We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
John D
Run the other way
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Oct 2019
Advice to all if you are seeking a good holiday do not come here. Even if you have been before there has been a change of ownership and management. It was the worst experience I have ever had on holiday. Holiday from hell. This was the experience: false advertising, lack of safety, totally unclean (for some examples: mould, dust, food scraps, holes in sofa, greasy sofa, unclean microwave and cutlery drawers), hasn't been updated for many years, stingy re items such as toilet paper and washing liquid, the worse customer service I've ever experienced, no functioning pool, unclean spa and no foxtel. Bond also paid on arrival but no inventory of all the crap issues in the apartment. Scary experience in all.
Date of stay: October 2019
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$291
  • Priceline
    AU$291
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$228
  • Sofitel
    AU$291
0.3 km from Aruba Surf Resort
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$190
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$190
  • Hotels.com
    AU$190
  • Agoda.com
    AU$190
0.2 km from Aruba Surf Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Lobby
Booking.com
AU$168
  • Priceline
    AU$188
  • travelup.com
    AU$174
  • Expedia.com
    AU$187
0.3 km from Aruba Surf Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
The Star Grand Hotel - Gold Coast
Booking.com
AU$318
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel
    AU$286
  • Expedia.com
    AU$295
  • Hotels.com
    AU$292
0.4 km from Aruba Surf Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$384
  • Priceline
    AU$384
  • Agoda.com
    AU$289
  • Expedia.com
    AU$346
0.5 km from Aruba Surf Resort
Free parking
Pool
BA bedroom
Booking.com
AU$318
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$311
  • Vio.com
    AU$231
  • Priceline
    AU$318
0.3 km from Aruba Surf Resort
Free Wifi
Spa
The Outdoor Pool and Spa at the Browns at Broadbeach
Booking.com
AU$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$150
  • Agoda.com
    AU$150
0.6 km from Aruba Surf Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$249
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$269
  • Expedia.com
    AU$269
  • Agoda.com
    AU$249
0.1 km from Aruba Surf Resort
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$273
  • Hotels.com
    AU$273
  • travelup.com
    AU$272
0.1 km from Aruba Surf Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Aruba Surf Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Broadbeach
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
138
83
40
12
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
138
83
40
12
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift great location one bedroom apartment pacific fair the gold coast washing machine and dryer secure parking stay there again tram station spa casino channels australia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2019

The only positive comment I have about the accommodation at Aruba Surf Resort is the location is great, it's in the middle of Broadbeach five minutes walk from Pacific Fair and the tram to get you anywhere you want to go.

Their website advertises the rooms as 'Serviced' upon check-in we learnt that the rooms are only serviced for free if you're staying for at least 8 nights, and will incur and additional cost otherwise.

Clean sheets and towels are not provided daily, the cost for fresh towels is $2 each. I'm sure this is fine for apartments that have washing machines provided, but it's incredibly rude to give the other rooms no choice.

The rooms are provided with a single roll of toilet paper, some complimentary tea, coffee and milk, if you want any more there is an additional charge for these as well.

Our room's AC unit was filled with mold, the person at the desk insisted that these were cleaned weekly, though I find this difficult to believe given the amount of mold that had built up in the unit. Our bathroom sink was coming away from the counter-top and was only held in place by the plumbing. Carpet and curtains were ripped or coming apart in places.

We went out for the day and came back after-hours to learn that the keys we were given didn't open the door at the landing to our room, and contacting their after-hours phone number went straight to voicemail. This left us stranded without our passports and money.

The rooms are located up several flights of stairs and are not access-friendly. No elevators are available.

If we had known that there were conditions attached to 'Serviced' apartments with relation to the price we would never have booked with Aruba Surf Resort and looked elsewhere.

Room tip: Double check the cleanliness of your AC unit if you don't want to breath mold.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clurasaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TessBen, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2020

Hi Clurasaur,

We are completely a self-contained resort. Please read all the instructions carefully on the booking channels when you make the booking.

Kind Regards,

Aruba Surf Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2019 via mobile

The only good thing about this place is the location.

Room was run down and filthy. Walls covered in dirt. Condom wrapper next to the bed. Air con full of mould!

Room was advertised as serviced. Room is not serviced. What a joke. Have to for toilet paper and clean towels.

Hair dryer broken. Sink only held on by the plumbing. Carpets and curtains ripped. The room looks nothing like the website.

Staff gave us the wrong keys. As a result one night we got locked out without our passports and posessions. Don't bother ringing the after hours number. No one answers.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jason6913
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TessBen, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2020

Hello Jason6913,

Regarding to 'Room was run down and filthy', please show us the evidence. We could've provided better service when you stayed in the apartment if you told us.

Room was 'advertised as serviced'. We are 'self-contained' resort and we don't provide daily service. Please check the instructions when you make the booking on the booking channels.

Regarding to After-hour service, It is impossible that no one answered your calling. If you listen the voice instruction carefully, it would direct you to our after-hour service.

Kind Regards,

Aruba Surf Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2019

We loved our stay there, apartment was clean and comfortable, bed comfortable, bathroom clean, position was perfect for us, would stay there again. Our only problem was the apartment was on the top floor and it was a bit awkward carry our luggage up there.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wayter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TessBen, Manager at Aruba Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2020

Hello Wayter,

Thanks for your good comments, Looking forward to seeing you again in Aruba Surf Resort.

Aruba Surf Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2019 via mobile

We went for 2 weeks in August the 13th to the 27th the room itself was in very poor condition not clean full of cockroaches everywhere. Holes in the room needed a paint job as well. The coffee table broke while we were there

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank ellacocoa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 July 2019

This place just went from bad to worse. My colleague and I had booked a one-bedroom apartment and a sofa bed for a nearby conference. When we got there the sofa bed was broken and the head end could only either be collapsed or propped up like a hospital bed. The springs and the stands were so hard it was painful even to sit on it. The sofa bed was completely unusable meaning my colleague and I had to share a bed. There were also numerous other unacceptable features including the fact we could hear mice in the walls or roof, only a single toilet roll was provided for two adults for 4 nights, the bed was extremely uncomfortable and neither the wifi nor my bedside lamp worked. When we contacted the resort they refused to do anything, not address the issues, or change our room to one with a functioning sofa bed and would not refund any money even the additional $15 that they charged for the use of the sofa bed. I would not recommend that anyone stays here.

Room tip: The sofa beds are not usable do not consider them an extra bed.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Darceydog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews