We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Weekend at Hagg Hill Hall.”

Review of Hagg Hill Hall

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
156 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
New Tupton, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 156 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
madam249
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Weekend at Hagg Hill Hall.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Recently returned from a weekend at Hagg Hill Hall with my family of fifteen. Wonderful house, lovely garden, great outside play area and fantastic indoor pool also childrens pool, plus hot tub. Everything you need for a great weekend.Lots of little extras provided which were appreciated. Lord Humphries was very helpful and accommodating, even returning to us two pairs of slippers which we left. Thank you. Everyone had a lovely time
and I will certainly recommend Hagg Hill Hall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The House. Pool. Ouside area.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PETER D
MKT. HARBOROUGH
1 review
“HAGG HALL WAS ALL IT SAID IT WOULD BE AND 200% BETTER !!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Our large and varied party of 17 enjoyed all aspects of the property, especially the children and the warm pool. Adults could make up for this in the hot tub in the evening when tthe kids were in bed ! The quirky nature of the rooms with clutter of all types all added to the atmoshere and the imitation ''tinder boxes' were most surprising. By the Saturday evening we had decided to book the property for next year it really was that good. Please be aware there are friendly dogs on the site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The clutter and personal details in each room.
Liked least: The number of toilets downstairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
otherbeck...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A really special place to spend a weekend with friends”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed here for my hen do. The house is amazing. The weather was beautiful so we spent a lot of time in the garden but it wouldn't have mattered if it had rained because the pool and hot tub would have kept us occupied! The facilities were great although we ran out of hot water at one point so a couple of us had cold showers. This was a minor issue though and not enough to mark the rating down. The owner was friendly and checked we had everything we needed. I can't recommend this place enough, I would definitely go again. Happy happy customer!!!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A big welcome for big families”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed over Easter weekend, with 8 adults and 7 kids of various ages - and the house was spot on. The owner had worked really hard to get the pool ready ahead of schedule, and the kids absolutely loved it.

The house itself, as another reviewer mentioned, is actually much better than the pictures suggest; quirky, definitely, but with lots of authentic charm rather than chintziness. The layout is quite odd, so you might want to check that before booking for your group (a floorplan on the website would help).

The kitchen was really well equipped, which made cooking for 15 pretty easy, with plenty of lovely space for everyone to eat together in either the dining room or conservatory.

There were lots of little things that made the whole weekend work too - like a load of fluffy towels for bathrooms and pool, Sky Sports in the lounge, and plenty of heat and hot water.

All in all, everything we expected and wanted from a big house - a great weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: The pool leads straight off from one of the sitting rooms - which makes that room quite humid
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
666Phil65
Arbroath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Could not have asked for more!!”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed here for a week for my parent's Golden Wedding Anniversary and have to say what a wonderful house it is. Mel made us very welcome and pointed out where everything was, including light switches, and said that for the next week to treat the house like our own home. (Which we did!!)

The house was full of character and we loved the layout of the property. Plenty of room for the 14 of us there, with lots of extras, including wine in the bedrooms, toiletries in the bathroom, plenty of towels for the swimming pool, which by the way, was fantastic - everyone, from my 7 year old neice to my 70 year old mother, had a great time in the pool.

We used Creative Chef (a local outside caterer) to come in the wonderful kitchen to cook for us, there was plenty of room for him to do so.

If you want clean, stainless steel, minimalistic rooms, then this place isn't for you, but we absolutely loved it and loved the character, and higgledy-piggledy layout and everything else.

Thanks very much Mel, I am sure we will be seeing you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Value for money
Liked least: door latch on the pantry door - it was definitely out to get me.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing