We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
alliseaisblue
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

The place to be this Summer.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Dec 2023via mobile
Now this is a hotel!

The pool is one of the best on the whole Gold Coast. Amazing views, loads of lounges by the pool yet be warned… you need to get down there at 8am to get a spot!

The best part was the food and drink though. Most pool bars charge a small fortune for drinks and food, yet you can get a bottle of Sav for $45. A Caesar salad for $16, kids meals which were a 10/10 for $14. Such great value.

The only cons are the rooms are very small, you need to book 2 x double bed rooms for 2 adults and 2 children as they only allow 3 persons per room no matter how old your little ones are. This made the room cost very expensive but the pool was worth it.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$160
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$272
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$337
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$337
0.5 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free parking
Pool
Guest room
AU$434
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
BA bedroom
AU$283
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$260
  • Booking.com
0.0 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
The Pool at the Talisman Apartments
AU$495
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$495
0.8 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Star Grand Hotel - Gold Coast
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Official Hotel
    AU$257
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Sofitel
    AU$309
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Pool
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$292
  • Expedia.com
    AU$313
0.3 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$138
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Dorsett Gold Coast
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Broadbeach
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
73
23
36
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
73
23
36
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge standard king room star casino separate bookings hanging space direct lift access hotel experience gold coast great pillows balcony overlooking the pool an iron fabulous hotel hotel guests highly recommend staying here corner room easy walk business trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2023

Worst hotel we have ever stayed in
If your looking for 5 stars like Marina Bay Sands or even like the hotel next door the star than this not the hotel for you.
This at best is a 2 star hotel and you won’t be disappointed if you set expectations to a maximum of 2 stars
It starts with the no valet parking, even worse no parking at the hotel, you get handed a brochure that explains that you are to drive back onto the highway and into the hotel next door and we won’t guarantee that there is space for you, but wait there is more walk back through the hotel next door to get back to your lift to then proceed with starting your stay.
On check in they will charge you $200 as bond, you will find out later this con. Also worth checking that they only charge once the room charge as we found out days later we had been charged twice $1761.
On arrival to your room you will find out
there is no mini bar not even bottled water, the room service is a app, yes that’s right app heaven for bid you can call someone to order some food. And you guessed it the app dosnt work as we experienced after waiting an hour for no food to arrive.
As we refreshed in the bath room you will experience a lack of services , like soap and the soap dispensers on the wrong side, no where to hang a towel etc.
We decided to open the balcony only to welcomed by the guest next door smoking!
Yes in 2023 and we are welcomed with cancer death sticks. We complained and nothing changed, even on our last day we were welcomed with the lovely odour of nicotine.
We ventured to the pool, over crowded, they allow all guest from the star to also use the pool. So if you thought you could have a relaxing drink by the pool you where mistaken. FYI there is no drink service pool side that’s only for 5 star hotels, not 2 stars like this one.
Wait there is more, you wake up for breakfast and that’s right no service in this hotel, you need to go next door to the star like a good peasant and be grateful.
Check out you’re told that the bond is bond and you now have to pay again for any other charges including that luxury car parking service.
The final nail in the coffin is finding out we were charged twice the room fee and reception answer o sorry it may take up to 10 days for us to fix that and return the money.
Never again, maybe the staff actually need to visit a 5 star hotel as what you are offering is a joke

Room tip: Worst hotel we have ever stayed in If your looking for 5 stars like Marina Bay Sands this isn’t it
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2023 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, lovely vibes.
Well priced for what it is.
Only feedback is that they told me there is a sauna guests can use at the azure fitness centre - I went there and they said I couldn’t use the sauna unless I purchased a very expensive spa package (which I didn’t want) and was turned away despite the entire spa being empty.
Sauna should be located either at the pool or inside the gym - not in a private spa facility where guests can’t use it.
Also there are no hot tubs at the Dorsett pool which there should be - there is only hot
Tubs at the star pool but the pool there in general isn’t as nice.
If the hotel had a sauna and hot tub available it would have been 5 stars :)

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nicolekizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2023

Really great and the location was fantastic.
The only criticism was the bar was not open around the pool.The guests had to use a QR code to order like uber eats ,and pay with card.
The menu was basic,and inside was a full bar closed.
But really great luxurious place to stay.

Room tip: The pool was busy being holidays but really clean .
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 5868hotmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 December 2023

Picture lying back on your bed in your $500 pn room and seeing not one but five major holes in the curtains. It was a downer for me, having wanted to impress my husband for a night away....
So I thought I would gently let management know. No big deal but shoddy right?
Sent two texts to WhatsApp finally getting a note that we will escalate to the Manager. Mentioned the issue at check out to great surprise at reception.
Then (I know a bit persistent but I didn't feel heard) I rang and left a courteous voice message with the hotel on the details. Still nothing (other than emails asking me to rate them on Google and Tripadvisor..)
Great pool area - but guest experience and room upkeep - a real issue. Would NOT recommend.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank maxigoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2023 via mobile

We recently stayed at The Dorsett on a family holiday to the Gold Coast. Overall, we had a good experience but there are definitely some basics that as a hotel they need to work on.

The location is great, with easy access to Broadbeach, Pacific Fair and public transport. The rooms are lovely, albeit lacking some practicalities as mentioned in other reviews. We had a lovely view of the city skyline. Our check in process was great, the Reception team and concierge were incredibly helpful and obliging.

We loved the pool area, it’s a great spot to relax and it lovely to swim in.

What actually let our stay down was the housekeeping, which by Day 5 of our stay just became a huge frustration. The toiletries, coffee pods and tea/coffee/sugar sachets were not full to begin with, but didn’t actually get replenished until the final day of our stay - after multiple requests over the previous days. It was not ideal to have to even ask for such a basic thing once, let alone multiple times until it actually got actioned. Our room was also not serviced until after 5:00pm each day, which was hugely problematic when we’d been out all day, come back to get ready for dinner and didn’t have clean towels to have a shower, etc. Our coffee mugs and teaspoons didn’t get replaced for clean ones at any point throughout our stay, despite multiple requests - they just sat on the bench, dirty. It is something so basic, yet so crucial, and I felt like I was starting to sound like a broken record with continuous requests for things that should have just been a given. It became far more frustrating than it needed to be, when it was just not being actioned and it is apparent that the hotel is possibly not used to having guests stay longer than a couple of nights as there doesn’t seem to be a housekeeping process for those that are staying a little longer. Such a shame that this factor is the thing that would probably make us choose not to return, as everything else was great.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank townie2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews