We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous long weekend spent at Hagg Hill Hall x”

Review of Hagg Hill Hall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
175 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
New Tupton, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 175 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rebecca15...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous long weekend spent at Hagg Hill Hall x”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

19 of us have just got back from a long family weekend at hagg hill hall, we had the most amazing time! The house was stunning in every way and very clean. You don't have to worry about towels as there are plenty! The pool was a huge bonus...kept the children entertained all weekend. We all enjoyed relaxing in the fabulous hot tub.
The house is very cosy and boasts lots of quirky traditional features. We enjoyed a family roast dinner around the large dining table and went for a lovely long walk around the area (five pits trail).
Mr Humphreys was very friendly and was always happy to help. He left us little bottles of wine in each bedroom and also bought us a lovely bouquet of flowers to thank us for our stay.
We absolutely fell in love with the dogs, Deano and Tyson.
We would highly recomened this property it provides the perfect getaway for families or large parties.
Thank-you for letting us use your fabulous property.

Rebecca & Family xxxxxx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire T
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in October, filling the place with adults, children and dogs, and all of us had a fabulous time. The house is amazing, lots of space, full of fixtures, fittings and ornaments befitting such a historic house. The addition of the hot tub kept the adults happy and the swimming pool kept the kids happy - there was no need to even leave the front door (although there is a footpath leading from the house that does offer the option of easy walks)

The owner was on hand to give a warm welcome and fond farewell - he really made us feel very welcome. It's a stunning house and a superb place for a stay. I thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chophie
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A wonderful group holiday that will be remembered by all forever!”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

It's hard for me to describe this place in words as the very essence of Hagg Hill Hall captures you from the moment you arrive and leaves you wanting more in every way possible.
We were looking for somewhere special to celebrate my friends 40th birthday and when Hagg Hill Hall came up in our search we were delighted, not only could we all sleep in one building sharing all the important communal areas but this place boasted a rural location, a hot tub, a swimming pool, a fabulous country kitchen, a choice of two sitting rooms, a wonderful large dining room and many bathrooms. It also seemed to have bags of character and promised a stay to be remembered so we went ahead and booked with the lovely Ann who was very helpful and efficient and then waited with eager anticipation.
On arrival we were greeted and welcomed at the front door by Melvin, Hagg Hill Halls vivacious owner and taken on a tour of the rooms and facilities. Melvin is a fabulous, eccentric character, we really enjoyed him sharing the interesting history of his home and he had us all in peels of laughter from the moment we entered. The bedrooms were all very different in size and shape, many having four poster beds, en suite bathrooms and beautiful looking antiques. We had great fun exploring all the rooms over the weekend and discussing where everything might have come from. The beds were extremely comfortable and we had endless hot water and fluffy towels. Each room had a tray with red or white wine and bottles of water, what a lovely touch!
We felt right at home from the start as Melvin stated "this is your home for the weekend, I want you to feel comfortable and not to worry about anything, just relax, enjoy yourselves and knock on my door if you need anything at all!" So we did as instructed and had the most amazing weekend away possible. We had a Hawaiian pool party in the pool room decorating the areas with banners and inflatables, enjoyed afternoon tea at the huge 18 seater dining table, we shared drinks and laughter round the roaring log fire, wondered around the lovely local country park, celebrated with a candlelit Chinese takeaway in the fabulous garden room (China Rose who were recommended on HHHs website, delicious!), giggled our heads off in the hot tub and cooked breakfast on the Aga in the beautiful country kitchen. There isn't an aspect of this house that didn't draw us in and entice us! I only wish we could have stayed longer. Melvin thank you so much for your warm hospitality, your entertaining stories, the beautiful flowers and for making our friends birthday one she will never forget.
Hagg Hill Hall has been the topic of conversation since we all returned home, if you are looking for a group getaway then this place has everything you could need and more, we didn't have any children in our group this visit, but mine would have absolutely loved it. We're already discussing when we can all get together and go again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirky yet comfortable feel of every room.
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gdanger
lincoln
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“So much to offer”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed as a group of 12 adults and 3 children for a long weekend.

The house is amazing so much to see! The four posters and gorgoeus bathrooms; the pool, gardens and hot-tub were all excellent.

We had a bit of a funny time with the lights- but it started a great conversation about ghosts at the dinner table! oh and what a fab dining room too.
We invited caterers in for saturday night and the dining room was perfect for a dinner party.

If we had to make a comment it would be to add in a sofa in the lounge to allow more seating for all.

Thanks to Mel for being a welcoming host, we really enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Wells-next-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!!!!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Just returned from our first visit to Hagg Hill Hall, family & friends aged 4 - 77, we had a wonderful time, the house was so very interesting, full of antiques. The beds and bedding were some of the best we have had (7th year of group holidays), the garden was better than we expected, not used as much as we would have liked due to the lovely August weather, but the conservatory was well used with good light levels. Yes - the house was a little dusty but all the bathrooms were fine and it would be impossible to dust everywhere in the changeover period.
Mel was interesting to talk to and there if we needed advice, but only really saw him when he was checking chlorine etc in the pool. There were loads of little extras provided and the first holiday let that provided pool towels. There was an additional fridge in the pantry along with the American style fridge freezer and we had an Asda delivery when we first arrived.
We will not be returning as my husbands mobility is deteriorating and steps were an issue BUT this was mentioned in the details, we had a super holiday it was all great fun - thank you to Mel.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing