We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Happy Holidays in Mlini, Croatia”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
our bougainvillea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
our bougainvillea
house bougainvillae outside
terrace
sea view
living room
living room
living room
living room
sea view
bedroom 1
detail
bathroom 1
bathroom 2
living room
mezzanine
bedroom 2
bedroom 2
bathroom 1
bedroom 1
bedroom 2
bedroom sea view
dining room
the kitchen
dining room
sea view
bbq
sea view
beach Mlini
beach Mlini
Mlini
Mlini
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mlini, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
TudeleyTw...
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy Holidays in Mlini, Croatia”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a fantastic 8 night stay at Casa Bougainvillae. The first thing that struck us was the size of the patio leading to the front door. There is a family sized table beneath a canopy with sea views and a small barbecue with charcoal.

The villa itself was light and spacious with numerous windows (most with sea views) making it very airy and was presented in a modern, stylish way. We didn't use the entertainment equipment provided as we were generally out and about, but we did appreciate provision of reliable wi-fi and nice touches such as playing cards.

We only used the kitchen for breakfast, the occasional lunch and for making hot drinks (coffee machine and kettle). A 2 ring hob and small counter top oven/grill were provided which was perfect for heating pastries but possibly not for a culinary extravaganza! Then again, with so many inexpensive, quality restaurants either a walk away (Mlini) or short drive to Dubrovnik and Cavtat, this wasn't an issue for us. We had plenty of food and drink storage space across two fridges (freezer space too) and all the usual kitchen/dining equipment you would expect, was provided. Whilst there was no AC, fans were provided and the ability to open the windows but close the shutters enabled a comfortable sleeping temperature to be achieved. The bathrooms were also spacious and modern with plenty of towels provided.

The villa was located beneath the main road to Dubrovnik, this seemed to be the way with most resort properties in the region which seem to surround the roads and cling onto the hills down to the sea. The entrance lane was steep and a bit of a challenge for our under-powered rental car so we opted for the free car park opposite, where we could always find a space and the car was secure. There was some road noise but this didn't cause us a problem (and we're used to the quiet of the countryside!). Hill dwelling also meant steps - you'll find this out where ever you go unless located at sea level, and having visited Cavtat, Dubrovnik, Ston and Korcula, we expected to go home fitter than we arrived. I can see why some visitors might find this a challenge, but we thought its was part of the unique character of the region and meant we could justify our daily gelati intake (not to be missed)!!

First impressions of Mlini from the road might be underwhelming, but the stepped streets are quaint and the harbour is attractive and sophisticated, with nice paved walks to neighbouring Srebreno. It also makes an ideal base for exploring the local area (we drove as far north as Orebic on the Peljesac Pennisular for the foot crossing to Korcula, Kotor in Montenegro to the south as well as into Bosnia (Trebinje) (passports required for the latter two). It is also conveniently located for Cilipi airport, but not on the flight path.

Silvana, the villa's owner, met us on arrival and was on hand throughout our stay should we have needed any assistance, she could not have been more accommodating. We really made the most of our stay and were sorry to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of villa and sea views
Liked least: Mattress not the best (still slept well)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausage66
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Description changed by owner prior to arrival, with no notification, missing facilities.”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I Booked this property directly with the owner, but had seen it advertised through, tripadvisor,( flipkey),& then later Holidaylettings, Also HouseTrip, Abib & many more. I was travelling with my Husband, son, & two nieces. My young niece & son are very fussy eaters so I needed a place that I could prepare the occassional meal / breakfast. I was just about to confirm the booking & I noticed that there was no airconditioning, so I checked with the owner whom stated she stays under the property from May & intended to install a system before our arrival.
My son is only six & loves to come home from the beach & watch a DVD.
One week before we arrived my eldest niece decided to join us she noticed the TV & DVD had vanished from the decription, I contacted the owner thinking I had made a mistake, so checked there was Wifi, she repied yes, but didn't comment on the TV & DVD.
On arrival we noticed no air conditioning had been installed, at first it didn't bother me as the walls are a metre thick, but as the tempreture at night only decends by 5c it never gets cool it so you are trying to sleep in temperatures of 28c plus. There were no fans.
The facilites missing
TV & DVD
Kettle
Coffee Maker
Freezer
Toaster
Gas stove
Oven
Grill
Cooker
No free Wifi or internet connection.
To add to our frustration, we only had 6 childrens hangers for the first 2 days so unable to unpack, 2 mugs, kettle was delivered with mugs & hangers but plugs didn't fit the plug sockets. No iron, this was eventually found in the cellar, where the washing machine & missing TV & DVD player were also stored. We also found a couple of plug adaptors 2 to 3 pin plugs so we could plug in the kettle & iron.
There were 2 electric rings for cooking, but only 1 Pasta saucepan, 1 mini wok, & a pancake frying pan(flat), no wooden spoons, or spatula, 1 bread knife, wooden salad servers, a pasta server, 1 ladle, the majority of the crockery was chipped.
A BBQ was provided but with no untensils to cook on it.
There are 182 steps down to the Harbour & no mention of the main road directly behind the property which is busy, difficult to cross. If you close the windows you can't hear the road but as it was 28 to 34c in the night this was not possible.
For the first week we were only provided with 2x Hand towels each.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The downstairs bathroom, the view, veranda
Liked least: The lack of facilites as mentioned above.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2013
I'm really sorry if you have not enjoyed in our home but I think your opinion is excessively negative and even false.
The house had:
  Electric Cooker
Kettle
  Fridges with frizzer
Toaster (orizontal)
washing machine
Wifi connection
More than enough hangers
plenty of towels
plug adapters
iron
2 fans
the crockery were in very good condition
Of course we always try to improve services for our guests, and we also bought a second fridge,new tools for barbecue, a small electric oven, coffee machine,we also restored satellite TV and DVD that during your stay unfortunately was does not work.
Sincerely
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C M
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ornella64...
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in September 2013
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: la pulizia e l'arredamento
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
disere
Bari, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: l'accoglienza, la casa e la splendida natura
Liked least: esserci stati troppo poco
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing