We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, basic but the price reflects this”
Review of Sefton Express

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sefton Express
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballasalla B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We needed a stop over near the airport and this was ideal, just a couple of hundred yards from the terminal. Room was small but warm and clean. Nice powerful shower. Bed was huge! Iron and ironing board in each room is very useful.
The only negatives were that the rooms only have 5 very poor quality TV channels, as most people use this hotel for a one night stop over and are likely to be in their rooms watching TV (as there is nothing else in this location to pass the time), freeview or sky would be nice. Breakfast was basic but fine.
I would come back here again for a 1 or 2 night stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LcW1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2011

I regularly visit the Isle of Man in the Summer months and generally camp there; but had business on the Island to attend to in the early part of the winter. As I had too much to do in one day, I opted to stay over. For this reason, the Sefton Express met my needs perfectly.

Very similar to a decent Travelodge, in terms of facilities and amenities offered. Clean and functional. Continental buffet breakfast was simple but effective. Staff all helpful and approachable.

I travelled by car so was tied to ferries, but if you had flown in to Ronaldsway, the airport is within a five minute stroll from this hotel. Plenty of free parking in the car park for those who do have a vehicle with them.

Overall, excellent value for money for those coming on business, or for a couple of days relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkieLangham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel as we had an early flight off the island and didn't want the drive from home on the day of travel. Family members have used the hotel and recommended it to us. Very clean inside and the bed (6ft - hurray!) very comfortable. Room and bathroom on small side but ideal for a quick nightstop. Staff were very courteous too. Didn't have breakfast as we had to be away but understand a continental style breakfast is offered. Hospitality tray in the room was helpful for early morning wake-up drinks. No discernible noise from the airfield which was only about 200yds away. The biggest bonus for us was that we were offered parking on-site for the duration of our trip away (8 nights) at a cost of NOTHING as they have ample spaces. We would definitely stay here again when travelling off island.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janeattree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This hotel is located right opposite Ronaldsway airport so one would assume that it would be ok only for staying overnight before an early morning flight? Wrong. I chose this hotel for a 3 night stay on IOM firstly because of the lack of choice and exhorbitant prices of the few other half decent hotels on the island and also after reading such positive comments on Trip Advisor. And they were spot on. This is a clean, well run Hilton Express type hotel (but better) with nice and very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms are quite small but smart and clean - nice bathroom too. Breakfast is included in the room rate and although its a bit limited, is sufficient and welcome. Wi fi is available for a small fee and you can buy drinks/food at reasonable prices in reception.

The hotel is well served by public transport - bus every 30 mins at the airport across the road - so a car is not obligatory especially as cars like most other things, are expensive on the island.

during my stay I passed by the supposedly best hotels on the island - I was not impressed - making the Sefton Express an even better choise. No hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGRBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed here just for a few days on holiday and it was a good choice, being clean with attentive service and a good night's sleep.

Situated just the other side of the main road from Ronaldsway Airport and about a 300m walk from airport Arrivals, it was nevertheless very quiet with minimal aircraft noise, especially overnight.

The hotel is quite small, being a converted office block (ex-Manx Airlines) and has ample car parking space. It is surrounded by grassland, seemingly awaiting further commercial development but currently frequented by rabbits mostly. So relatively rural views prevail.

We arrived late by Liverpool-Douglas ferry and it is about a 20 minute drive from the docks. So the hotel was locked up, being after 2230hrs, but a buzzer got attention and we were checked in quickly.

The room was quite small, with twin beds, but well decorated and very clean. In fact it looked new. There was an electric room heater (not needed), tea/coffee making kit, iron and board, with shampoo, etc in the spotless bathroom. Shower only, no bath. Wall mounted TV with remote control.

Breakfast is taken in the large, airy Reception area which is help-yourself buffet Continental-type with no cooked items. So fruit salad, croissants, breads, cheese, ham, coffee machine, yogurt and juices available.

A limited selection of cooked food is available from noon onwards on demand, such as soup, chicken casserole, and a few other dishes. So you do not have to go foraging for sustenance. Alcoholic drinks are also available.

But, that said, there is very limited catering in the immediate vicinity. Closest eaterie to the hotel is upstairs in the airport where there is a cafe/bar with some cooked food. There is a quite large pub/restaurant by the mini-roundabout in the centre of Ballasalla (Whitestone Inn) some 15 mins walk northwards which we used. It has a 'meal deal' if you arrive before 7pm. Recommended. Castletown is also a short walk away with interesting castle, more eating places and at least one small supermarket.

To get anywhere else you will need transport as the hotel is not in a town or village proper. The Isle of Man steam train stops in Ballasalla a few times a day. So Port Erin with its beach or Douglas with its shops (eg M&S, Tesco), museum etc are equally a rattling, chuffing 30 mins away. There seeems to be little for children to do at the hotel, though there are a few board games available in Reception; Manxopoly as an example ! There is however loads of unused grassy space for imaginative games around the hotel.

The Isle of Man is well worth a visit with no graffiti, rubbish lying around or the kind of tacky seaside 'development' that has ruined so much of mainland Britain's coast. We were surprised how quiet is was in mid-August, with no traffic jams or crowds anywhere. And the Sefton Express Hotel is a very good budget hotel, acting as a base from which to explore. It cost us £44 for two per night B&B. Well worth it.

We would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loosecannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballasalla
12.9 km away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
653 reviews
12.8 km away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
13.8 km away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
398 reviews
31.7 km away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
312 reviews
13.4 km away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Express

Address: Ronaldsway, Ballasalla IM9 2SE
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Ballasalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballasalla
Price Range: $98 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sefton Express 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the Isle of Man Airport and close to historic Castletown in the south of the Island, Sefton Express is a modern, well-appointed budget hotel sharing the Sefton Group’s commitment to the highest standards of customer service. A perfect base from which to explore the beautiful Isle of Man. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sefton Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Express Ballasalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing