
71
22
36
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
71
22
36
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge standard king room star casino separate bookings hanging space direct lift access hotel experience gold coast great pillows balcony overlooking the pool an iron fabulous hotel hotel guests highly recommend staying here corner room easy walk business trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2024

Overall, my family and I enjoyed our experience at this hotel but I would like to point out one main thing. A number of hotel staff are rude, especially the front desk staff called Emma and a waitstaff at the Harvest Buffet called Nancy. If these two staff members were friendlier and more helpful it would've greatly improve our experience.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Culture68195857642
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christian Wachter, General Manager at Dorsett Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2024

Good Evening Culture68195857642,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience here at the Dorsett Gold Coast. We are glad to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and apologise for the interactions you had with several of the team. We will be following up with the team members, to ensure that we are all delivering an exceptional level of customer service, as is synonymous with the Dorsett brand.

We hope to see you back at the hotel again in the near future, to deliver a higher calibre of stay.

Warmest Regards,
Christian and the Dorsett Gold Coast Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

Fantastic enjoyable experience.
Room was delightful on 15 th floor with amazing views for a standard room. Clean large and very comfortable.
Serviced daily.
Pool is sensational. Large also large spa area. Infinity wall. Lounges and nearby bar and food. Pool staff very friendly.

Only grumble would be the process for room service ordering the QR code was not the best system. But service was swift and friendly. I did expect a few
More fresh salad and fruit options and a smoothie option would be nice too.

Tip. Nearby Surf club did great smoothies

All up a great holiday place with the tram nearby and a short walk to the beach. .

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Katiepri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christian Wachter, General Manager at Dorsett Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2024

Good Evening Katiepri,

Thank you so much for your amazing review of your recent stay with us here at the Dorsett Gold Coast! We are so happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your fantastic enjoyable experience with us, and have shared your constructive feedback regarding the Star @ Home room service ordering system with our colleagues over at The Star Gold Coast, for them to be mindful of.

We hope to see you back at the hotel again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Christian and the Dorsett Gold Coast Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2024 via mobile

Check in is a joyless, no eye contact, unwelcoming affair.
The room and the view are sensational. Absolutely no problem with the building. It is modern, clean and comfortable.
The hot water pipes whistle and clunk loudly when your neighbours are showering. The noise woke us on a number of occasions.
The first thing I noticed in the pool are was rubbish and empty water bottles thrown into the garden beds.
The pool water was murky and just in our area there was two floating band aids and visible clumps of hair.
At 1135 on check out day a staff member knocked on the door and before I could respond in a reasonable time he came into the room complaining that we had an 11 o’clock check out. As it turned out we had indicated this on check in and assumed it was paid an the credit card on file, which I told the staff.
Without an apology he withdrew visibly frustrated with us.
On check out the “ hurry up and leave “ vibe continued and when I raised my concerns about staff members entering the room without a reasonable moment for us to be appropriately attired ( we were dressed but that’s beside the issue) there was no response.
For the money it was very disappointing and I would not recommend this hotel.
The staff seem totally disconnected to your experience.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BuenenNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christian Wachter, General Manager at Dorsett Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2024

Good Evening BuenenNC,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at the Dorsett Gold Coast! We really appreciate you taking the time to provide, and loved reading that you enjoyed your room and the views afforded by our location on Broadbeach Island.

We do sincerely apologise for the service lapses that you have mentioned, particularly when it came to your interactions with the Front Office department. Rest assured, we take this kind of feedback seriously, and will be following up with the team members responsible, to ensure that we are delivering on a more exceptional experience moving forward.

Warmest Regards,
Christian and the Dorsett Gold Coast Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2024

This visits experience was not great… firstly the staff at the front was not welcoming
Then room was not cleaned i call cleaning team but nothing done.. floor was not mopped fridge was dirty curtain were dusty spider webs around bef dide tables was not cleaned too paying 1700 dollars for a panaromic room and disaster servic…. Day by day prices are going up here and service is going down…. We wont be coming here again

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank richa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christian Wachter, General Manager at Dorsett Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2024

Good Evening richag2024,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience, as well as that shared on Google. We do apologise for the lapses that you experienced, however would like to reassure you that this is absolutely anomalous and not the usual high standards as reflected by our much higher TripAdvisor and Google review ratings.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future to prove this to you.

Warmest Regards,
Christian and the Dorsett Gold Coast Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2023 via mobile

Now this is a hotel!

The pool is one of the best on the whole Gold Coast. Amazing views, loads of lounges by the pool yet be warned… you need to get down there at 8am to get a spot!

The best part was the food and drink though. Most pool bars charge a small fortune for drinks and food, yet you can get a bottle of Sav for $45. A Caesar salad for $16, kids meals which were a 10/10 for $14. Such great value.

The only cons are the rooms are very small, you need to book 2 x double bed rooms for 2 adults and 2 children as they only allow 3 persons per room no matter how old your little ones are. This made the room cost very expensive but the pool was worth it.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank alliseaisblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews