We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a find! Still can't stop thinking about our...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sandcastles

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bacton, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fiona M
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find! Still can't stop thinking about our perfect holiday........”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday at Sandcastles. Our family is made up of mum, dad and our 5 lively boys aged between 6 and 14. I've had my eye on this property for a few years but I didnt know if there would be enough for our boys to do, so hadn't booked it until now. Well I wish we had booked it years ago rather than spending our annual holiday in a caravan holiday park or Butlins. The house is huge and is much more spacious than the photos show. We loved all the cute hearts and seaside touches that were everywhere. It is very well equipped and we made good use of the dishwasher and washing machine while we were there. The conservatory is large, spacious and a perfect place to spend time watching the spectacular sea view, eating, relaxing or playing cards. Actually, the conservatory at night was beautiful, lit up by pretty lights and I loved spending time in there every evening with a glass of wine. The beach on your door step is just glorious. Perfect stone free sand for making sandcastles and it stays shallow for a long time if you walk into the sea, making it very child friendly. We had the beach to ourselves most days and our boys found this a great place to play beach cricket, frisbee or to just run in and out of the waves. There is loads to do nearby. We had days out in Blakney to see the seals, Great Yarmouth for rides, met animals at Amazonia Zoo in Cromer, went to Davenport's Magic Kingdom and bowling in North Walsham and ate ice creams in the bustling quaint seaside town of Sheringham. We loved the fish and chips from Walcott. Also the food at the local Sugar and Spice Cafe and the Burger Shack in Bacton was delicious (huge portions too!). There was free children's entertainment every evening (Mon - Thurs) throughout the Summer holidays in a marquee a The Lighthouse Inn in Walcott, which was pretty good. The hubby said the Poachers Pocket in Bacton was also a good pub to visit. After our days out, it was lovely to come "home" to Sandcastles and the fact that there was Wifi too, meant that even having an old fashioned seaside holiday, this modern family still felt a bit more connected when we felt the need to go online (this especially kept the boys happy and mum too, who loved uploading her pics to Facebook, whilst dad could keep up to date watching the cricket via Sky go). All in all, just perfect. Can't wait to go again and have never felt so relaxed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The conservatory, the beach on the doorstep and the sea views from the house.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lilys_m0m...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I can't rate Sandcastles highly enough! I have just returned from my second visit to the property with my husband, mother-in-law, 2 kids and 2 dogs.

The location is second to none - right on the sea front overlooking the beach. The property is very clean and spacious with an open plan kitchen and living area plus a huge conservatory and outside patio area. There are 3 bedrooms - a double master bedroom with en-suite shower room, a twin room and a single room - all with bags of wardrobe/storage space. There is also a large family bathroom with a shower and bath. You'll also find a very thoughtful welcome pack when you arrive (thanks, Laura) complete with all your holiday essentials including a bottle of wine, tea, coffee, milk, sugar, etc.

You can be on the beach in under 60 seconds! The steps down to the promenade are only a short distance from the garden gate. The level of the sand on the beach rises and falls each year. So some years you can just step off the promenade onto the beach, but other years there is quite a gap (although there are metal steps).

Bacton is a very seaside quiet village but it does have all the key things you'll need on your hols - couple of pubs, chippie, chinese takeaway, grocery store, etc. You can do as much or as little as you like at Bacton - you can just kick your shoes off and enjoy the beach or you can go a little further afield and visit the busier towns such as Cromer and Sherringham, both of which are just a short drive away.

The nearest local pub 'Poachers Pocket' is just a couple of hundred yards along the beach and does great food - it is also dog friendly. Another couple of pubs nearby which are also dog friendly and serve good food are the 'Ship Inn' at Mundesley and the 'Lighthouse' just passed Walcott - all are highly recommended.

If you want fresh seafood I would highly recommend a visit to Mundesley (10 mins car drive). There is a fresh fish stall (the lobster pot) located in the car park in the centre of the village.

The only downside to staying at Sandcastles is that you're so spoilt re the location that you'll find anywhere else far inferior!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, spaciousness and cleanliness of property
Liked least: Leaving to come home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan K
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“absolutely stunning property & location”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

just come home from our 2nd holiday at this property. very sad to leave as this is just perfect for us. location cannot be faulted and many happy hours can be spent watching the waves. beach is quiet and very clean. local pub is very good for food and a drink. all in all, the best holiday home we gave ever stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol L
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb Holiday Bungalow by the Sea.”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Fantastic holiday bungalow. The bungalow is immaculately clean and well maintained. On arrival the fridge is already stocked with wine, milk and water, the welcome tray consisting of fresh bread, jams, biscuits tea and coffee etc. is most welcome, fresh flowers are a lovely added touch.
The bungalow is large with lots of space for all, including the dog. There is a very large conservatory overlooking the quiet beach with outstanding views of the Sea.
There are lots of walks in the local area not only along the sea front but up to Bacton Church or to Walcott and the priory ruins. A short drive ( or walk if you are feeling fit) and you are in the beautiful Bacton Woods. Fantastic if you have dogs that need walking. Even the beach has sections that are dog friendly.
Locally there are a couple of small grocery shops, chip shop, pub and café serving the most delicious cake! More shops and larger supermarkets can be found about 4 miles away in North Walsham.
Wonderful holiday. Will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The absolutely stunning views from the large consevatory
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
15alanm
1 review
“The Jewel In Norfolks' Crown”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This place is spot on ,I can't offer enough praise for the location,property or owner (Laura P).
The first time we stayed here we were amazed at the vista after entering the front door,amazing ! I think the best compliment I can give is that I wish I had been in a position to gazump Laura when the property was on the market last year! A truly wonderful holiday destination for young and old alike(and mutts) .The Sugar and Spice,Poachers Pocket,Bacton Fish n Chip shop,walks along beach to Happisburgh with return journey along the cliff path,Sammy the seal ,relaxing in the conservatory listening to the sea on a stormy night,shear bliss.As Arnie would say "I Will Be Back".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing