We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,417)
Filter reviews
1,417 results
Traveller rating
614
507
164
74
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
614
507
164
74
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews raven hall robin hoods bay golf course swimming pool evening meal stunning views tennis courts games room the cliff afternoon tea dining room bay view the main hotel sandwiches log fire wedding party public areas
Filter
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 1,417 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We often stay at the Raven hall Hotel Ravenscar near Robin Hoods Bay. It's a special place with fantastic views, a free golf course, seals on the beach, wild walking and even it's own baths and sauna. Nothing there is top notch and the food is average but the combination is terrific and the staff are superb. It has a crenelated wall surrounding the grounds which include crochet, mini golf and a 9 hole golf course. Recently they have added new attic rooms which are great. Old world hotel in a very special place with lots of good surrounding pubs and venues, try it you won't just try it the once!

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade it's worth it!!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Always wanted to visit this hotel and lucky enough to take advantage of special deal. We were not disappointed. Stunning views, lovely evening meal and excellent choice for breakfast. Staff were very attentive, polite and friendly. We took our 2 dogs and they also received a good welcome with free biscuits! Designated dog walking area on the doorstep and they are welcome in the lounges near reception. If you like to eat early in the evening I would advise asking for a slot when you make the booking. All this and brilliant weather! Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have best view
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank masonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

The hotel has the most amazing location being so close to the sea. We go here regularly because the place is so welcoming. The staff are very helpful and the food is very good, especially the steak. The full English breakfast is just as it should be and sets you up for a day of walking and visiting places. There is so much to do around here but if the weather isn't great there is a lovely pool, sauna and games room. The reason it doesn't have 5 stars is because the wifi isn't very reliable but you can use it in the lounge area and some of the bathrooms could be improved but really these are very minor details. Frankly it's nice to get away from wifi sometimes as this place is about relaxation. I like that the hotel caters for dogs too and it's very clean.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 43redballoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We arrived here in the evening having had to bail out of our previously booked hotel (disaster). The staff were very helpful and we managed to secure a third floor room for bed and breakfast. The room was small and in need of a little redecorating but it was clean and had everything you would expect in a hotel. We didn't have dinner but went down to the lounge to see if we could get WiFi signal....We couldn't!!! I know this would not be a deal breaker for everyone but we had hoped to make contact with our daughter(who lives abroad) as it was her birthday. I don't know if this is normally an issue, but I feel it may need addressing. The downstairs rooms were VERY warm (think old folks home temperature!). However, breakfast in the morning overlooking the bay was a huge plus. Beautiful views and very kind and helpful staff. We then had a walk around the grounds - stunning. We didn't use the pool or other facilities. I would say that it is well worth a visit just for the views alone, although I agree with some of the other reviews that parts of the hotel could do with a little upgrading.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PippyFawbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

My family and i come up north every year to see family, and we would sometimes take a visit to ravenhall to have a cream tea and a walk, and always wanted to actually stay there for a few nights.
We Came here for four nights in october half term
The staff clearly were very efficient and attentive but some were fairly detatched, and on one occasion there were wolf whistles coming from the kitchen as my sister and cousins fiance walked past, which was very unprofessional.
Pool wasnt as i expected but hey ho.
The heating was on so high one evening i thought i was goung to melt
Having said that, i think its a lovely hotel with a fab breakfast and would recommend
Views were absolutely stunning, just wish our bedroom window was a bit bigger so that i could see more! and the walks were truly beautiful so makes up for any flaws

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank brewsterb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews