We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Miss”
Groves Cottage and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Groves Cottage and garden
Seating area in Double Bedroom Large Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Groves Cottage and garden
Seating area in Double Bedroom
Large Double bedroom
Shower room en-suite for Double bedroom
Dining area of lounge/diner
Lounge
Lounge/Diner with view through to Kitchen
Well equipped Kitchen
Twin bedroom with built in storage and own seating area
Bathroom en-suite for twin bedded room
Garden at Groves Cottage
Decking area, perfect spot for relaxing in the Garden
Groves Cottage from Chapel Lane
Ducks enroute to the Pond, Chapel Lane
The village of St Margarets at Cliffe with village shop
Childrens Play Area in the village of St Margarets at Cliffe, a short walk from the cottage
St Margaret's Bay, top of Bay Hill
One of the many walks to St Margaret's Bay
Enchanting St Margaret's Bay
Conservation grazing on the Downs St Margaret's Bay
South Foreland Lighthouse on the cliff top once used to warn ships of the Goodwin sands
Historic Dover Castle, with exhibitions, tunnels, restaurants ; space for youngsters to run about
Visit the famous city of Canterbury and its Cathedral, fantastic shopping and history.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chloe C
2 reviews
“Miss ”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Such a beautiful cottage in a lovely little area. Me and my partner loved it here, it had everything we needed and was cosy and warm. Dover castle is just a 5 minute drive away with supermarkets nearby. Couldn't have chosen a better holiday rental in this area, would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage, knowing that you have enjoyed your stay and would recommend, are important to us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDH_CoCla...
Co Clare
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The cottage is very nice and well located a short stroll from a couple of restaurant/pubs and the local village shop. It also provides easy access to the coast and to motorways if you feel so inclined (which we did due to the somewhat damp/chilly weather on some days). If you're above 5' 10", you will quickly get the hang of ducking your head as you navigate the doorways of this very well equipped property, and if you enjoy the quiet, secure, relaxed life then you'll also enjoy Groves Cottage. Tracey - thank you!.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage, we are pleased that you enjoyed the village as much as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimbruce1...
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Location, very peaceful,”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great cottage in lovely location. Really peaceful and quiet with lots of birds around. Fully equipped, spotlessly clean, friendly and helpful owner. Lovely little garden with outside seating and off road parking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
4ofususua...
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful, great location”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This cottage really is beautiful, clean and in a great location (average travel time to places for days out were ten minutes). Tracey the owner is nice and thoughtful. Little touches in the cottage like tissues in every room, lamps to make it cosy, chairs in the bedrooms, always a lovely temperature, nice hallway/porch, nice and bright when the blinds open and dark enough when closed, a box of children's toys, books (children and adults), information on local food/days out, children's cutlery.
I enjoyed going back to the cottage at the end of a busy day to relax in the lamp lit, warm bedroom.
Our children aged 1 & 3 thoroughly enjoyed it here and loved their beds.
Plenty of storage space.
Cbeebies channel.
Was nice to arrive to milk and tea after a journey.
The only reason I am giving it a 4 and not a 5 is for the following:
We couldn't relax in the living room because it was small, me and my husband like to sit on sofa together with feet up (their are two bean bags), this is personal choice though, we like to get all comfy in evenings when kids in bed.
It backs onto a car park which was noisy in the evenings with car doors closing, pulling away on the gravel and people talking (as they came out of the pub/hotel). This didn't wake our young children up though.

All in all a very nice stay and I would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Thank you for your comments, there was a festival on at the local hotel which led to a higher volume of car movements than usual.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing