We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap bar food”

Racing's North Turn
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Ponce Inlet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 6 - USD 25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Racing's North Turn is located on the beautiful Atlantic ocean. We offer a 5000 sq ft Oceanfront deck with and air conditioned inside dining room. The restaurant sits on the exact location where Nascar ran it's first sanctioned Grand National race in 1948 until 1958. The walls are lined with vintage photos of racing days gone by and our current racing heroes of today. We offer a full service bar with great views of the ocean and over 25 flat screen televisions with all you favorite sporting events. Each night we have Live music that starts at 6:00 PM.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We have been traveling to the Daytona area for 25 years and eating at North Turn at least once every trip. The last few years has seen the food get “cheaper” and of less quality. The mahi tacos were outstanding 5 years ago and now just cheap bar food. They used to have the best key lime pie in the state of Florida but now it is a tasteless cup of Blah! Maybe they will be true to the name and make another “turn” back to where they used to be.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank jleeg19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

The beach location is perfect and the beer selection is adequate, but that’s not enough reason to visit Racing’s North Turn. I’m a local and have eaten there off and on over the past several years, but the food is always very disappointing, so I usually eat somewhere else first, and go there to have an appetizer, drink beer, and listen to the band. My sister and I went on Saturday and ordered beers at the bar before we found a table. After we sat down we informed the waiter two others were meeting us within ten minutes, and he left menus. Before our friends arrived, he came back and rudely informed us we would have to move if it got busy. We met our friends, who intended to order full meals, in the parking lot and left. There are many other bars and restaurants in area with excellent food, better prices, and polite staff. I will never go back!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

The history of this restaurant is very unique, and the view is absolutely beautiful. We come from a family of restaurant owners and feel it should not be up to the customer to find their own seating. So be careful when you go, if and when you find a table ocean side especially, people will be walking around hovering over tables to see when the next table is up, because the restaurant leaves it up to the customer to find their own seating. The food was average, and averagely priced for a place on the water. We keep going, because it has great ambience.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank kellyv178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

The fish tacos were delicious. Service was a bit slow but everyone said it was good. Chowder was enough for a meal.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Our condo is located right next door to the North Turn. We often had an evening cocktail and listened to the bands that played nightly. Our favorite quick meal was a cup of the best clam Chowder in Florida as a starter. We usually split an order of 4 sliders with cheese. A salad was often added.
Special events make the NT an even better place to visit. On the Saturday prior to the Indy 500, there is a parade of the old cars that used to race on the beach that gave the restaurant its name. St Patrick’s Day brings bagpipers and a costume contest.
Located right next to the beach, you can enjoy the atmosphere as you enjoy the NT.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Racing's North Turn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing