We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stop for Lunch”

Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 18 May 2019

Nice feel to this place, so was nice to stop and enjoy the beautiful sights and the memorabilia of Mt Cook and its activities/hikers around the premises. Just arrived before the crowds turned up for lunch, this place is very busy, but the staff handle it well and we did not have to wait long at all for our food. Lunch was fresh, and very tasty I would recommend this Cafe to others for sure. Enjoy.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jaffa001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2019

So glad that you had such a nice experience and thank you very much for taking the time to let us know. Very much appreciated ! Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 150 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2019 via mobile

Accidentally reached this place wandering around searching for decent food. Being vegetarian, the choices are always limited at every place. But managed to have our fill here.
Fast service, helpful staff and one of the freshest foods we've had.
Cheaper option for people staying at Hermitage. Walking distance (even when you're tired from a long hike) from the hotel and half the rate compared to the restaurants in hermitage.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Samkaushal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2019

So glad you found us and so pleased that you were able to find something on the menu that suited. Thank you so very much for letting us know how you enjoyed it Samkaushai, and please travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2019

We dropped into this cafe during our recent visit. Seemed to be quite popular.
Nice cosy fire going, tables and chairs and spectacular views of Mt Cook.
A good range of lunch options were available although only wanting a light snack we found not a lot on offer other than wedges.
Hamburgers and chips looked great although more that I had room for for lunch.
These however were great mixed with a hot chocolate and a couple of marshmallows.
Toilets were available and clean and tidy.
Staff were very helpful and friendly.
What is quite special about this cafe is the memoralia hanging on the wall from old sets of snow skiis to old ruck sacks and a variety of other hiking and skiing equipments.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robgI5268NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2019

So glad you liked our place, thanks Rob for writing such a lovely review. Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2019

Very welcoming and the staff were excellent. Feels like a lodge with wood fire burning and gorgeous views to snow caped mountains. How lucky we were to have sunshine and clear skies. The salmon salad was delicious and the burger looked wonderful and apparently was. I managed to steal a few chips which were to die for!!!
So pleased we dropped in. Would have been regulars had we been staying longer. And thank you to the lovely French waitress who gave us great info on the possible walks we might do. And we did.

Good value as it is more than a cafe but not trying to be a fancy restaurant.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2019

Thank you so very much for the glorious review Joanne. Delighted that you loved our place and thank you for taking the time to write. Yes, our French waitress is indeed wonderful, as are the rest of our gorgeous staff this season. Thank you for letting us know! Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2019 via mobile

Nice and cozy atmosphere, there is a fireplace in the room. The French waistress was lovely!
We had the pastas and pizzas and it was good. Big portion. Wine was also very good!
We also bought cards and and a poster, there is a little shop at the entrance of the restaurant :)

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Lesbouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2019

Oh, that's just great that you loved our beloved restaurant and what we had to offer, as well as the hospitality from our lovely waitress. Thank you for letting us know! So appreciated, Lesbouss. Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), Mackenzie District
 

Been to Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.