We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
96
57
17
15
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
57
17
15
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubburgerspike milliganroaring log fireoverlooking the churchfish and chipsgluten free breadfor lunch todaywalled gardenlovely beer gardenwonderful roomby chancelocal churchbeautiful villageenjoyable staypleasant surroundingsroom number
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Firstly thank you for a wonderful Easter Sunday Lunch,
It was very busy, (bank holiday Easter wkend) We had luckily booked, as the footfall was constant, (dog walkers, or walkers in general) winchelsea is a beautiful but small town.
Staff very attentive and non robotic, , drinks ordered soon after seating, Starters out super quick, we had the calamari, was yummy, more drinks ordered, then the main, I had the cod and chips, it's served on paper(and a plate) to make it look like newspaper, with a recipe for beerbatter, I loved it, and thought it was a great touch, others in our group had the slow cooked lamb (roast) And couldn't fault it), the portions are generous, but I still scoffed down a fudge cake with the clotted ice cream for desert, (I will be running an extra mile tomorrow)...... others in our group had the crumble and Apple pie and loved it. It is a dog friendly place as many walkers entered during our meal,.
Wonderful meal experience with attentive staff, and customers from all walks of life,
Thank you,

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Stayed here for a 3 night weekend. Room 1 is a fantastic room more like a suite. Huge comfy bed, sofa etc. Meals were good and staff very friendly. Beer was also pretty good. Breakfasts were fantastic.

Room Tip: Room 1 - large and comfortable
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Broadsman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed here this weekend! Only booked it on Thursday before as the weather was sunny! Good clean ensuite room number 4! The room was a bit chilly when we arrived, but warmed up after good pub food next to a roaring log fire! Great value for money and in a lovely area for walks and short distance from Rye. For the money, you will not be disappointed! Also has pod coffee machine in bedroom which my wife loves! Thank you for a lovely weekend!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martin13Wokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Perfect location to visit Dungeness, Rye, Battle and Camber Sands. As a keen photographer wanting to get to these areas the New Inn was perfectly placed. A warm welcome, good food and a lovely spacious room with enough suite. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Belinda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

Stopped in the lovely quiet village of Winchelsea and decided to stop for a light lunch at the New Inn. There is a small car park at the back and a walled garden. We decided on a soup and sandwich which was 'average'. The toilets at the rear of the pub were a bit dated and had no toilet paper.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jackiemmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews