We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful friendly cosy place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hazeldene Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hazeldene Guest House
Ranked #1 of 9 Selby B&B and Inns
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful friendly cosy place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Lovely place very cosy and clean. Sue was friendly and welcoming. Had a lovely stay, breakfast was great. Thanks from the Walker family.

Room Tip: parking behind the property. Could not see the sign leading us to spot because of over grown foliage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazodavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazeldeneSelby, Owner at Hazeldene Guest House, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review.

Just to let you know, we have have all the ivy cut back to make the car park sign much more visable.

We hope to see you all again soon.

Take Care

Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    17
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
20
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

For a weekend trip with my boyfriend to York and around, we stayed here for 3 nights and we loved it! The rooms are comfortable and spacious, breakfast was good and served by a lovely english lady. If you care for it, in the morning :), there's full english! You really feel right at home. Near York (by bus or train) and the Selby Abbey (also for concerts!). Tip: we had diner in a little Italian restaurant called Capri, next to the abbey.

Room Tip: TWe had the room downstairs, lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingdutchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazeldeneSelby, Owner at Hazeldene Guest House, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed here Friday evening as we were going to a family wedding. We travelled all the way from Newcastle, so a long drive. But we were welcomed with a friendly smile as usual. We have been here several times and will keep going back. It's a lovely family run and they make it a pleasent stay everytime. It's just been newly decorated and looks amazing. If you get the chance to stay here, it's great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmiddla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Great little B & B, room was modern and clean, had free Wifi and the breakfast was lovely. Would definitely stay again, staff couldn't do any more for us either

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weeled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

This hotel is very friendly and homely, we were made at home from the beginning, nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel was spotlessly clean, and very up to date.
We saw no ants at the breakfast table, only our full english breakfast.. spot on.
See you again in the near future,

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minder100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selby
16.7 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
11.1 km away
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Escrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
10.6 km away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Wishing Well
The Wishing Well
#5 of 9 in Selby
3.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
11.1 km away
The Owl Hotel
The Owl Hotel
#2 of 9 in Selby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.2 km away
Olympia Hotel
Olympia Hotel
#8 of 9 in Selby
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazeldene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazeldene Guest House

Property: Hazeldene Guest House
Address: 32-34 Brook Street | Doncaster Road, Selby YO8 4AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Selby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Selby
Price range (per night): $83 - $104
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hazeldene Guest House is a spacious period house in the heart of the historic market town of Selby. We have a private car park, free Wi-Fi, secure accommodation for cycles and licensed bar in our large residents lounge. Our locally sourced breakfasts are served every morning in our welcoming dining room.Our central location provides easy access to all town centre amenities including the beautiful Abbey and markets as well as a convenient base to explore the City of York and its many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hazeldene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazeldene Guest House Selby, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing