We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,118)
Filter reviews
1,118 results
Traveller rating
285
457
235
78
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
457
235
78
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews separate toilet outdoor pool the sofa bed shower room would stay again east midlands airport buffet breakfast family room reception staff car park good nights sleep stayed here for one night plenty of parking excellent value for money alton towers yogurt motorway
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 1,118 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in a family room. Very impressed with the size and layout of the room. Beds comfy although it was a shame not to have a small bedside table both sides of the bed. Service was fantastic and the buffet breakfast had everything you would expect. Great value for money and would definitely stay again

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank diesel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We have previously stayed at the Holiday Inn and I found the Novotel better value

It was easy to find and only about a mile off the M1. The car park was pretty big. Check in was easy and I had a room on the same level as reception (which actually turned out to be first floor so good security and I felt comfortable having the windows open at night)

The room had been modernised recently and was the trendy dark colours but it was still quite a light and airy room. It was well done and the bed was very comfortable. The one downside is that the bath has very high sides and the shower is over the bath. If you have any form of mobility issues you would have a problem getting in and out of the bath, simply due to its height and lack of space to turn around. The toilet is in a separate room which makes it very small.

I had dinner in the restaurant. The service was good and friendly and the food was good quality pub style food. Nothing fancy but good value. The breakfast was plentiful and fresh. Again good service.

I asked if I could leave my car in the car park all day and that request was accommodated.

I would happily stay at the Novotel again.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sjjdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

First you have to find it!! The signs are not very obvious but we eventually found the entrance. Plenty of car parking and some disabled spots. Check-in quick and friendly. Room clean and comfortable. The weather was hot and we had the usual duvets on the beds. That offers the rather limited alternative - ON or OFF. I did get a sheet put on the bed but no blankets were available. With a sheet, blanket and duvet you double the alternatives depending on the heat / cold and air conditioning. The A/C worked, was quite noisy and didn't drop the temperature enough to warrant a duvet. The buffet breakfast on both mornings offered a good selection of hot & cold food, cereals, fresh fruit, tea, coffee and juice. Shame that only one person had to greet guests, check whether they had paid, show them a table, clear the tables and keep an eye on supplies. Overall this was an OK two nights - I do like Novotel's separate toilet configuration in the bedroom.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Stayed one night for a wedding bash (elsewhere).,For the money, the room and accomodation generally was first class with friendly efficient and professional staff. A reasonably priced bar and a decent breakfast to set you on your way home too. A s!ight downer,the property shares a postcode with another hotel almost directly opposite and sat navs seem to prefer this hotel and send you there instead. This happened to several.people the night we stayed.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

We stayed here for a weekend whilst we have work done at home. We are Accor fans and chose this one over others in our area.

The room looked as if it had been refurbished in the last couple of years and is typical of a Novotel room. It has all the usual things in it and includes a great selection of Clipper teas but not green tea. It is very clean but there were a few scuff marks on the wall and something splashed up another wall that can only really be seen when the sun shines on it. Our duvet was ripped at the bottom which we didn’t expect. The refurb hasn’t been done with care and attention, the skirting has large gaps in it.

We weren’t given the breakfast times at check in, they weren’t written down anywhere in the room but we thought we were ok as we would ring reception. The phone didn’t recognise the number for reception. We never use the room phone in a hotel but you never know when you might need it.

Breakfast isn’t worth it. The ladies overseeing it are lovely but the quality of food is poor.

Overall our stay was ok but it is not a 4* in any way when you compare it to The Orchard in the grounds of Nottingham University which truly is 4*. We feel the hotel needs a bit of tlc from the management.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews