We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Trip.com
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
doordontlikeit
Auckland, New Zealand
Good Location
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Nov 2019
I booked online. It is an apartment. Reasonable level of cleanliness. Decor a bit tired but ok for the price.Had oven, microwave and plenty of cooking utensils and pots etc. Close to Pacific Fair and Broadbeach. Good location, quiet area. Secure undercover carparking. Had late check in and so keys left in lock box. No problem. Had issue with free WiFI but that got sorted next morning. Foxtel in TV was great.. Had washing machine and drier in bathroom. Supplied with a sachet of washing up liquid and detergent, soap etc and half toilet roll. If you run out you need to buy your next one. Would stay here again.
Date of stay: October 2019
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$273
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$273
  • travelup.com
    AU$275
  • Expedia.com
    AU$273
0.1 km from Aruba Surf Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$291
  • Sofitel
    AU$291
  • Algotels
    AU$213
  • Expedia.com
    AU$291
0.3 km from Aruba Surf Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$190
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$190
  • Expedia.com
    AU$190
  • Agoda.com
    AU$190
0.2 km from Aruba Surf Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$183
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$205
0.3 km from Aruba Surf Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$321
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Aruba Surf Resort
Free parking
Pool
The Star Grand Hotel - Gold Coast
Official Hotel
AU$286
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    AU$318
  • Expedia.com
    AU$311
  • Hotels.com
    AU$289
0.4 km from Aruba Surf Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
BA bedroom
Booking.com
AU$318
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel Site
    AU$286
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$278
  • Agoda.com
    AU$318
0.3 km from Aruba Surf Resort
Free Wifi
Spa
Freshwater Point Large
Booking.com
AU$368
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$306
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$305
0.9 km from Aruba Surf Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$130
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$130
0.6 km from Aruba Surf Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$154
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$155
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$154
0.1 km from Aruba Surf Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Broadbeach
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
138
83
40
12
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
138
83
40
12
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift great location one bedroom apartment pacific fair the gold coast washing machine and dryer secure parking stay there again tram station spa casino channels australia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2019

Advice to all if you are seeking a good holiday do not come here. Even if you have been before there has been a change of ownership and management. It was the worst experience I have ever had on holiday. Holiday from hell. This was the experience: false advertising, lack of safety, totally unclean (for some examples: mould, dust, food scraps, holes in sofa, greasy sofa, unclean microwave and cutlery drawers), hasn't been updated for many years, stingy re items such as toilet paper and washing liquid, the worse customer service I've ever experienced, no functioning pool, unclean spa and no foxtel. Bond also paid on arrival but no inventory of all the crap issues in the apartment. Scary experience in all.

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank johndtraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TessBen, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2020

Hi johndtraveller6,

We are really upset about your decision. We hope you might change your mind if we can provide evidence to improve our service as much as we can.

Regarding to: False Advertising. Could you please point out which website to publish the inaccurate advertisement with many thanks? We do have more than 25 online travel agents to advertise our resort including our own website. So it's very essential to figure out what is going wrong with our reputation for the public simply because our business has been running over 25 years with plenty of good feedback from our holiday guests.

Regarding to Lack of Safety. We have 24-hour security guards going on patrol. The Broadbeach Police Station is located in the next street. All of buildings are equipped with CCTV cameras (nil black spots). So we do not make sense Why do you feel unsafe?

Regarding to cleaning issues: We always supervise all rooms after cleaned by the housekeepers, did you take photos about above issues? Or Why don't you report to the staffs in reception, instead, you stayed in this such a dirty room for your holiday stay? it is common sense of that you would report to us straight away in order to request to relocate or refund if the unit would in that such pool conditions with lots of cleaning problems.


Regarding to customer service: If you didn't come to reception, how come we knew how to serve you to achieve your satisfactions, even you made comments 'worse' service?

Regarding to 'no functioning pool, unclean spa and no foxtel', we are sure you are lying because if we were not facilitated with those amenities, we are not qualified as 4-star resort at the center of Broadbeach.

Regarding to Bond: As featured self-contained apartment, we have to be on behalf all the owner to make sure nil damages when guest checked out. So Bond is necessary and compulsory to process when check-in.

We are looking forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Aruba Surf Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2019

The only positive comment I have about the accommodation at Aruba Surf Resort is the location is great, it's in the middle of Broadbeach five minutes walk from Pacific Fair and the tram to get you anywhere you want to go.

Their website advertises the rooms as 'Serviced' upon check-in we learnt that the rooms are only serviced for free if you're staying for at least 8 nights, and will incur and additional cost otherwise.

Clean sheets and towels are not provided daily, the cost for fresh towels is $2 each. I'm sure this is fine for apartments that have washing machines provided, but it's incredibly rude to give the other rooms no choice.

The rooms are provided with a single roll of toilet paper, some complimentary tea, coffee and milk, if you want any more there is an additional charge for these as well.

Our room's AC unit was filled with mold, the person at the desk insisted that these were cleaned weekly, though I find this difficult to believe given the amount of mold that had built up in the unit. Our bathroom sink was coming away from the counter-top and was only held in place by the plumbing. Carpet and curtains were ripped or coming apart in places.

We went out for the day and came back after-hours to learn that the keys we were given didn't open the door at the landing to our room, and contacting their after-hours phone number went straight to voicemail. This left us stranded without our passports and money.

The rooms are located up several flights of stairs and are not access-friendly. No elevators are available.

If we had known that there were conditions attached to 'Serviced' apartments with relation to the price we would never have booked with Aruba Surf Resort and looked elsewhere.

Room tip: Double check the cleanliness of your AC unit if you don't want to breath mold.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clurasaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TessBen, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2020

Hi Clurasaur,

We are completely a self-contained resort. Please read all the instructions carefully on the booking channels when you make the booking.

Kind Regards,

Aruba Surf Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2019 via mobile

The only good thing about this place is the location.

Room was run down and filthy. Walls covered in dirt. Condom wrapper next to the bed. Air con full of mould!

Room was advertised as serviced. Room is not serviced. What a joke. Have to for toilet paper and clean towels.

Hair dryer broken. Sink only held on by the plumbing. Carpets and curtains ripped. The room looks nothing like the website.

Staff gave us the wrong keys. As a result one night we got locked out without our passports and posessions. Don't bother ringing the after hours number. No one answers.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jason6913
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TessBen, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2020

Hello Jason6913,

Regarding to 'Room was run down and filthy', please show us the evidence. We could've provided better service when you stayed in the apartment if you told us.

Room was 'advertised as serviced'. We are 'self-contained' resort and we don't provide daily service. Please check the instructions when you make the booking on the booking channels.

Regarding to After-hour service, It is impossible that no one answered your calling. If you listen the voice instruction carefully, it would direct you to our after-hour service.

Kind Regards,

Aruba Surf Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2019

We loved our stay there, apartment was clean and comfortable, bed comfortable, bathroom clean, position was perfect for us, would stay there again. Our only problem was the apartment was on the top floor and it was a bit awkward carry our luggage up there.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wayter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TessBen, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2020

Hello Wayter,

Thanks for your good comments, Looking forward to seeing you again in Aruba Surf Resort.

Aruba Surf Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2019 via mobile

We went for 2 weeks in August the 13th to the 27th the room itself was in very poor condition not clean full of cockroaches everywhere. Holes in the room needed a paint job as well. The coffee table broke while we were there

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank ellacocoa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews