We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Buenen.nc
Gold Coast, Australia

Weary verging on rude staff. Ball well and truly dropped at this hotel.

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Jan 2024via mobile
Check in is a joyless, no eye contact, unwelcoming affair.
The room and the view are sensational. Absolutely no problem with the building. It is modern, clean and comfortable.
The hot water pipes whistle and clunk loudly when your neighbours are showering. The noise woke us on a number of occasions.
The first thing I noticed in the pool are was rubbish and empty water bottles thrown into the garden beds.
The pool water was murky and just in our area there was two floating band aids and visible clumps of hair.
At 1135 on check out day a staff member knocked on the door and before I could respond in a reasonable time he came into the room complaining that we had an 11 o’clock check out. As it turned out we had indicated this on check in and assumed it was paid an the credit card on file, which I told the staff.
Without an apology he withdrew visibly frustrated with us.
On check out the “ hurry up and leave “ vibe continued and when I raised my concerns about staff members entering the room without a reasonable moment for us to be appropriately attired ( we were dressed but that’s beside the issue) there was no response.
For the money it was very disappointing and I would not recommend this hotel.
The staff seem totally disconnected to your experience.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christian Wachter, General Manager at Dorsett Gold Coast, responded to this review
Responded 31 Jan 2024
Good Evening BuenenNC,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at the Dorsett Gold Coast! We really appreciate you taking the time to provide, and loved reading that you enjoyed your room and the views afforded by our location on Broadbeach Island.

We do sincerely apologise for the service lapses that you have mentioned, particularly when it came to your interactions with the Front Office department. Rest assured, we take this kind of feedback seriously, and will be following up with the team members responsible, to ensure that we are delivering on a more exceptional experience moving forward.

Warmest Regards,
Christian and the Dorsett Gold Coast Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$273
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$190
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$445
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free parking
Pool
Guest room
AU$355
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
BA bedroom
AU$251
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$259
0.0 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
AU$328
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free parking
Pool
AU$230
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$141
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free parking
Pool
The Star Grand Hotel - Gold Coast
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
    AU$257
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
  • Sofitel
    AU$273
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$228
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Broadbeach
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
72
23
36
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
72
23
36
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge standard king room star casino separate bookings hanging space direct lift access hotel experience gold coast great pillows balcony overlooking the pool an iron fabulous hotel hotel guests highly recommend staying here corner room easy walk business trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2024

This visits experience was not great… firstly the staff at the front was not welcoming
Then room was not cleaned i call cleaning team but nothing done.. floor was not mopped fridge was dirty curtain were dusty spider webs around bef dide tables was not cleaned too paying 1700 dollars for a panaromic room and disaster servic…. Day by day prices are going up here and service is going down…. We wont be coming here again

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank richa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christian Wachter, General Manager at Dorsett Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2024

Good Evening richag2024,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience, as well as that shared on Google. We do apologise for the lapses that you experienced, however would like to reassure you that this is absolutely anomalous and not the usual high standards as reflected by our much higher TripAdvisor and Google review ratings.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future to prove this to you.

Warmest Regards,
Christian and the Dorsett Gold Coast Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2023 via mobile

Now this is a hotel!

The pool is one of the best on the whole Gold Coast. Amazing views, loads of lounges by the pool yet be warned… you need to get down there at 8am to get a spot!

The best part was the food and drink though. Most pool bars charge a small fortune for drinks and food, yet you can get a bottle of Sav for $45. A Caesar salad for $16, kids meals which were a 10/10 for $14. Such great value.

The only cons are the rooms are very small, you need to book 2 x double bed rooms for 2 adults and 2 children as they only allow 3 persons per room no matter how old your little ones are. This made the room cost very expensive but the pool was worth it.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank alliseaisblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2023

Worst hotel we have ever stayed in
If your looking for 5 stars like Marina Bay Sands or even like the hotel next door the star than this not the hotel for you.
This at best is a 2 star hotel and you won’t be disappointed if you set expectations to a maximum of 2 stars
It starts with the no valet parking, even worse no parking at the hotel, you get handed a brochure that explains that you are to drive back onto the highway and into the hotel next door and we won’t guarantee that there is space for you, but wait there is more walk back through the hotel next door to get back to your lift to then proceed with starting your stay.
On check in they will charge you $200 as bond, you will find out later this con. Also worth checking that they only charge once the room charge as we found out days later we had been charged twice $1761.
On arrival to your room you will find out
there is no mini bar not even bottled water, the room service is a app, yes that’s right app heaven for bid you can call someone to order some food. And you guessed it the app dosnt work as we experienced after waiting an hour for no food to arrive.
As we refreshed in the bath room you will experience a lack of services , like soap and the soap dispensers on the wrong side, no where to hang a towel etc.
We decided to open the balcony only to welcomed by the guest next door smoking!
Yes in 2023 and we are welcomed with cancer death sticks. We complained and nothing changed, even on our last day we were welcomed with the lovely odour of nicotine.
We ventured to the pool, over crowded, they allow all guest from the star to also use the pool. So if you thought you could have a relaxing drink by the pool you where mistaken. FYI there is no drink service pool side that’s only for 5 star hotels, not 2 stars like this one.
Wait there is more, you wake up for breakfast and that’s right no service in this hotel, you need to go next door to the star like a good peasant and be grateful.
Check out you’re told that the bond is bond and you now have to pay again for any other charges including that luxury car parking service.
The final nail in the coffin is finding out we were charged twice the room fee and reception answer o sorry it may take up to 10 days for us to fix that and return the money.
Never again, maybe the staff actually need to visit a 5 star hotel as what you are offering is a joke

Room tip: Worst hotel we have ever stayed in If your looking for 5 stars like Marina Bay Sands this isn’t it
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2023 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, lovely vibes.
Well priced for what it is.
Only feedback is that they told me there is a sauna guests can use at the azure fitness centre - I went there and they said I couldn’t use the sauna unless I purchased a very expensive spa package (which I didn’t want) and was turned away despite the entire spa being empty.
Sauna should be located either at the pool or inside the gym - not in a private spa facility where guests can’t use it.
Also there are no hot tubs at the Dorsett pool which there should be - there is only hot
Tubs at the star pool but the pool there in general isn’t as nice.
If the hotel had a sauna and hot tub available it would have been 5 stars :)

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nicolekizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2023

Really great and the location was fantastic.
The only criticism was the bar was not open around the pool.The guests had to use a QR code to order like uber eats ,and pay with card.
The menu was basic,and inside was a full bar closed.
But really great luxurious place to stay.

Room tip: The pool was busy being holidays but really clean .
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 5868hotmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews