We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
15
10
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
10
4
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Great location! Clean room, very comfortable bed, chill and charming.
Great breakfast too in the neighbor restaurant Gamlebyen Gjestgiveri.
I will most likely come back next time I am visiting Fredrkistad.

Room tip: cozy and quite
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Narcis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamlebyenhotell, Eier at Gamlebyen Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear Narcis.
Thank you so much for your very kind review. I´m so happy that you enjoyed your stay here in Gamlebyen. Wish you warm welcome next time you are visiting Fredrikstad.
Have a great summer.

Best regards
Marianne Hansen
Owner
Gamlebyen Hotell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the only hotel in the old part of Fredrikstad. Our room was small, but very pretty and immaculate. The hotel was situated in the middle of the old fortress therefore walking distance to everything. The ferry on the river runs every 20 minutes, great way to have a scenic ride on the river and also visit the boardwalk on the other side of the river. Did I mention that the hotel had a beautiful breakfast a few minutes away from the main part of the hotel in a beautiful grand historical room.
Hotel also had free wifi and very helpful attentive staff.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Fligh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamlebyenhotell, Eier at Gamlebyen Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Dear Fligh

Thank you so much for your kindly review. I´m glad that you enjoyed your stay here in Gamlebyen, with the rooms and the breakfast. We are happy that Fredrikstad offer free ferry between the city centre and the Old town.

Wish you a great summer, and hope to see you again.

Best regards
Marianne Hansen
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We went for a spur of the moment of season trip to Fredrikstad as I have always wanted to see the old town (Gamlebyen), after looking at Air Bnb in the area, we decided to threat ourselves to a stay in a hotel. We kind of regretted the decision....

The hotel is charming, but we were greeted in the reception by a vimsical character, but we were shown our room in the end. He seamed very surprised to see us early checking in, though we had e-mailed about this in advance. The room was cute, but had a few strange things going on. The tv was very small, there was a te boiler in the room, but very hard to find a place to place it so it could reach an outlet; to get into the room was quite hard because of the corner of the door and a pillar sticking out in the hallway.. Then one of us went to the bathroom and found out that the door had a big knock in it (from another frustrated guest?) and that it was a sliding door that did not really close. The bathroom was big and new and nice, but quite empty, so it really echoed whatever you did in there and out into the other room. I am glad I was there with my boyfriend of 8 years, most of our secrets are out by now :) So all this was strange, but still ok enough... In the evening though it turned out that we had an apartment above us, with a whole party of woman staying there. They didn't make to much noise really, but we could hear every single step they took... In the end it drove us a bit nuts to hear the constant walking and my boyfriend went over the the reception. There was no one there, but thankfully a phone number, we phoned and a very nice lady said she would call them and promptly did so.. also the second time we called. Then it all quieted down and we had a nice night's sleep. We were a bit fed up about all the strange things happening though and were very happily surprised when we knocked of the price 50% because of all the trouble! That won it all back for me! Brilliant service.

Tips to the hotel: Put something in the bathroom to put the toilet bag on and other comments above, that will give it that extra touch.

PLUSS POINTS: location, location, location! It was sooo central to us that wanted to explore the old town! We had a wonderful time going very quickly back to the hotel. Very good beds, wonderful décor and very peaceful except for the neighbours above us. We will be back in the summer! :)

Room tip: Great beds and good service!
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank HeleneRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamlebyenhotell, Eier at Gamlebyen Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Dear Helene
Thank you so much for your review. I´m glad that you fint our hotel charming and that you enjoyed the location. All of our rooms are different, so next time you can try a different room. Tank you for your little advice about the bathroom. We have now an bench to put the bag on.

Wish you a great summer.

Best regards
Marianne Hansen
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

The location in Fredrikstad's charming Old Town is just perfect. The rooms are also very charming, but very small. The breakfast in the neighbor restaurant was OK. The hotel is a bit expensive, but the location is so important, so please choose this hotel when visiting Fredrikstad!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Looking_for_charme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamlebyenhotell, Daglig leder at Gamlebyen Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear Sir.

Tank you wery much for your time to make a review.
We are glad that you liked our hotel.

Have a great day.

Best Regards
Marianne Hansen
Hotel manager
Gamlebyen Hotell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

This is a boutique hotel in the old town of Fredrikstad. Romantic and authentic rooms, but very small. No desk or decent chair for laptop or work. No breakfast. The front desk is only open until 6pm. The check-in procedure was a bad experience, with a very rude employee, that did not know the rules for parking in the streets around the hotel. The Old town of Fredrikstad is very nice and well worth a visit. But after 5pm everything is closed, and you can't find much to eat or drink. So my advice is to stay in the new part of the city center, and take the ferry across the river to visit the old town. Then go back for food and sleeping

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ChristerB399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamlebyenhotell, Daglig leder at Gamlebyen Hotell, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear Christer

Thank you for your time to make a review.
Sad to hear about your experience. The service should no matter what, be like this. We are really want to show the best. Every room in the hotel is different, and we also have room where you can work with your laptop.
We don't have breakfast at the hotel, but we offer all our guest breakfast in the restaurant beside the hotel. I'm really sorry if my colleague did'nt inform you about this.
In the high season the restaurants are closing around 21 pm in weekdays, and around 19 pm in the lowseason. Peppes pizza restaurant is closing at 23 pm.
We will use your feedback to improve.
Have a great day.

Best Regards
Marianne Hansen
Hotel Manager
Gamlebyen hotell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews