We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed there two years in a row”
Review of Hotel Il Portico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Il Portico
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stayed there two years in a row”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for two consequtive years, and I think that speaks for it self. The rooms are high standard, nice and fresh and the fact that the hotel is quite small (only around 15 rooms) helps you feel at home very quickly.

The hotel doesn't have their own restaurant (but you know you don't want to eat at a hotel every night anyway, right?) but they do have a back yard were you can eat breakfast or even bring your own food for evening supper.

The location is great as well, close to the port and piazza but private enough to offer a good nights sleep.

But the best thing about the hotel is the staff - very helpful and nice people who are willing to go the extra mile. Especially if you are stranded in Trapani after missing the last ferry to the island.

I also love it that they remember you from one year to another. Some one wrote this hotel has a family touch and I couldn't agree more.

I can fully recommend this place - and have to many friends!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikklos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    149
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
394
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We have just had a week at the portico hotel and everything about the holiday
Was fantastic the hotel was splendid well placed in the centre of the main town area so within walkin distance to all amenities
The standard of care at the hotel was very good , we will be going back soon and we are telling our friends what a diamond it is.
Lisa and Sean

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seany24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We spent 6 nights at Il Portico and have to say we were very happy with the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, with lots of different lighting options, a fridge, & tv (mostly Italian with some english on MTV Italy) Bathroom was again spotless though compact. It's a relatively new hotel and they have clearly put alot of work into fittings and fixtures and a good finish. They supplied lovely shower gel, shower cap, hairdryer, soap ect and lovely big fluffy towels. The breakfast was served until 10.30 and was very tasty. Cereal, fresh fruit salad, yogarts, all manners of sweet breads and pies, with lashing of very good fresh coffee. I'm missing it already... Another big plus is a lift/elevator. Free wi-fi available just get passwords at check in although it is pretty patchy - just enough for getting emails, tourist info and news ect... Best location is downstairs so I would update my emails during breakfast and then tune out for the rest of the day, They recommend some good local restaurants and if you mention the hotel sent you you get a small discount - same with bike/scooter rental. The hotel is located just behind the main square it's a perfect location. The staff were friendly and very helpful and I would certainly highly recommend this hotel. Thanks for a great and super chilled stay. Eoin and Aoife

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AoifeIRLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I spent two days in favignana and i chose to stay at the Portico and i was so glad of my choice.
It is close to the two main squares and above all the owners are very kind and helful.
It is a great hotel with a family touch in an amazing place. You cannot ask for much more.
Defineltely going back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Leo and Fabio Gentile and his family really run a great little hotel that is perfectly situated round the corner from the main square and the church. Stayed here again for a few days and enjoyed the hotel just as much as before. It's clean and comfortable. The rooms are great, quiet and well-appointed and the whole atmosphere is really relaxing. In addition, there is a great sun roof with views over the whole island. Good breakfast. The wi-fi is a bit patchy, though.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isola di Favignana hotels
0.3 km away
Tempo di Mare Hotel
Tempo di Mare Hotel
#3 of 17 in Isola di Favignana
613 reviews
4.3 km away
Approdo Di Ulisse Hotel
Approdo Di Ulisse Hotel
#17 of 17 in Isola di Favignana
793 reviews
3.2 km away
Cave Bianche Hotel
Cave Bianche Hotel
#5 of 17 in Isola di Favignana
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Favignana Hotel
Favignana Hotel
#6 of 17 in Isola di Favignana
219 reviews
0.4 km away
Villaggio Cala La Luna
Villaggio Cala La Luna
#10 of 17 in Isola di Favignana
361 reviews
0.2 km away
Residence Scirocco e Tramontana
Residence Scirocco e Tramontana
#2 of 17 in Isola di Favignana
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Portico

Property: Hotel Il Portico
Address: Via Antonio Meucci 3, 91023, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aegadian Islands > Isola di Favignana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Isola di Favignana
Price range (per night): $120 - $355
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Portico 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Il Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Portico Hotel
Il Portico Favignana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing